Suspension - 3 inch to 4inch or just extend sway bar arms...I dunno!

Submitted: Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 08:30
ThreadID: 17055 Views:2542 Replies:2 FollowUps:7
Morning all,

Looking for your opinions in regards to my options. Why am I already looking at changing suspension...well, it's only a 'thought' at the moment...However, here's why...

I went down and across to Mt Tamborine last weekend to have a kitchen designed by a mate, got there and he was ready to go for a play first...ok then, he is doing it for free, so I'll head out.

He took me down a fire trail...this was no ordinary fire trail, severely rutted, large rocks etc etc. As we headed down, I knew it was going to be a challenge on the way up. You get that feeling when you see your rear end lifting wheels up when dropping down into holes...

45 minutes later the GQ TD42 with aftermarket suspension etc is still trying to get up. He gets sick of trying and I at this point realise the ol' faithful ARB airlocker isn't engaging (fixed now by the way). So, with 1st gear low, 3000rpm, turbo singing, I bounce all the way to the top. My mate caught it on video and I got up in less than a minute. So what's the problem...

On the video, I noticed that the the front and rear wheels lifted at certain points, it was just sheer HP and momentum that got me up, plus the fact that I stuck the the ruts. Further, the side steps hit in a couple of spots, and hit as in just scrape, not dint, bend etc.

I had a 4 inch lift on the last truck and it was great, articulation was awesome, especially after I broke the sway bar on the rear during a night run. The articulation on the 3 inch kit is restricted alot by the sway bars. I have two options.

1. Get the extended arms and stick with the 3 inch kit. I still have the problem of touching the side boards in rougher conditions. If the 3 inch kit does get better articulation through the longer arms, will I then need to extend the brake lines anyway? I already have extended diff breathers. I do have a mate who will buy the 3 inch kit off me so that would go towards the suspension upgrade...

2. Go the 4 inch kit, go the extra cost of adjustable panhard rods, drop down caster plates, extended brake lines and sway bar arms. (Don't like the quick disconnects, once muddy, really hard to get back on).

I love the dobinson kit so I'd like to stick to it, what do you think?

Chris.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 08:56

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 08:56
You dont need anymore lift. It already looks like a rollerskate in your members photo there.

Simple fact you can run 36x11.5's on a GU with a 3inch lift. Sway bars? What are these swaybars you mention? Are they those things used to hang pots on in the back yard? Get rid of them.

Sway bar disconnects are easy as pie to disconnect - REconnecting them is a mission. Roly took 45 mins one day and gave up.

4in you also need engineers certification, + good luck finding insurance for it now.. Theres only 3 places that we know of in Vic that will.

Would be cheaper to go bigger tires, 315's... but then your gearing suffers, but steve roly never had a problem with 36s on his compressor.

You also have to remember how often you will encounter a track like that, once a yr? compared to few grand on a lift kit. Its now $2400 for bigballsoffroad 4in + engineers.
AnswerID: 80281

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 09:06

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 09:06
Gday mate,

Thanks for your input mate. AAMI will insure you up here in Sth East QLD up to 4 inch.

I'd still suffer the same problem fitting 315's with transport as with suspension. However, I see your point.

I can get the whole kit and caboodle for $1,500, you should know me by now mate, I'm like you, never pay full price!

But, all in all, you've made a good point!

Thanks mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 339627

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 14:42

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 14:42
G'day Chris and Truckster,
I agree with Truckster........I've bolted my sway bars on and off about 4 times in the past 4 years......now they are collecting dust in the shed and will continue to do so. There is a little bit more body roll but it's not worth the hassle.
I haven't bothered with extended brake lines at this stage; having just got back from cape York where a fair bit of wheel articulation was required at times, an inspection of the underside of vehicle does not reveal any stress having been placed on the brake hoses.
Cheers lads
FollowupID: 339660

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 14:46

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 14:46
Roachie,

You giving us a report mate? Do you reckon I should just stick with the ol' 3 inch then?

How'd the truck go, read about a couple of issues, but was that the end of it?

Chris.
FollowupID: 339662

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 20:29

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 20:29
G'day Chris,
IMHO it depends on the weight of your truck to a certain extent.
Glen Binskin put 4" front and 5" rear on my truck in july 2002. It weighs 3 tonne before i load it up for a trip and actually only sits 3" above standard. I would love to have bigger tyres but the truck is really not geared right and would struggle off the line with 315s unless i changed diff ratios.
My wheel articulation is limited by the shockies only and i probably should worry that if i break one a spring could drop out &/or brake lines could/would be stuffed. This is the compromise i have to accept if i want to leave off the sway bars.
I will try to get my arze into gear and do a trip report.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 339706

Reply By: Member Eric - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 08:10

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 08:10
Please don't do what roachi did , thats a recipy for disaster . I find it quicker to remove swaybars completelty for a 4x4 day out , and then re fit when I get home . Takes around 15 min on and same off . You MUST extend brake lines $ breathers , even with your 3 inch kit . As the old saying goes , if you want for inches . STROKE IT lol . 1 inch extra wheel travel . I dont think it will fix your problem, but hey, will look good lol .
AnswerID: 80408

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 08:38

Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 08:38
Gday Eric,

Thanks mate! So you don't reckon the extended linkage arms are worth it? They aren't quick disconnects...

Chris.
FollowupID: 339894

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 09:06

Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 09:06
I have modified my sway bars , by fitting 3" alloy blocks on the front and have extended the reat link rods by 4" . This is only to give me extra wheel travel on Long trips were a lot of highway driving is needed . If I am planning a hard core day trip , I just remove them altogether.
FollowupID: 339900

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 09:15

Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 09:15
By fitting 5 " springs like roachi did . Even if he hads only acheved 3 " overall hight fully loaded , he still has the extra travel when a wheel is suspended . You cannot run these springs withought the long travel shocks and not expect something to break . yes in the short run things will hold up . But , WHEN a shocker breaks , due to the extra down force . You will rip off a break line for sure . You will not be able to visually see any problems on break lines , because the issue is at the fitting . One day it will just rip out whilest your going over some deep ruts . Whats even worse , is that you want know you did it straight away , but the next time you need to use break , you will have to head for the nearest tree .

FollowupID: 339901