Can they REALLY do it?

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 09:24
ThreadID: 17101 Views:2626 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
I mean, can they really enforce this? I notice, with increasing numbers, the amount of places, both public and private, that now have pictogram signs showing that motorcycles are not allowed.

Now, I can understand heavy trucks being diverted from certain roads, but bikes....?

You shell out big bucks for a bike, pay your rego & insurance, same as everyone else. So.... in the Governments eyes, it's a legal mode of transportation. What gives?

I know that there a people that have ruined things for bike riders, but, when push comes to shove, where does one stand?

This is not a soap box, I sold all my bikes ages ago............. I break easier now I'm older! I'm just trying to fathom how a mode of transport can be LEGALLY discriminated against.

Wolfie

Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 09:58

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 09:58
Put a bull bar on a bike and then you'll see discrimination Wolfie.

The only place I've seen no bike signs is in national parks etc wher d**ckheads ride trail bikes on walking trails and the like. Can't say I've seen them on road anywhere.
AnswerID: 80508

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 09:59

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 09:59
Noise?

When you get d!ckheads up the bush with modified exhausts (powerpipes?) you can hear them for miles.

Or you can get a situation like we had last weekend camped near a group with bikes. The bikes had standard exhaust systems which you could barely haer as they idled past our camp and didn't hear them again, until they returned.

AnswerID: 80509

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:19

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:19
Gday Wolfie,most places down here in Tassie that show No Bikes Allowed refers to Unregistered bikes or bikes without restricted rego.
What really bleep es me of is motor bike riders pay more rego than cars do(down here anyhow)and yet push bike riders can ride two abreast on any road and pay no rego at all.This is made even worse down here as most of our roads are twisty and fairly narrow and to get stuck behind two pushbike riders doing 10km/h for miles at a time and can legally do it,that sux.
NOW for all the pushbike riders that do the right thing good on you.
Ahh,that feels better. Nick
AnswerID: 80513

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:45

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:45
Our family is a push bike and a 4x4 family. So I see it from both sides. The bike riders that do as you said and won't go single file when a car needs to pass really tick me off. Also the car drivers that seem to think we have no place on the road and abuse you as they drive past. Some even swerve at you. Even if it is a bike riders 'right' to ride two abreast I still prefer to get out of a cars way as much as possible as if push comes to shove I think I'll lose.

Sometimes I get the rego numbers and call the cops but usually they get away too fast.

So there are bad exmaples on both sides. If people just had more respect for everyone else the world be a much better place.
FollowupID: 339818

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 16:27

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 16:27
>Sometimes I get the rego numbers and call the cops but usually they get away too fast

Utemad baby, never a cop when you need one eh! Next time visit the station to lodge your complaint. They wont be able to get away too quick then. Sheesh! used to be the robbers that made the getaway, how things change.
FollowupID: 339849

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 16:40

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 16:40
We pay too much rego for bikes here too, remember the 200% increase years ago!? It's one reason I had to get rid of my bike, plus I told the missus if i got a 4wd i'd get rid of it, I did manage to stall for another 2 years so I shouldn't complain, which leads me to another question, how is it I outweigh my wife by at least 30 kilos, and am nearly a foot taller, yet she seems to be in charge?

As for riding bicycles, I also ride with the family, and I agree with what Utemad said, in prefering to get out of the way because if push comes to shove you will lose.

What I really don't understand, is the bike riders who have more than a meter wide bike lane, and will ride on the white line that is next to the road side, and I don't mean past parked cars, or will ride 4 or more abreast spilling out onto the road. I don't know if its arrogance or ignorance, but it's bloody stupid.

FollowupID: 339850

Reply By: Flash - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:20

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:20
Bit like Jetski's.
Used responsibly, they're not a problem.
However, when the idiots are let loose with them, they are a major pain in the A***, and dangerous to boot. Bikes are the same.
Our elected governments can ban almost anything from anywhere if the public pressure is there.
As usual, a few idiots spoil it for the majority!
AnswerID: 80514

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 16:32

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 16:32
Where's this Wolfie, SA?
Apart from parks and reserves, walks etc can't say I've ever seen motorcycles excluded. Certainly not from roads. Must be a big smoke thing maybe. I live in a medium smoke.
AnswerID: 80549

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 16:47

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 16:47
Kuipto Forest.
Some selected camping spots in the Flinders.
FollowupID: 339851