Bonnet Air Scoop
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:26
Member - 'Lucy'
I am touing with idea of installing an air scoop in the bonnet of a Troopy with the intention of directing the air flow onto a deep cycle battery that gets a tad hot.
The panel
shop boys and myself have played around with a Nissan scoop which would be ideal except for the intake opening protruding into the bonnet ribs requiring the cutting of same.
What I am looking for is a scoop that is totally flat/flush on the fitting surface, that will cover a custom hole cut in the flat surface area of the bonnet.
Has anyone done this or have any ideas on what might suit the occassion.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: fozzy - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:34
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:34
depending on where battery sits in engine bay is it possible to run air duct from round near bull bar area up to battery?
Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:35
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:35
forgot to add-flexible duct up under engine bay to battery
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:10
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:10
At this stage Fozzy I am still looking at the bonnet scoop idea.
However, if I can't find what I am looking for, your idea is the next best I think.
I might source one of those
Bathurst brake cooling affairs that have the plastic air scoop followed by a flex hose of some sort.
It might end up being the best solution of the lot.
Thanks for your input mate.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:57
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:57
How about a boat type from a
chandler??
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:12
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:12
Not sure what you are describing here, however I will check out a marine
chandler for sure now that you have put the notion in train so to speak.
Thanks foe the suggestion.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 14:55
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 14:55
How about an XA GT Falcon tear drop recessed scoop?
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:28
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:28
I haven't forgetten you Paul.
I've been looking at the pic of your rig and at first glance I would have sworn it was a troopy of some sort.
Anyway, Floyd below has given me some ideas of how to go about it without chopping the bonnet.
So at this stage I will pursue this avenue, however if not successful I will resort to the Falcon Scoop idea.
The spare parts coota at subaru was an inovative retro type who suggested a number of Falcon scoops that might suit.
So thanks for your time and effort.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: D110V8D - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:05
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:05
Hi Ken,
My Defender has a scoop off of a WRX which sits flush on top of the bonnet. Doesn't look half bad either. Fits perfectly. It might suit the troopy.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:59
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:59
D110V8D
As an aside. Is it successful? Transmission heat can get a tad warm.
I've been toying with the idea for a while now.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:18
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:18
D110V8D
Well 'super suggester' its like this, I nicked down to the local Suburu Heaven after you suggestion because I thought this might be it.
Bugger! lovely scoops, however too wide for the troopy bonnet profile.
i.e. has to span the two pressed flutes in the bonnet. - Bummer.
Thanks for
the tip though.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:06
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:06
Have you looked into why the battery gets hot?
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:32
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:32
Yep!
Just engine bay heat. Nothing too exciting that a cool breeze won't fix.
Saw a couple of óld timers' from WA when in
Peterborough in May this year who were towing large vans with Troopys.
Both had extra engine bay ventillation for their battery set ups.
One via a bonnet scoop and the other via an ingeneous pair of vents let into the side of the engine bay between the guard and bonnet.
The latter requires a fair amount of 'di*king' around to do.
Anyway they reckon that had been doing this travelling thing for years and keeping their batteries as cool as possible was on the top level of their priority list.
So as my batteries 'warm' up with transient engine bay heat on a long run, I thought I would have a go at ventillating them.
Thank you all for your ideas so far. I will have a look at all of them.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: floyd - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 18:10
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 18:10
I have a similar thing in my Hilux with an aftermarket turbo and found the esiest solution as follows:
Get heat rated flexi pipe from an industrial ducted supply company (plenty of suppliers in the yellow pages under dust extraction type of suppliers for commercial businesses). You can get a heap of diameters from about an inch up to 10 inch. It is flexible, squashy and will not get damaged from heat exposure. Put one end onder or on the front of the bull bar area and feed it up and under the front panel into the engine bay and basically pop it up any place so as it vents on the battery. You can bend it any way and even make the air go back towards the front of required.
I ran it from under the bull bar and had a heap of bends in it and it now feeds air to the turbo area. Works a treat. Coats about $20.00 per metre and beats the hell out of chopping up your bonnet. The stuff I used is rated to 200 degrees c and actually touches the engine block in one spot and has not suffered any heat damage. The inlet has sometimes made contact with the ground and it just flexes back into shape. I reckon it has cut under bonnet temps in half.
hope that this helps
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:23
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:23
Floyd
Love your work.
You have given me a number of ideas now. Thank you very much.
With such a wealth of knowledge how come you aren't a member.
Whatever.
Thanks again
Ken Robinson
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 21:22
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 21:22
I reckon Roothy and his angle grinder would be the go!
What would look really cool is 2 snorkels, one for the motor, and the other for the batteries.
Wolfie
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:21
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:21
Wolfster
You are just full of it tonight.
Are you going to
Robe, If so we will continue this discussion over a coldie.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 23:03
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 23:03
Hi Ken. If you have got room elsewhere in the vehicle, re-position your batteries out of the enginebay. That's what I did with
mine. All it will cost you is a couple of battery boxes,suitable clamping arrangements & a few meters of heavy gauge battery cable. Cheers.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:54
Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:54
Nice idea Topcat if I had the room.
I'll try the Flexi hose idea first I think.
Thanks for the time and effort.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 22:54
Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 22:54
Hi Ken, following up on the ideas from the others, if you go the flex tube option, all you need to do is find a hose supplier who stocks nylex, The product to use is called TPRDS flexible ducting, it is black in colour with the spiral reinforcing in it, and heat resistant to about 200 degrees from memory. Its available in 2 1/2 , 3 inch etc.. Price isn't too bad either, cheaper than a bonnet anyway !!
Normally one of the biggest reasons for excessive engine bay heat is that the airflow out of the engine bay is restricted, Bigger engine fitted / chock full of accessories etc.. So maybe you might like to try in conjunction with the cold air feed , shimming up the trailing edge of the bonnet about 1/2 an inch to allow more hot air to escape, its an old hoons trick .. Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:51
Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:51
Thanks Bradley.
I 'll
check the flexi pipe trick out.
I'm not real keen on the 'Bonnet lift' idea. My two son-in-laws are all for it, reckon its a great idea, however they are just hoons who are full of it anyway.
Nup! its the flexi pipe I think.
Ken Robinson