To conduct a POLL on THE MOST RELIABLE MOTOR in any current production vehicle

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 14:43
ThreadID: 17163 Views:3604 Replies:27 FollowUps:40
I was talking about this recently with a mate, and if anyone has an opinion or experience I would be keen to hear it. (discluding most commercial vehicles, unless someone wants to share some facts)

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 14:51

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 14:51
Anything Isuzu
AnswerID: 80864

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 14:52

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 14:52
Just to beat Truckster to it...........

4.2 diesel Patrol
AnswerID: 80866

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:41

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:41
I thought it was too obvious that it had to be a trick question.
FollowupID: 340131

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:04

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:04
The 3.8 V6 Commodore motor has to be up there, SO many of them out there, never see them on the side of the road, I imagine a large percentage being neglected of regular servicing etc.
AnswerID: 80869

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:30

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:30
I caught a taxi in Adelaide 2 years ago. It was a VP Commodore and had about 700k on it. The driver said he had only done normal servicing but had replaced both the heads recently. Mind you it was a POS inside.
FollowupID: 340137

Follow Up By: schevchenko - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 23:10

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 23:10
my mechanic was servicing an early vn commodore and its motor was running - smooth as silk for a vn - 385k. he reckoned it would go a long while yet with no rebuilds.
FollowupID: 340207

Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:48

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:48
On a bit of a tangent, but ...

Reliability is one thing. I reckon just as important and in some cases probably more important is serviceability.

In other words, the ability to get a motor back on the road easily and with least cost. Most motors these days are highly reliable, but serviceability is low due to electronics and cost. For example, which idiot thought of in-tank fuel pumps????

Most older motors are less reliable, but their serviceability is right up there. Fixing an igntion problem can be as simple as replacing a set of points. Fixing a fuel problem can be as simple as cleaning out a carbie. Remember the days when an overheated engine didn't necessarily mean spending $5000 on new cylinder heads?

Ah, for the days of the old cast iron Holden red motor!

AnswerID: 80876

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:51

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:51
I boiled my 2.8 litre VH Commodore motor once. Blew the head gasket.

I have boiled my 4ZE1 Rodeo motor twice in the same day when the radiator was caked with mud. Never did any harm.

I think I got real lucky with the Rodeo though.
FollowupID: 340132

Follow Up By: Savvas - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:19

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:19
I had a 2.8 VB a very long time ago. Boiled it a few times and never blew anything. But my point is how much does a head gasket cost compared to a new or welded alloy head?

Don't misunderstand me, I love the Jackaroo. But I just dread the associated repair costs and inconvenience of modern cars when something goes wrong.

Having said that, in the 85000kms that I have had it bugger all has gone wrong compared to my previous cars.
FollowupID: 340134

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:27

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:27
I understand your point. What I meant was that I ONLY blew the head gasket. I removed the head in my driveway, checked everything with a steel rule (dodgy I know), put another head gasket on and off I went.

However although my 4ZE1 isn't exactly the latest technology, I was amazed I didn't stuff anything by boiling it.

Problem is I want to trade it in in about 1 year or so. I hope what I get next is just as reliable. Either a Patrol or Discovery (live axles & diesel).
FollowupID: 340135

Follow Up By: Savvas - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 08:22

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 08:22
Did you receive the CD?
FollowupID: 340222

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:27

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:27
No I had forgotten about that.

When did you send it?
FollowupID: 340230

Reply By: Bazza - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:54

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 15:54
Life's too short!
AnswerID: 80878

Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:01

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:01
179 holden motor

graham
AnswerID: 80881

Reply By: Mike - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:05

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:05
That ever reliable Nissan 3.0 TD
Only owners of lesser reliable vehicles would not be in agreeance with this
AnswerID: 80882

Reply By: WDR - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:17

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:17
Jackaroo alias Isuzu
AnswerID: 80888

Follow Up By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:10

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:10
Isuzu wins it hands down for me.

Sparkie(IE not Y);-)
FollowupID: 340144

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:21

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:21
The engines they fit to the NSW Government Bus Fleet - some of them have over 1,500,000 KMS on them !!!!!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 80889

Follow Up By: theshadows - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:47

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:47
The big mercs with zf gearboxs and dare I say Scania....{poo}
FollowupID: 340140

Follow Up By: Savvas - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:55

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 16:55
Listening to the radio this morning, the NSW bus fleet is rolled over every 20-25 years. So conservatively assuming 100,000km a year, the oldest buses in the fleet would have in excess of 2 million kms.

Seems to fit in with the half-life, 1 million km overhaul program they have.
FollowupID: 340142

Reply By: theshadows - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:00

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:00
Throwing my 2 cents in , not to mention I'm going in the only motor's Ive owned and clocked over 100kms in.

Nissan SD33.....loved that motor strong went as fast as petrols and could pull a stump out with. Only did 150 thou in it though...{MQ body rusted away}

holden series 2 v6 petrol........its loud and clunky but seams to be bullet proof only done 80 in it yet.

Bmw k100 motorcycle .......wait for it 150000 and no work on it ever.........yes it was my couier bike for 5 years......

Nl12 volvo 425 hp 1.2mill and still going strong...mind you when I wrote it off it only had about 300 hp left in it but who cares....

least favorite motors......

Honda!!!!! all of them .....

Nissan td27........yes I drive one and the motor is gutless and poorly designed.Ive got lets behind the water pump and the only way to fix them is pull the timing chest off!!! for 2 o rings.

2F over 200kms and 3 heads ,2 dissy's and 3 welsh plugs. It went but it just up to the task for a 1980 motor .

saab,sciania......all.

shadow
AnswerID: 80895

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:10

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:10
The only reason I can think that you would hate Hondas is they run rings roudn BMW in 99% of ways.

My VFR which has one of the best engines of the 90's commonly regarded as that too, it had 60,000 in 2yrs when I was wiped out...
Trip leader in the club his ST1100 had over 200,000 when it was due for valve job, and several others on the Aussie VFR list had over 180,000 never been touched either. Coxys doesnt have a car, and uses his VFR to deliver Servers its his only transport..
FollowupID: 340143

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 18:57

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 18:57
Yep K100 for me too mine had 93,000k not a spanner on it except for it's services, there is a guy in the Ulissys club that has a K100 first model with somewhere around 300,000ks on it. Also any CB, VF Honda or GSX Suzuki.
FollowupID: 340170

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:21

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:21
I'd have to say a Toyota 2.8 lt Diesel,dosnt make enough power to wear out!!!
AnswerID: 80900

Follow Up By: Member - Spook (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 17:35

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 17:35
Second that :)
FollowupID: 340284

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 18:13

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 18:13
Surely any Holden Red motor. 149 thru to 202.

I would hazard a guess that we've all been in possession of one, and it was okay?

I know it's not a current vehicle, but it has had a lot of time to prove itself.

My mum always used to say to me when I was a teenager, blowing the house down with my" Crap " music... ( Pink Floyd, Deep Purple.... ) "Ian, turn that shlt off, it's rubbish. The test for good music is if they keep playing it on the radio in 25 years time, then it's good."

Funny thing, I took her out the other day, and had the radio on, and they were playing... you guessed it..... Pink Floyd!!!!

She told me that thing in 1972.......

Retro Wolf
AnswerID: 80909

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 18:34

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 18:34
TD42!! :-)) Tough as old boot leather!!!!

Holden 202???? I didn't think they were too reliable...had several as work vans way back when... ALL of 'em broke down at one stage or another, usually major!! .... thirsty as hell too! 11MPG on a good day, mind you we had 'em loaded to the gills with parts and tools etc.... My dad had a HT from new and passed it on to me about 1993, it had about 27 thousand on the clock, 186 motor and went like the clappers!!!!!!!! It WASN'T loaded admittedly but I always thought the 186 was heaps better than the 202.
AnswerID: 80913

Follow Up By: theshadows - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:51

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:51
Got to agree with the 186 motor and the 186s it went like the dickens and a lot stronger than the 202.

If the 202 was so great then why do most landie owners still search out for 186's for thier crate.

shadow
FollowupID: 340182

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 00:06

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 00:06
186's are good but part of the reason to use them is the lack of emission control gear
FollowupID: 340210

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:34

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:34
The 202 was commonly known as a 202 sludge, or 'the fluffy' where I came from..

All fluff and fart, but no power.
FollowupID: 340234

Follow Up By: schevchenko - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 11:07

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 11:07
what were the main differences between the red and blue motor and when was the transition? Holden HR - red or blue?
FollowupID: 340249

Follow Up By: Savvas - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 12:40

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 12:40
HR is red motor.

Transition from grey to dark red motor was the EH

Transition from dark red to bright red was the HQ (202 introduced)

Transition from red to blue was the VC Commodore

Transition from blue to black was the VK Commodore

The difference between the red and blue was the introduction of electronic ignition and a two barrel quadrajet(?) carby, and additonal emissions gear.

The black motor brought in electronic spark timing on the carby engine, and an efi 3.3 version with electronic igntion and stainless steel extractors.
FollowupID: 340261

Follow Up By: schevchenko - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 13:15

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 13:15
wasn't there an overlap in production for a while? what did hz(?) kingswood use?
FollowupID: 340266

Follow Up By: Savvas - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 16:01

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 16:01
HX and HZ used the heavily emissioned red 202. Same as the VB Commodore.
FollowupID: 340277

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 18:46

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 18:46
I also had a HZ station wagon for a couple of years.... it was a real lemon!!!! I ditched the troublesome 202 and put in a....wait for it.... 179! Went like hell then!!!!! LOL.... then the auto carked it and I sold it for little more tan scrap!
FollowupID: 340289

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 22:11

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 22:11
Another difference between red and blue was red had 6 port head and blue had 12 port.
FollowupID: 340318

Follow Up By: Savvas - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 07:37

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 07:37
Them were the days .... when a long motor could cost you less than $1k if you shopped around.

Not anymore!
FollowupID: 340333

Reply By: mr diamond - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:43

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:43
ok a few people seem to have missed the bit about current production vehicle.
are we talking car/truck/4wd.
AnswerID: 80929

Follow Up By: theshadows - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:48

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:48
this thread has succesfully been derailed.....

shadow...."thankyou very much...Elvis has left the building"
FollowupID: 340180

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:50

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:50
derailed eh! to the contary it has been put back on track
FollowupID: 340181

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:51

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:51
Ford Falcon
AnswerID: 80933

Follow Up By: theshadows - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:58

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 20:58
Ford falcon ? What gear are you on???
well the windsor motor was not bad but the cleveland not that crash hot.
The crossflow was far to heavly and underpowered for a conversion.

shadow
FollowupID: 340183

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:31

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:31
He is biased, he works for em.. :P
FollowupID: 340232

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:42

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:42
LOL yeah I'm involved with the manufacture of the engine but I don't own the company.
FollowupID: 340237

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 12:59

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 12:59
Past another broken down late model falcon on the way to work today... Missus drives them for work, buckets of crap IMHO.
FollowupID: 340359

Reply By: Mark- Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 21:05

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 21:05
The TD42 in one of my GQ's has done 485000 km and is still running great. The other GQ also has a TD42 with 278000 km. I cant work out which is the best motor because they both run so well. If anything the one with 485000 is a little quieter than the other one.
AnswerID: 80935

Reply By: The Jack - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:06

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:06
Just to add to the confusion.

I once went a taxi that was an AU Falcon that had 880 thou on the clock (hot K's thou)
And my wife drives a 1990 Toyota Corolla that we have had since new and apart from normal maintenance like brake pads and stuff. We have only outlayed about $600 for repairs . 1, a head gasket and the 2nd for the rear break cylinders.

Good value I say.

But I'd still rather drive my Jack.
AnswerID: 80948

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:57

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:57
Taxis are different beasts entirely coz they never get used for short cold runs like to the school and back. I know a taxi driver and he often tells me about the incredible miles he got out of some of his old beasts because they would double shift the taxi and it was rarely turned off - makes all the difference
FollowupID: 340239

Reply By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:11

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:11
I have owned probably around 30or so vehicles from age 16 and have managed to blow them all up . There allbleepboxes , companies have the tecnology to build cars to last a life time , but why would they when theres so much money to be made in spare parts,
AnswerID: 80951

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:34

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:34
Oh you are a naughty young fella.........you are not supposed to break your toys!!!!!!! Go stand in the corner...now!!!
FollowupID: 340201

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:46

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:46
It's not that i want to break them , they just do lol
FollowupID: 340203

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:48

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:48
Ill have to ring you Willem , I have some tricks up my sleeve for Robe lol . Everyone will have to sleep with one eye open .

night run sounds like fun
FollowupID: 340204

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:32

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:32
Eric, Not being SNAFU, but you should check tide charts too that will help you with timing of your night run...
FollowupID: 340233

Reply By: Bob H - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:35

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:35
T H E M I G H T Y 4.2 N A T U R A L L A N D C R U I S E R

Someone had to shout it from the rooftops.

AnswerID: 80958

Follow Up By: Bjorn - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 23:06

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 23:06
someone has mentioned a toyota at last. are they really that unrenowned for their motors?
FollowupID: 340206

Reply By: Member - sparra - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 07:01

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 07:01
500hp v8 mack, cheers sparra
AnswerID: 80977

Reply By: schevchenko - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 13:50

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 13:50
heaps seem to reckon the 4.2 nissan..but its underpowered. well, thats partly why it lasts isn't it? lots of big cylinders not doing much. probably my pick.
AnswerID: 81005

Reply By: D110V8D - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 15:11

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 15:11
2.25 4 CYL PETROL Land Rover motor. Most reliable thing I've ever owned and yes I've had both Toyotas and Nissans. The 2.25 never, ever let me down, even when she was old and worn out and burning oil and all the rest of it she just kept on going. Drove it from Geelong to Melbourne once with basically no oil in it. Didn't seem to bother it to much.
AnswerID: 81008

Follow Up By: pathfinder - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 13:55

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 13:55
and 2.5l 200tdi from '92-95 Disco - my housemate's has done 380K k, doesn't maintain it particularly well and it's still going strong - not bad for a small motor... Mine has done 250K k and is like new...
FollowupID: 340366

Reply By: Bjorn - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 19:35

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 19:35
I have heard many claim the 240D and 300D (1970s) mercedes as the most reliable vehicle of all time. give me a yapanese vehicle anyday tho.
AnswerID: 81031

Reply By: Member - David C (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 20:10

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 20:10
Nissan 2.8 in both TD and TDi form (GQ and GU). Underpowered (in standard form) but you never hear of breakages.
AnswerID: 81033

Follow Up By: Cookieboy - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 13:02

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 13:02
Anyone care to mention how many clicks they've got on a 2.8.

I've got over 170k and it runs like a dime!!

Any high scores on that one??
FollowupID: 340360

Follow Up By: Member - David C (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 18:41

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 18:41
I have 256,000 on my GU 2.8
FollowupID: 340414

Reply By: Bob H - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 01:32

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 01:32
and I still have to say

THE MIGHTY 4.2 NATURALLY ASPIRATED LANDCRUISER DIESEL

is the best and i will still shout it from the rooftops

AnswerID: 81064

Follow Up By: Bjorn - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:25

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:25
AHHH! voting twice I see! ;)
FollowupID: 340348

Reply By: Big Trev - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 08:13

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 08:13
I was talking to a taxi owner in Melbourne and he reckons the Falcon in-line 6 will out last the Holden V6 3 to 1. He has owned both.
AnswerID: 81074

Reply By: LP - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 11:41

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 11:41
Isusu Does it for me !!!

My last Rodeo a 2.6 petrol 4x4 did over 240,000 ks and didn't even look like packing it in when I traded up to a 2001 2.8 TD Rodeo.

Super reliable and the main reason I went Rodeo again!!!!

- Heard of another 2.6 petrol ( ...think it was on this forum ) a guy sold to a Sydney Butcher with over 300,000 ks and still going strong !!

Regards to all

LP
AnswerID: 81084