Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:02
Willem
My Hema Map(size 850mmx1000mm approx.) arrived from the ExplorOz
Shop all laminated and then I had it mounted by a professional framer. Got it back today and started filling in (nearly)all the roads and tracks I have been on over the past 36 years.
A couple of hours have passed and I have done about three quarters of it. It is a BIG country! And there is still so much to see before I fall off the perch. But I am going to give it a good try...high fuel prices or not
There is still Tasmania, the South West of WA,
the tip of
Cape York,
the tip of Arnhemland, the
Great Victoria Desert, parts of the
Pilbara and a few
places inbetween to see. I had better start saving my pennies.....................
Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:27
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:27
G'day Willie, You'll get that map all filled in OK before you fall of the perch. Then you'll have time to revisit some of those
places again. Just as
well Texta's are cheap.
Reply By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:50
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:50
I have been lucky enough to see Willems map . Let me tell you , it's very impressive. If I see a quarter of what you have seen mate , i will die a happy man .
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:52
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 22:52
G'day Willie,
Great idea to get it professionally framed......can I be rude and ask how much that cost please.......?? Tell me to go to buggary if you don't want to tell me......no worries. I want to get one myself and do the same thing.
Cya mate.....
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 18:41
Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 18:41
Yeah bugger-off Roachie....hahahahaha...seriously, have sent you a MM
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 15:15
Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 15:15
When you've filled it in Willie take a good size pic, upload it and share with us all.
I've marked my travels on a postage stamp:)
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 17:25
Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 17:25
And by the way Willem, when you get around to travelling down my street don't forget to drop in for a milkshake or two.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 18:34
Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 18:34
Ray,
I passed though your neck of the woods last Thursday. Will endeavour to look you up next time. I'll take a pic of the map and see how it comes out
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 21:02
Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 21:02
Sure thing Willem. Let me know when you're coming through. I'm only a few minutes off the main drag and with my works hours normally at home for the best part of the day.
Reply By: Peter O - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 17:06
Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 17:06
Good on you Willem, keep your dream alive. I heard a very weathy man say one time
"A Man Without A Dream Is Dead, You Want To Be Dead But Still Be Living?"
You seem to be full of life both Physically and mentally so just keep going mate
Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 20:28
Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 20:28
Well done Willem
Make sure you look us up when in the
Pilbara as we've got a few local spots worth talking about.
Would love to see that map - how about a pic?
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 20:54
Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 20:54
Hi Coops
I was hoping to do some of that country this past year but things got ahead of me and only managed 4 major trips closeby and a few short ones to the Flinders. Maybe next year we will make it over to the west.
I tried to take a pic with the digi this evening but got too much reflection from the flash....Will make another attempt in daylight tomorrow.
Reply By: motherhen - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 00:11
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 00:11
I'm so jealous - I look at maps and want to go just everywhere in our great land. Not seen much of the SW? Such a beautiful area, mild climate, a must to visit. Lived here all my life - still a lot more to see. I never tire of watching the sun's rays radiating through the mist in the mornings; with silhouetted trees against a background of sparkle - sometimes silver, sometimes gold. That's just as i go out the door in the morning.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 17:58
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 17:58
Maybe if I come over to the SW I will want to stay. Nothing exciting about where I live and the streets occupants are even less exciting. But one has to live somewhere and this is about as good as it going to get, I suppose. Good thing is that I am about equidistance from everywhere in Oz.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 21:04
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 21:04
Willem,
I'd like to see that. My pathetic map keeps me going between trips. I am trying to fill in the gaps where I haven't been but its going to take a few years yet. The
Maroochydore to
Carnarvon trip and the
Canberra to 80 mile beach trips are a good start. Never driven to
the tip of
Cape York but sailed past many times while in the Navy - in fact sailed right around the continent in 1983.