follow up trip to Bright

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 21:58
ThreadID: 17173 Views:2317 Replies:9 FollowUps:2
Dear everyone,
I have now completed the Border Track (SA) with my 2 boys and a mate and his 3 boys based on info gleaned from you all...had a ball!
New patrol...new scratches...badges of honour according to us.
My friend had never done it and he had lived in the area for40+ years.
He got bogged....I got him out...result 5 excited boys, 2 happy fathers (relieved but proud in front of their sons).

Now I'm off to Bright for 5 nights over the Melb Cup weekend.. taking the whole family.Looking for info on day trips from Bright each day and then back to get the ladies back to warm quarters each night.
Requirements: must scenic, not too 4x4 gruelling (even thogh the boys are now apparently in love with the idea. (YES. MISSIION ACCOMPLISHED!!!)
Daughter and wife slowly coming around with the idea that this is the state of things to come.
would be greatful on anyone's experiences.
remember must be back in bed each night in Bright.

Step 1 in the indoctrination process

Many thanks in anticipation

Malcolm

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:09

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:09
The Border Track is quite an interesting little run. Soft sand and lots of branches to get scratches from.

Once the travel in Oz bug has bitten, you will be possessed for ever.

Anyway welcome to the EO club.
AnswerID: 80949

Reply By: Member - Patrick (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:19

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:19
How was the boarder track. I have been living in the area for ten years and have'nt got around to taking some time out doing it. It is funny you live in an area, but don't see, travel or holiday in it, enstead you travel thousands of kilometers seeing everywhere and anywhere else.

Patrick
AnswerID: 80954

Follow Up By: Malcolm P - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:30

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:30
Patrick,
You just have to do it!
We went up the Murrayville Track at around 2pm first from Nhill had some refreshments in the Pub (limit 2 Pots, 5 Cokes).
Then onto Pinnaroo and turned onto the Track, travelled for a few hours, set up camp around Pine Hut Soak.
Went to Scorpion Springs next day set up again, let the boys kick the footy etc.
Next night set up at Red Bluff walked up the next morning had a look and returned to Nhill next day.
Patrick, I would say do it soon before it gets too hot.

Happy Travelling
Malcolm
FollowupID: 340200

Reply By: bazza - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:34

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:34
G'DAY MAL. P.

CALL INTO OUR FIRE-STATION - WILL GIVE U PLENTY OF TRACK-OPTIONS TO KEEP YOUSE ENTERTAINED AND NOT SCARE THE WUMIN FOLK - YOUSE WILL HAVE A BALL. CHEERS ... BAZZA
AnswerID: 80957

Reply By: Malcolm P - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:40

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:40
thanks Bazza
I'll see you on Sat morning 30th October.
Really appreciate it!

Malcolm
AnswerID: 80959

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 23:16

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 23:16
you should extend the trip for a week and catch the Rod Run, I'm sure the boys would get a kick out of that. There is some fairly magnificent machinery and the atmosphere is pretty mellow. Most people realise that the weekend is a great boon for the local economy, and also that if they abuse it they may lose it. This is the first year for4 that I'll miss, due to work commitments. My missus even enjoys the weekend.
Blue
AnswerID: 80967

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 23:17

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 23:17
Malcolm

Glad you had a nice trip.

Is Red Bluff still infested with those poxing ferral bees
AnswerID: 80968

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 11:38

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 11:38
Hi Malcolm

I'd suggest a trip up the Buckland valley from Porpunkah. You could go down Clear Creek for a good drive around the old gold mining areas where most of the old infrastructure is revealed following the fires. Easy trip and quite enjoyable for your passengers. For something a bit more adventurous do the circle around throgh the Twins Jeep Track, ie up the Buckland to Beveridges, across Twins Jeep Track and come out on the main drag and back into Bright. Would take up most of the day and some moderate opportunity to pit your vehicle a. Have fun!!
AnswerID: 80996

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 11:48

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 11:48
should have concluded, "against the elements"
FollowupID: 340253

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 23:44

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 23:44
The best ridge top run anywhere in Victoria has to be the trip out along the Blue Rag Range. Head for Harrietville and up to Hotham, take the turn off to Dargo at St Bernards and proceed until you find the start of the Blue Rag Range Tk on your right. Take this out to the trig point. The trip is a bit like a roller coaster (track at peaks disappears below bonnet) and the view is amazing.

See the trip notes in the Trek Notes for Vic High Country. The Blue Rag makes up part of the trek.

Also you could go into the Wonnangatta for lunch at the old station site, (read up on the history a little before you go).

If you go from Myrtleford in via Abbeyard it's a pleasant run of 80 or so km of easy 4wd and there are alternative routes back out to Myrtleford if you want.

Mount Beauty is just over the hill and worth a visit. Amazing how many people who visit Bright year after year still don't know where it is! I'd stay there in preference to Bright but I am biased a little.

Cup Weekend will be busy up there, markets, mountain bikes, hang gliders, gliders, fishing, 4wd, camping, relaxing after it all with a coldie....

God's own country, and my back yard as a kid.

AnswerID: 81059

Reply By: bazza - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 22:21

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 22:21
malcom p.

give me a buzz on 03 57551344 ref sat.

bazza
AnswerID: 81812