Tyre pressure gauge

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:13
ThreadID: 17087 Views:8663 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
I found a difference of 10 psi between 2 gauge's the other day (not service station ones). Now im wondering which is the most accurate brand to buy. Currently looking at the VDO one that ARB stock....

What experiences have you guys had....

Reply By: Davoe - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:17

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:17
all our work vehicles have gauges in the tyre repair kits of varying kinds and they all read different aqlthough not by as much as 10psi
AnswerID: 80430

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:31

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:31
I have 3 gauges, including a digital one & they are all different. I have never had 2 that are the same, they are about as inaccurate as Staun deflaters.
I set the deflaters the other day, then double checked them & they varied by about 7 psi after being set off a tyre at 28 psi. Or I should say ... .I think it was 28 psi!
I used the most recently purchased guage, which is Jamec dial type purchased last month from Repco.
AnswerID: 80432

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 21:34

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 21:34
Yeah I have the same issue with the Stauns. For the money you have to fork out for them they are very inaccurate. So one has to use the pressure guage as well if you want the right psi!
FollowupID: 339872

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:45

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 16:45
G'day Don

I have had similar problems, I used to have a great gauge that came with my polyair bags, but it was lost in one of the moves. I have recently brought a digital smart gauge by topeak. I needed a good one as I use it for my motorbike, 4wd, car and the polyair bags. This one seem pretty good so far. I got it from a Honda motorbike shop $40.
AnswerID: 80435

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 17:02

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 17:02
I have the VDO gauge that came with my ARB compressor. I have heard that they can be calibrated however I have never looked into it myself.
AnswerID: 80436

Reply By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 18:46

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 18:46
These tyre gauges are a lucky dip at the best of times. I cant offer you guys a solution but i can give you all a tip. When you are in a service station checking tyre pressures, alwasy check to see if the gauge they supply is of a good quality brand name like Jamec Pem( should have the name either pressed in the metal or a sticker on it in view).
If you dont see a brand name then steer clear of them, more service stations these days are buying Taiwanese gauges as they are very cheap to buy. Main reason for them following this path is because people steal the good ones. In most cases they can buy 10 new cheapies for the price of a good quality one.

The problem is .. "water" in the compressor causes rust and gun build up insde the gauge thus causing it to stick and gives a false reading. I once witnesseda lady puming up her tyre with one of these gauges until the tyre exploded in her face. The problem was that the gauge kept reading 28psi where infact it was way above that.
So be warned guys. She was a mess and lucky to be alive, the steel belt really did her some damage.
What i usually do is when I go to a tyre shop, I alwasy compare my gauge with 3 or 4 of their professional gauges to give me an average of where mine is.
Hope i didnt bore you all
Cheers Angelo
AnswerID: 80444

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 18:57

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 18:57
Which is why when you do pump your tyres up at a servo you should always use your own gauge. That way even if yours is wrong at least you're consistent.
FollowupID: 339782

Follow Up By: Davoe - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 19:41

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 19:41
The woolies here in kalgoorlie has one of those you beut digital air compressors which you punch in the req psi and it does the rest. Sceptical I tested it using a qauge I consider accurate and it was spot on unfortunatly it is now out of order
FollowupID: 339787

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 19:54

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 19:54
Yeah those gauges are cool. However have you noticed that some have a really loud high pitched beep when the required pressure is reached?

Imagine living next door LOL
FollowupID: 339788

Reply By: 28patrol - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 19:57

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 19:57
I bought a gauge from Toyota which has a large easy to read dial and appears to be very accurate
AnswerID: 80454

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:33

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:33
I bought an Aunger dial type at Supercheap for $10. It agrees with all Service Station guages so I think it is reasonably accurate.
AnswerID: 80459

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:35

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:35
I've got one of those pen type thingies from Bob Janes and it is accurate with the digital one at the servo. Bit hard to read sometimes.
AnswerID: 80460

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 23:50

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 23:50
Michelin make a great gauge.. Any motorcycle shop will get one for you... $35....
ARB/VDO are dodgey unless calibrated...
AnswerID: 80487

Reply By: Trevor - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 22:52

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 22:52
The VDO gauge can indeed be calibrated.
Naturally you will need another gauge to compare it with.
Remove the chrome ring and the glass cover.
This will expose a small lever.
The lever allows the scale to move beneath the pointer.
Ours was 8psi high when new, but now is spot on.

Chers,
Trev
AnswerID: 80619

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 23:52

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 23:52
I bought the BushRanger 3 in 1 Gauge that allows you to deflate the tyres and check the pressure contantly. The fitting screws on to the valve and then you can push the next section of the fitting in to deflate slowly or give it a half turn and lock it in for hands free deflation. When you stop deflating the gauge reads immediately and has a nice big dial so you can see it accurately.

It beats pushing the valve in and then attaching a gauge for a reading and the letting more air out and then taking a reading etc. I can reduce all four tyres by 15psi in less than 2 mins per tyre.

Handy piece of kit in a carry bag that lives in the glove box. I also have one of the pencil type gauges as a check and it reads within 2 psi of the Bushranger dial type guage.

http://www.bushranger.com.au/one_gauge.html

Muddy 'doe
AnswerID: 80621