New year Holidays

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 20:44
ThreadID: 17046 Views:2243 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Well that time of year . Will spend New years day in Sidney this year and then head to Stradbroke island for 7 or so days . On the return will be stopping at the usual GC for a couple of days to keep SWMBO happy lol . Looking for another place to stay between GC and Sidney for a brake in the trip . Has to be next to the beach , must have shops lol ( added by SWMBO) . Last year we stayed at Kempsy and Hat Head as sujested by members here .

Any ideas guys and gal's ?

Reply By: bigjon - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:33

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:33
Go to Stockton Beach. We travel from Dubbo to there several times a year and never get bored of it. Plus there's heaps to see and do around Port Stephens.
AnswerID: 80251

Reply By: Earvin Johnson - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 23:45

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 23:45
Eric you could try Crowdy Bay NP. Not a whole lot of shops but there is good fishing and some beach driving to be had.

If shops are needed you have nearby Taree for that retail fix.

There is also some reasonable 4wding to be had in the State Forests surrounding Taree if you look hard enough.

AnswerID: 80260

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 22:04

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 22:04
Eavin,

Jeez mate, my SWAMBO, Heather would not be flattered by your suggestion of the retail fix quality in Taree or is there a good 4by shop there to judge it on?
FollowupID: 339726

Follow Up By: Earvin Johnson - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 07:22

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 07:22
Ahh John,

I should have realised that bottle shops, a fishing tackle shop and a 4by shop do not qualify for SWMBO. I apologise for any distress this may have caused Heather.

Newcastle is only a 90 minute drive:)

FollowupID: 339741

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 07:12

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 07:12
AHhhhhh Straddy.... hang on... I ain't been there .... yet ;-)

Hey Eric, where are ya staying on the Gold Coast?? Let us know when you're gonna be around here.. might catch up for a coffee??? or a beer??? or a Bourbon?? or a Rum??? or a ... ok ok...you get the idea!! LOL.... Anyway, let us know!
AnswerID: 80271

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 07:24

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 07:24
have been staying at GC for 4 years straight and just doing day trips to Straddy. This year we are doing the opposite lol . We will be in GC for around 3 days on the way back .

FollowupID: 339619

Reply By: bushfix - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 08:47

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 08:47
G'day Eric,

not far from Hat Head and you may know it but have you might like Trial Bay Tourist Park at South West Rocks. Not a bad spot, great beaches and fishing and good pub. Although, if you have been there before but not in recent times you might get a fright with all the new development as you enter town.

http://www.trialbay.com.au/

cheers,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 80280

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 10:12

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 10:12
Eric as above Sth West Rocks Trial Bay Gaol, Hat Head, although it will be crowded at that time of year, Stockton, and Nelsons Bay all are good for fishing boating and 4WDriving, Bulladelah and Myall Lakes and Seal rocks too there are Trek notes on Stockton and Myall lakes to Seal Rocks also plenty of good accomodation for SWMBO.

Ps, i'll let you know soon about the vehicle.
FollowupID: 339632

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 17:16

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 17:16
Hi Eric,
As you know Hat Head has the relaxation but no shopping. You can try Cresent Heads. Though might be a bit busy. Port Macquarie is only a short trip down the road for the shopping fix. Plenty of things for you to observe whilst she shops
AnswerID: 80340

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 17:51

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 17:51
G'day Eric

When at Straddie this time? Not 100% sure if we're going but probably will.
May catch up this time. I'll dust off the SNATCH ... er strap, just in case.

....................;-P

Cheers cob

AnswerID: 80345

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 17:54

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 17:54
there from the 3rd till the 10th this time Rosco , bring your strap , you may need it ;-)
FollowupID: 339690

Reply By: Member - Bear - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 22:06

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 22:06
Eric,

Sth West Rocks is nice but its hard to go past Yamba. It may be a bit close to GC but great lettle village shopping atmosphere, the biggest meat tray raffle ever (either bowls or RSL/Country Club) good pub etc etc.

If you decide on SWRocks then leave on the coast rd to Hat Hd and then Creasent Hd and then take the Pt Plummer Road (or you can take the beach, with permit) to the Car Ferry then over the river to Pt Macquarie on the way down the coast. Brillant!!
AnswerID: 80378

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:42

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:42
Go back to work young fella and stop taking so many holidays.....geez anyone would think you are an old fella in retirement..LOL
AnswerID: 80463