Fuel Consumption/Costs (comparisions)

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 15:18
ThreadID: 17085 Views:16576 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Hi everyone, A question for those in the know?
My Husband and I are looking into buying something that we can travel around in, and have been trying to find out all the info we can before making a choice. The one Question that we can not find answers to is, Which is more economical?
A Motorhome towing a small 4WD (Suzuki) or a Larger 4WD (Landcruiser) towing a Caravan (16' about, or off road).
Could some of you out there with first hand experience, please let me know what you have found to be more economical, How many km to the litre, etc
Your info will help us to make a decision as to which way we are going to go in our purchase.

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:24

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:24
All depends on what engine and fuel type etc.

I'd put my money on a turbo diesel 4x4 towing a caravan.

Plus if you want to go somewhere that the motorhome or 4x4 + caravan won't go then you won't be relegated to the small Suzuki that won't you fit much gear into.
AnswerID: 80431

Follow Up By: japmel - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:41

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:41
Thanks Utemad,
Am thinking along the lines of a 3.0L-3.5L turbo diesel, definatly a diesel vechicle.
Have you used both senerio's yourself or know of people that have.
People that we know have gone around Auss with 4X4 + Caravan, and have just left for their 2nd trip, but this time have gone to a Bus, didnt get chance to ask why, and thought that fuel costs might have something to do with it.
Japmel
FollowupID: 339772

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 17:00

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 17:00
I don't know anyone with a bus but a few with 4x4s and vans. However a turbo diesel 4x4 with van would get less than 20L/100km from what I have been told.

I based my opinion on more than just fuel economy. I would think that there are many places a bus would not go and when you want to go to these places you are going to need to load everything you want into the Suzuki. I know my fridge alone would take up most of the cargo space of a Suzuki. In fact it doesn't even fit in my mates Jimny.

I have seen all sorts on the highway from Coasters towing Suzukis with an A-frame to a huge new looking coach towing an equally new looking Range Rover on a trailer. Guess it depends on how much money you have.

I would think perhaps your friends that changed to buses might prefer the extra space the bus affords them and don't intend to do much 4x4 stuff? As if they were just chasing better fuel economy surely the changeover in time and money would far outweigh any benefits in fuel economy (if there are any?).

I don't really know how much a bus and small 4x4 setup costs but a new Cruiser and offroad van isn't be cheap either.

Whatever you decide I hope you have heaps of fun touring around Oz.
FollowupID: 339774

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 18:45

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 18:45
Way too many variables... Tires, conditions, condition of bus/car motor, weather...

What sort of bus? Full sized? or a Toyota Coaster type? Saw a setup like that at caravan show the other week in Melb.

I cant see why you would want a slow old bus, slowing down more towing another car.

You wouldnt wanna get stuck in bad weather in a bus, but then if you did get rained in for a week, you would have room. More chance of getting stuck in a bus, with less chance of recovery.. Im not snatchin a bus with my car and strap ;)

Your better off with a 4b and mobile roadblock surely..
AnswerID: 80443

Reply By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 19:11

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 19:11
try buying one of the caravanning mags and finding a website in that. might find some leads
AnswerID: 80447

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:38

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:38
Give some consideration to a large petrol 4wd fitted with LPG. More power than a diesel (turbo or not) and more economical to run.
AnswerID: 80461

Follow Up By: Flash - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:47

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:47
and sorry, no offence, but impossible to get gas in most places off the beaten track.
FollowupID: 339819

Reply By: Phil G - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 21:41

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 21:41
Was talking to a friend who just got back from 3 months away towing an 18 foot van with a 2002 TD Prado. He was at 85kph most of the time and got 15.5 l/100km. I'd guess this is about motorhome speed. I'd go for the 4wd pulling the van. Motorhomes seem very hard to sell as well.
AnswerID: 80470

Reply By: motherhen - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 22:37

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 22:37
We have a Nissan 3.0 ltr TD auto. On a very quick trip WA to Qld we averaged 7.65 km per litre (haven't quite got my head around talking litres per 100 kms). On the way home towing an 18' Bushtracker (2.2 t licenced weight) we got only 4.83 - again we were travelling fast to get back; we would expect a slight improvement travelling a bit slower as we do when touring. It seems around this is what we can expect towing a heavy caravan. Some of the BT people use big V8s and use even more fuel. After much marital feuding about motorhome v. caravan, we opted for the comfort of the wagon year round, with the heavy duty off roader caravan for getting away from it all. This gives us the added flexibility of parking the van and driving to really difficult to get into places. Haven't made the big trip yet.
AnswerID: 80480

Follow Up By: Flash - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:51

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:51
You need to get a converter and use litres per 100 clicks. It's easy and I even have a simple conversion for your calculator somewhere....I'll post it when I find it.
All official consumption figures these days use litres/100klms
FollowupID: 339820

Follow Up By: Stew53 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:59

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:59
Hope this helps to work out liters per 100, for example using the 7.65 km/litre, if you have just put 60 liters in your car and done 459 km divide the 60 liters by 4 point 59
the answer is 13.07 or rounded equals 13.1 ltre/100
With the 4.89 Km/litre as the example at 60 liters at 290 km divide the 60 liters by 2 point 9 and the answer is 20.7 liters per 100.
Stew
FollowupID: 339821

Reply By: Bob H - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 02:09

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 02:09
Hi JAPMAL,

the cost of fuel, although a major consideration when purchasing a veh, is not the only cost to be taken into account.
we have just recently been through this exercise in deciding what to purchase for our big trip in december. there is initial cost of bus, rego, insurance, tyres, maintence, parts and availabilty, etc plus the same on a small 4wd plus a trailer to tow it( which is better than an a-frame, i think)
initial cost of a good reliable 4wd, caravan, and nothing else. rego is cheaper, mtce and servicing costs cheaper, insurance, tyres etc should all be cheaper.
besides, if s...t happens, it is cheaper and easier to be towed somewhere as the 4by is on a tilt tray with the caravan on the towball of the tilt tray.

hope this helps and that we might see you around on our trip

AnswerID: 80490

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 08:45

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 08:45
I went through all of this about 15 years ago and opted for a 4x4(petrol) and a 27ft caravan. Would I do this again...NO. The petrol was too heavy on fuel but at that stage I had no choice.

The bus option did not come into the equation. Buses(any size) are difficult to park, difficult to handle(even with power steering) running costs are high and fuel consumption for a diesel would be higher than that of a diesel 4x4. Towing anything around Australia comes at a huge cost and is a strain on the budget. Try changing a wheel on a bus!

These days I would go for a large diesel 4x4(Nissan,Toyota, Ford) and a very good (and as large as you need) easy to erect, tent. You can still take the kitchen sink with you if you manage your packing efficiently by buying modern technology camping equipment. Without a restraining object being towed behind you, you will be able to access many more parts of this great ccountry and enjoy your time out there even more..
AnswerID: 80505

Follow Up By: japmel - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:27

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:27
Ok thanks for all the feed back.
We have now decided to drop the Motor Home idea and go with a 4x4.
My question on this subject is: With the number of makes and models available, can we have some feedback on which models people have found to be most economical, reliable and parts accessable, in the 3-3.5L Diesel catorgory, taking into account that some of the places we are wanting to travel, may be quite remote, not sticking to the main highways.
japmel
FollowupID: 339815

Follow Up By: Flash - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 11:01

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 11:01
Are you talking new or S/Hand.
If S/H Consider a Patrol GQ 4.2 diesel IF you can find a low klms well looked after one. (200,000 is low kays if looked after!) They tow beautifully, and my 2.2 tonne van behind mine tows like a dream and fuel varies between 10l/100k unladen(no van)- typical 16l/100 kays with van highway at 100kmph or as low 14l/100klms if I slow to say 85.

Worst ever- hilly terrain, headwinds etc still less than 20l/100klms. I have NEVER used more than 20 litres/100klms- (except serious 4wheel driving when anything is possible.)

(Mine is turboed)

New, you'd be very hard pressed to beat the 3.0 litre Patrol for value for money. My best mate tows a big van with his and he could not be happier.
FollowupID: 339822

Follow Up By: Flash - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 11:03

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 11:03
PS the van is 2.2 tonnes EMPTY, so read 2.5- 2.6 tonnes
FollowupID: 339823

Reply By: harry5 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 11:57

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 11:57
I think your right going the 4x4 for one thing caravaning seems to be a friendlier community , as you are travelling you keep meeting the same people where as a coach probarly is not quite in the same category.
I tow a Coromal seka 505 (16ft6in) with a DiD 3.2 Pajero and getting around 12/13
litres p[er 100ks. It has more than enough power and has great economy just did (not towing) 910ks for 75 lits diesel and i do not drive it conservatively. Have had 2 petrol Pajs before. But they do not compare.Go and test drive Did 3.2Pajero,
Patrol TD and Land Cruiser TD. With the price of fuel i would only look at Turbo Diesel. Gas maybe an option but I cannot help you on that. Have a good trip
AnswerID: 80531

Reply By: japmel - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 22:29

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 22:29
Hi Flash
To answer your question we will be looking for a late model second hand 3.0ltr to 3.5ltr turbo diesel
japmel
AnswerID: 80611

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 09:39

Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 09:39
I think the vehicles in the 3-3.5 diesel category are:
Pajero
Patrol
Jackaroo
Prado
Rodeo
Navara