Extreme Makeover on the old Hilux 2.8 – Brilliant!
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 09:37
Anthony
All was fine in the world with me, the family and the ’92 Hilux DC … until I bought a camper trailer (1.3 tonne loaded). 12 months later and after various weekend trips away, struggling up every
hill with the CT on the back … it was time for an after market turbo or get a new Hilux 3.0TD (which I can’t afford).
After 2 days and $3,500 later, which (apart from the Denco turbo) includes a complete new exhaust system and testing on the dyno … its brilliant. While it’s only 24 hours since I got the Hilux back, it’s a new beast. Towing the CT on the weekend after next will be the real test but after having a bit of a drive around last night … it’s great.
Thanks to all on the
forum who have previously posted their thoughts on Hilux 2.8’s and turboing. I’ve managed to glean heaps of info.
In the interest of sharing, at a later date and after a bit of fun testing I’ll post how the Denco has performed. If it wasn’t for the 4X4 show this weekend in
Melbourne … I’d be gone now (after work that is).
Cheers Anthony
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 09:44
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 09:44
Good for you mate! How good is it after driving the naturally aspirated diesel around for all that time, to jump in and actually have torque off the line!
Did you get a dyno report? How did your figures compare? What sort of settings do they put the boost at etc?
Follow Up By: Anthony - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:09
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:09
G'day Chris
The boost is set at 7 pounds. The bloke who fiited it wants me to drive it for a few days, to get some heat into the turbo and new exhaust and let them settle in. Then he will take it back to the dyno and advance injector pump (which is yet to be done) after testing at 60, 80 and 110kph on the dyno. So there will be more improvement to come!
I'll get the report and post the results next week.
At the sametime he will take the clamps of the new exhaust and weld the joins, as
well as cut an access hole on the inner RHS guard for access to change the oil filter (I believe this access is std on factory fitted turbo Hiluxs).
Cheers Anthony
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:20
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:20
Sounds good. From what you say, the guys you had fit the turbo sound like the care about what there doing, and getting it done right the first time.
Keep us posted mate!
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 18:22
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 18:22
My mate up north Turboed his 3litre 99 Lux to tow the CT with more grunt. It works
well but he has an ongoing heating problem where as soon as he starts cruising at 100kmh the engine heats up to three quarters and beyond. He has not been able to remedy it yet. Good luck with yours.
Follow Up By: Anthony - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:29
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:29
G'day Willem,
Do you know what brand turbo he fitted ?
I was wondering (and I'm yet to find out) whether the 2.8 would run a bit hotter with the turbo.
I'm actually surprised as to how much room the turbo takes up under the hood - the 3inch exhaust runs much closer to the hydraulic lines and the firewall than I would prefer - fingers crossed.
Cheers Anthony
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:53
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:53
Heard of this happening too on a mates hilux running 12psi. He needed a bigger radiator (from memory thicker as opposed to longer) and modded shroud to fit bigger fan.
Follow Up By: Anthony - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:20
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:20
I was told that the denco turbo it is a bit bigger and more reliable than some of the other brands out. It will give good reliable performance at 7psi boost - lower boost, less strees on the engine. I expect that it isn't as simple as that.
Other factors such as correctly adjusting the advance on the injector pump, to prevent (or limit ?) excess unburnt hot fuel etc, I guess are likely to effect reliablity and peformance.
Lets hope I've got the right people doing the work.
Cheers Anthony
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 11:00
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 11:00
I suspect from my minimal exposure to this field that 7psi will not cause any problems. I give you 6 months before you want more wheaties! ;-)
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 20:56
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 20:56
Anthony
Just talked to me mate in
Darwin. He tells me it is a watercooled Turbo supplied by ARB....that is what he said(I confess to know nothing about turbo's)...........I think he bought it seocnd hand and then had ARB fit it. Has run it now for a couple of years but can't get past the overheating problem...Methinks he is going to trade the Hilux on a Nissan soon...LOL
Follow Up By: Anthony - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:28
Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:28
Willem,
Thanks for checking ... its sounds like your mates turbo is quite different to what I've had fitted.
The more questions I ask about turbos .. the more I realise I don't know. I think I stop asking q's and just pay the blokes who do know .. LOL.
Thanks again ... Anthony
Reply By: Member - Spook (SA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:16
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:16
G'day there
I had my hilux turbo'd in January (swmbo was in
Perth for a few weeks, she said when I picked her up from the airport "this sounds like it's got a whistle, you should have it looked at") and havn't looked back since.
I can't recall what psi
mine is running at but it sure make's a difference. I didn't notice the difference so much in the city, it's more on the highway, up steep hills and makes overtaking sooo much safer (don't have to wind it up, say your prayers, lean right forward and stick your fingernails into the steering wheel!!!). It handle's towing heaps better too. So far I havn't noticed any change in fuel economy or overheating (the highest the needle has ever been is just over half).
I had
mine done at 4wd Systems in
Adelaide for just over $3K.
Follow Up By: Anthony - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:32
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:32
Hi Spook,
Its good the hear your power up is performing
well.
From reading your post is sounds like you have been watching me drive! - you describe the hilux overtaking procedure very
well. Not only am I expecting a heap more power on the highway but a lot less stress trying to get every bit of the 60KW power out of the standard 2.8 when towing etc.
It's good that your temp and fuel havn't altered much from pre turbo days. -
Anthony
Follow Up By: Member - Spook (SA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:36
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:36
Hey Anthony
LOL it's not just you mate, I think anyone who has owned a 2.8D would know the feeling...
You just can't expect it to be a sports car and you won't be disapointed.
Happy travels
Brad
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:58
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:58
Hey Anthony, re- the under bonnet heat and running hotter, if properly tuned the egt temps wont be too high, but as you said the turbo takes up a bit of room and runs close to other components, easy solution, get a turbo blanket to fit your snail and keep the heat in the turbine housing and the exhaust gases where it belongs, any good turbo supplier will have them, quite common in aircraft and trucks and they work
well.
Re- the overtaking pose, mate i drove a 2.4 carby petrol lux for a few years, so i too know the 'look' :-)))
Follow Up By: Anthony - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:34
Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:34
G'day Bradley
A turbo blanket ... it sounds like it would be on the shelf next to the left handed spanners ... LOL.
Actually, its a good suggestion ... I was thinking that some type of hi temp insulation would be good between the turbo/exhaust and the parts that I want to keep away from the heat.
Anthony
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:31
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:31
Yeah, the turbo blanket on the exhaust housing, and some off the shelf exhaust wrap on the dump pipe back to the firewall would do nicely.