THE MIGHTY EXPLORER IS BACK
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 19:40
Baz (NSW)
The mighty 2WD Explorer is now 4WD again and OH MY GOD no shudders and strange noises that Ford reckon were normal, yeh right !!! FORD SUCKS is it time for a new stead !! Now the fight with Ford begins to recoup the $1300 it cost.
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 19:50
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 19:50
Good one Baz, go get em mate.
Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 19:52
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 19:52
Go for it Baz, now we know why that climb at
Bendethera was a problem. Glad its done mate. see you in a couple of days i hope.
Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 20:46
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 20:46
goodday baz
pleased to see you fixed up and travelling again .does that $1300 include previous visits where you were told nothing wrong and can you go them for those costs also
Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 21:20
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 21:20
Good news Baz. Now you can go and look for that early model GU 3.0TD you've always wanted ;-)
Seriously though, what sort of beast are you considering?
Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 21:57
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 21:57
Baz,
Are you seriously getting rid of the Explorer?? Never thought we'd see it!! Think you would look pretty good behind the wheel of a Prado!!!!!!
You'll have to bring you're "new stead" down for a drive in the Brindies!!!
Steve and Sandy
Reply By: Member Eric - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 22:30
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 22:30
I thought this was secret Baz lol
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 23:20
Thursday, Oct 21, 2004 at 23:20
You had to pay??
4 weeks ago when it happened, they were picking up the bill??
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:42
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:42
Well according to Ford it was electrical and not covered under the extended warranty and after it was found to not be electrical ford reckoned that we had not mentioned this problem before the warranty exspired so were not going to cover it, you see we didn't say that the strange noises and shudder we have been complaining about when turning was the transfer case apparently you have to be specific with ford and tell them excactly what is actually wrong with the car, so because we didn't say there is something wrong and broken in the transfer case thats why they didn't look at it, but what we said was that there is a shuddering and a strange noise in the car when you are turning forward or reverse it feels like the car is still in 4WD, BUT NO THAT IS NORMAL says Ford, we have been complaining about this since 2002 and when the car went out of warranty we said it again at it's last service, OH THAT IS NORMAL, what is really annoying about this is that this is the only real problem we have had with the car and as soon as we take it to a 4WD specialist they say it's the transfer case and that we will take it out and see what the problem is, now it's fixed so why couldn't Ford do this all that time ago ??
I HATE FORD WITH A PASSION !!!!!
Barry.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:10
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:10
1) Burn it.
2) Always get chit in writing...
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 17:08
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 17:08
I reckon its the car focussed mechanics, probably never seen a transfer case. Nissan did a similar thing to me, except they covered the lot under warranty. I reckon they need to lift their game if theyre covering 4b as
well as 2b's
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 00:23
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 00:23
Sorry Baz I missed the begining of the problem.
What happened ?
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:51
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:51
Apparently the car has not been locking the front diff in so all those times i was stuck this is why John, here i was thinking it was either my bad driving or the cars lack of off road capabilty, maybe now it will show what it can really do, or maybe not who knows.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 11:51
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 11:51
Ah Good one that you found the problem.
Bloody dealers drive you nuts with there crap attitude to customers.
Following the post further down get the Toyota or the Nissan.
Disco's are a difficult vehicle also.
Reply By: fatz - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:10
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:10
Baz,
Great news my friend. will be interesting to see what it's capable of now...... might even be able to tow that trailer of yours :-}. have to organise another weekend so we can see what it's really made of before you consider selling it. Thought about a Pajero as a replacment? might know a bloke with one for sale......
What exactley was the problem?
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:54
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 07:54
It was the ramp system in the transfer case broken in 3
places and all the clutches on the shaft. I'll email you.
Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:41
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:41
Top o the mornin to ya Mick!
Follow Up By: fatz - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:07
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:07
An D rest of the day ta yerself Paul....... Did you get those diff locks yet, or you trying to be a good boy and hope that santa will bring them...
Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:13
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:13
According to my wife lately, ive been a BAD BAD boy, when i mentioned wanting to buy diff locks, she went ape, so i said ill wait for Santa to bring em. Apparently (tears in eye's) there is no such thing as Santa!!
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 08:32
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 08:32
OK guys this is what we are thinking, using the Explorer as a trade in to buy one of three vehicles because we are towing a heavy camper it has to pull
well and be comfortable. It's a TD5 Disco SWMBO choice, 100 series TD cruiser, or 4.2TD Patrol between 2000 to 2003, now please no Toyota v Patrol arguements and putting $hit on the Landrover these are our choices and we are going to pick the one thats suits us, once we have made our choice we will employ the help of Eric (the secrets out Eric, lol) to find the vehicle we want with the stuff already on that we need (ie) bullbar, towbar, snorkle, you know so on & so on.
Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 08:52
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 08:52
Morning Baz, you better change your signature back to 4wd..
Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 08:53
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 08:53
You are really going that far up market? Great!
Depending on $$ go for the Cruiser. I think that the current solid front end T/D Cruiser is the DX like Mick's. 4.2 TD Patrol is also good and probably cheaper. I'm sure Angelo will agree!
Disco - Naaaah!
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:37
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:37
Might be a bit muddy hey
Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:42
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:42
Oops! Just checked the L/C specs: the T/D starts with the GXL. $$$ unless you're going 2nd hand - then just $$.
Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:52
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:52
Wow Baz! This is like the "end of an era". Quite sad, really.
Anyway, best of luck finding a good set of wheels. As you know, this is the right place to ask.
Patrol is my personal preference.
Reply By: flappan - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:35
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 09:35
"I HATE FORD WITH A PASSION !!!!! "
You don't mind if I quote you on that Baz ; )
Mate , good news its fixed , crappy that you paid . . .
As the only defender of the Exploder faith that I know of , they should have treated you like god , cause , know you arebleep. . . aint no way known , people will be defending the exploder again.
AS for the vehicles you are looking at , any of them will do the trick nicely. My preference would be the Patrol , over the others but hey , not my cash.
Good luck with it.
Reply By: fatz - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:18
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:18
Baz, would reccomend the cruiser as you know.
Mine pulled your trailer no worries and its not turbo. been having a look around at second hand cruisers for pete. came accross a second hand 2000 gxl dsl with aftermarket turbo, solid front end (which I would reccomend), lift kit,
snorkel and so on, 196,000k full service history, priced at 34k. K's are a bit high for petes liking but I thought about it myself, just to pull the turbo off for
mine and then on sell. There are a few of them around. All comes down to personal choice. If you want to trial a cruiser you are welcome to borrow
mine some weekend and see what you think, but its only the base model. Send me an e-mail if you're interested.
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:52
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 10:52
Thanks mate i might take you up on that, is Pete keeping the Pajero.
Follow Up By: fatz - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 13:32
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 13:32
No, looking for a base model 100 same as
mine and adding a hairdryer and all the other goodies. more money than sense.....
Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:48
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:48
Hey Baz,
If you have much difficulty with Ford you could always try one of the 4WDer's friends, A Current Affair or Today Tonight. It'd be interesting to see if they would even talk to you.
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 13:20
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 13:20
We have allready started the ball rolling because all our complaints have been documented we have a good case, we talked to the MVRIC and they said that we do, also all the repairs done by the 4WD centre along with a written report including the auto elecs report that it wasn't electrical will be put in for re-embursment, ya know the old saying don't poke the bear well Ford poked the bear.
Reply By: pmacks - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 14:41
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 14:41
Baz,
Just a pointer to your warrenty problems, if you can get the company to sign a stat dec that in there opion it had been broken while under warrenty you should be covered with out question!!. Why ? i hear you ask because every time you take your vehicle to the dealer for service they are suppose to check that when the vehicle is returned to you it is FIT FOR PURPOSE and quite frankly if you cannot lock the front hubs in then it is not fit for purpose and they should have known.
Also in your case the warrenty should not even apply as the part was obivisouly defective from the beginning and there fore NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE. If they give you greif go see the chamber magistrate at your local court and seek his advice this service is free but you do have to book.
pmacks
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:40
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:40
Thanks pmacks i'll keep this in mind if our first option does not work.