Toyota Turbo VS Nissan Turbo 4.2/3.0 as Tow Vehicles

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:41
ThreadID: 17199 Views:4340 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
People keep pointing out that more power and torque don't necessarily mean a better tow vehicle eg: nissan 3.0 vs 4.2 debate. I read a tow test in a magazine over a year ago where they concluded the nissan 3.0 was better suited for towing than 4.2 Toyota turbo because of the way it delivered its power (less lag/less peaky). Has anyone had the opportunity to drive both nissan and toyota towing big loads back to back?

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:47

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:47
Check post #17161 JohnZA did a back to back test.
AnswerID: 81080

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:49

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 10:49
Sorry, that was Nissan 3.0 vs 4.2. Not Toyota. Better clean my glasses & screen......DOH!
FollowupID: 340349

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 13:43

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 13:43
Hey mate,

The 4.2 Tojo would be the pick of the bunch ONLY if you intended on towing on the blacktop. IFS in my own opinion does not allow for the same sort of suspension upgrades you can get on the GQ/GU's.

Financially, a 'sweep out' tojo TD will set you back around 70k, but the power, man, had a run in a mates the other day, puts you back in your seat. I would love to see one of those with a powerup! From the showroom, tojo quote 150kw's at the fly, some 35kw's more than the 4.2 GU.

For 50k for a 4.2TDI GU, plus 2k for a powerup, you have a more powerful tow vehicle and 18g's in the pocket to spend on toys!!!

The 100 series looks tough with lift, sexy wheels and mudders. Sound good too with big exhaust...mmmmmmmmm.

My own opinion only and trying very hard not to start debate. ;-)

Chris.
AnswerID: 81088

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 14:39

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 14:39
Search function must not be working, its only been coverd 2390482039482039820394802349+E08 times
FollowupID: 340377

Follow Up By: Bjorn - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 22:38

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 22:38
what bollock! LOLOL
FollowupID: 340443

Reply By: Member Eric - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 18:11

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 18:11
get the 3.0 . I havent heared of any problems ......................;-)
AnswerID: 81114

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 20:16

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 20:16
The early ones have had a few problems but the latter ones are definitly the go. Very good for towing and still quite ecconomical at that.

Leroy
FollowupID: 340419

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 20:38

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 20:38
So all the 2002 and 2003 models with blown 5th gear a shot turbos are a fluke ?
FollowupID: 340420

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 21:35

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 21:35
The 5th prob only affected series 1's and only seen the odd turbo prob posted.

Leroy
FollowupID: 340430

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 22:29

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 22:29
Ok , so i have a 10/2002 with a blown fifth gear . what series is that ?

You dont want the lift of issues , i have seen at work . It would make you cry . Its at a stage were , if I havent got it placed , I dont buy any more
FollowupID: 340439

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 23:18

Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 23:18
It's a later model truck that had a 5th gear prob. Been plenty of 4.2's with the same prob also. Fortunately it's under warranty so you will be able to get Nissan to fix it. At Southern 4x4 dismantlers recently and they had stax of patrol gearboxs. Generally they are very reliable to the extent that they have trouble selling them for $2k. Cruisers on the other had they sell for $4k without a prob as they find they break more often. I think when it comes down to it no model is perfect.

Leroy
FollowupID: 340448

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 00:27

Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 00:27
Interesting the debate so far is on power, but for towing the larger better brakes of the 100, along with the power, especially once dtronic goes in, and the IFS for better road handling would make the better tow vehicle of the choices in IMHO, though given a recent tow test in a caravan magazine comparing the diesel and petrol prado's saw the V6 petrol come out $2000 cheaper to run over 100,000km why not forget about the oil burner and look at something with more grunt, and if in Vic, the petrol is around 7-10c a litre cheaper than diesel as well currently........
AnswerID: 81176

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:52

Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:52
Now that I have a diesel I have wondered if it's worth it in the long run. But they do have better resale. Fuel and servicing is more expensive, and I service every 5k so twice as often as a Petrol and you have heaps more grunt with a petrol vehicle. Hmmmm
FollowupID: 340475

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:32

Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:32
Bjorn,I have owned and towed with both (4.2,3.0 Turbo Nissan).
3.0 litre the best tow car.
It is all about inertia,the 3.0 litre produces more power and torque and carries out passing much better than the 4.2.
The pick up on acceleration is superior as there are less frictional losses with the 4 against the six.
Admittingly the 6 may have a longer service life,but the fuel consumption of the 4 is much better and the running costs should be lower.
AnswerID: 81185

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:59

Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:59
I towed a fully loaded tandem recently and the 3.0l Patrol did it so easily. I usually use a v6 commodore. I have driven 4.2's and they seem like they could pull a train but I haven't towed with one. I reckon you would have to forget about overtaking unless you have a runway runup. The 3.0 is a zippier higher performance engine and in my opinion is a more pleasurable vehicle to drive.

Leroy
FollowupID: 340477

Reply By: angler - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 21:02

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 21:02
My 2003 Automatic NISSAN 3.0 litre gets close to 10L/100 on the highway with little load and about 15 to 16L/100 towing 2 tonnes of tandem caravan.

I found a auto turbo cruiser was about $27,000 more than a auto turbo NISSAN. In other words I got the van for free. I just couldn't afford the cruiser.

I found the Nissan tows very well and has heaps more power than my previous TDI discovery. I liked the TDI but it's towbar down weight capacity was to low at 150Kg whereas the Nissan is 350Kg with some minor limitations that do not have an effect on my towing setup.
Incidenty I had the TDI for about six years and had only one problem, the steering damper almost fell off at about 5000K's.
It managed about 14L/100 towing 1600Kg tandem.
We just finished about 10,000K's towing and from looking around the various van parks the Nissan is becoming the tow vehicle of choice. I feel this is mainly due to the cost of purchase. Tojo are pricing themselves out of the game hence the smaller versions that are really a poor copy of the original.

Pooley
AnswerID: 82162