Submitted: Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 20:22
TroopyTracker
G’day there,
Just wondering if anyone could advice me regarding laptops being used for map storage and navigating in 4WD’s. I’m worried my computer would not live too long strapped to whatever mounting system I made/purchased especially on the sort of roads where you would be using it for this purpose. I’m currently weighing up between laptop/oziexporer/GPS/CD maps and dedicated navigation system eg Streetpilot. I see the first option as much more versatile although voice prompting and some of the other features that come with unit such as Streetpilot sound great. I already own laptop/GPS and whatever maps I already own are still useful with oziexplorer type software so this option would be quite a bit cheaper. Any help/advice would be most appreciated. I travel roughly 4 months of the year, so I’ll be using which ever system I choose quite a bit so I obviously want to get it right!
Thanks in advance,
Matt
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 20:34
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 20:34
Most of the problems I have had with the laptop have been of my own doing eg. not having the GPS hardwired for power and not having battery backup for the notebook. After many trips I have finally sorted my mistakes out. I find however that I do not use the laptop much for mapping purposes unless I am doing some treknotes for EO. I tend to want to print out the maps available(GDT or Raster Mosaic) for the intended route. Twice in two years I have had to fire up the laptop to find out my exact position. I have seen a number of ways other people have their laptops running all the time and some have issues and some not. I run my laptop from a Kerio DC Charger and I also have a 150watt Pure Sinewave inverter if needed. They are all nice toys but not really of much use except to play with.LOL
I do however use the laptop to write up the daily journal and to download pics.
Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:01
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:01
G'day Willem,
I'm pretty sure I'd be one of those who have the laptop running constantly as I'm always asking my usually dosing wife for conformation of direction roads etc. I'm just worried how long my 3k laptop would last in the environment of a 4wd. I've considered the option of a cheap laptop purely for map storage/moving map use. $500 can buy good 2nd hand laptop these days. What sort of mounting systems have you seen/used? I thought in this day and age there would be comercial producers of some excellent solutions for this problem?
Matt
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:20
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:20
Yeah my laptop is priced about the same but I tend to keep it inside its case most of the time away from dust. I have seen laptops mounted on the cargo barrier. The most popular however is to use a RAM arm(I think thats the name) which you can buy at a boat
shop. It is multi swivel and positioning. Member Eric has one in his 80series. If you become a member of this site you can send member messages to other members who may be able to help you with what you want to know.
A mate of
mine has a Navman Palm whatever with a GPS built in and a 1MB card which allows for a heap of mapping memory which may even be a lot better that a laptop/GPS set-up
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 23:28
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 23:28
I use a mobile desk with my Dell mounted to it and found it very good.
Currently use Magellan's Discover Oz Streets and Tracks.
Have just received a copy of Ozi Explorer which I will now evaluate.
I run my Lap top and mapping program constantly as a very useful means to an end so to speak.
Look here for the Mobile Desk Info.
http://www.mobiledesksolutions.com/trek.htm
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 17:10
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 17:10
Yeah JOhn but you NEED all that stuff. I recall you getting lost in your hometown not so long ago.........hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:13
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:13
Thanks for the vote of confidence Willem.
Next you will suggest that I carry a spare Troopy to snatch me out each time I get bogged. LOL
Reply By: Richard - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:08
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:08
Run an Ipaq with a Navman GPS sleeve on a windscreen mount. Survived a Simpson crossing and the Hemma maps were spot on.
Reply By: theratt - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:39
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:39
i have my laptop running all the time when on my trips , the
places i go you would not tend to go if you didnt have some sort of mapping software, but still carrry the trusty paper maps of coarse
i have my laptop mounted under the pasengers
seat closed up and secured
i have a 7 inch touch screen mounted on the centre console all hard wired up to a gps and also use a cordless mouse
i stuffed around lots before finnaly coming to this combination which i think works great for me ,and the laptop has not suffered any ill effects yet
Reply By: Phil G - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 22:52
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 22:52
I've run a laptop and ozi for many trips over the last 2-3 years. Its a Tosh 266Mhz and still goes like new. Its mounted on a platform between the two front seats and I use hook velcro on the laptop to secure it to the carpeted platform. This provides shock protection.
The keyboard gets dusty, but you can simply blow it out, or remove it and tip it upsidedown.
Reply By: TonyH - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 23:08
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 23:08
My outfit.
Panasonic Tuffbooks. I have an old M33 which is used in my tractors as a guidance computer, linked to Dgps reciever, running farmlap and skymapper. This is a computer designed for operation in rough situations, even so I have to replace the hard drive every couple of years as they don't handle the knocks.
A 4wd is a lot more comfortable and has better
suspension than a tractor, and if you have your info backed up, the cost of a replacement hard drive is very negligeble.
Just my thoughts
Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 06:50
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 06:50
I started out using an old Toshiba 486/75 for mapping with Oziexplorer when it first came out, the old 486 hardly ever missed a beat and copped a hiding. Probs were mainly CPU speed and memory (lack of). Then upgraded to a P3 Toshiba which had a bigger screen and took up more space especially in most modern 4wd's.
Unless the passenger is happy to look after the laptop or as suggested use a remote touch screen they can be a bit of a pain. Theft was always a worry too around towns and when you
park the vehicle.
In the Humvee while there is plenty of space for a laptop I found that most of the probs were still relevant.
I now use an Ipaq with Ozi Ce and a Garmin 12xl and find it is much more convenient to use, power requirements are much less, it is easily hidden when parked and has a touch screen.
The GPS has an external aerial and can then be tucked away out of sight.
One cable powers both units and provides an interface between them.
We still take the laptop on long trips mainly for digital picture storage and accessing email via CDMA on the go.
Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 07:11
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 07:11
I use my Toshiba extensively off road - if not for mapping, then for kids watching movies on the highway.
The *only* problem that I've experienced is the screen/lid has loosened and moves forward and back far too easily. I'm not sure if RAM mounts would secure it in place so that it didn't get a constant 'forward/backward' movement..
My preference next time would be for a tablet PC, where the lid actually folds down on top of the keyboard (after flipping so that the screen is uppermost) - viewing orientation can be changed from 'portrait' to 'landscape' - mate of
mine has this and it is quite robust.
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:01
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:01
Ram bracket is only a swivel for the custom base i made . Also you need to make a bracket that keeps the laptop lid secure
Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:36
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:36
Eric,
That's the point with the tablet - no lid to secure ;-)
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:44
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:44
I agree Ivan , I just pointed out , what the ram bracket was for , and my fix for your lap top lid , as to your coment of it coming loose . I will also get a tablet computer when the come down in price .
Regards EC
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 18:24
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 18:24
Thanks everybody for responses,
Looks like I’ll have to look a little further into a dedicated navigation unit. Not as simple a decision as I first thought. Originally dismissed Navman etc as I figured Laptop would be much more useful, powerful and also heaps of storage for maps and programs. I wasn’t aware PDA type setups were capable of running Ozi Explorer as
well as storing large maps
JOHN-If I were to go the laptop way I’d definitely be looking at a way to set up computer permanently although $435 for Mobile Desk unit looks great but pricey to me. I look forward to hearing how you go finding your way around OziExplorer. Which mapping software had you been using previously? Are you buying OziExplorer for any reason in particular or did you not already have moving map software (main reason I can see for purchasing with this type of software)?
One other thing, what’s a tablet computer? Silly question maybe but I haven’t a clue!
I think I have much to learn on this topic. Appreciate everybody’s advice.
Thanks again,
Matt
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 18:36
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 18:36
Thanks everybody for responses,
Looks like I’ll have to look a little further into a dedicated navigation unit. Not as simple a decision as I first thought. Originally dismissed Navman etc as I figured Laptop would be much more useful, powerful and also heaps of storage for maps and programs. I wasn’t aware PDA type setups were capable of running Ozi Explorer as
well as storing large maps
JOHN-If I were to go the laptop way I’d definitely be looking at a way to set up computer permanently although $435 for Mobile Desk unit looks great but pricey to me. I look forward to hearing how you go finding your way around OziExplorer. Which mapping software had you been using previously? Are you buying OziExplorer for any reason in particular or did you not already have moving map software (main reason I can see for purchasing with this type of software)?
One other thing, what’s a tablet computer? Silly question maybe but I haven’t a clue!
I think I have much to learn on this topic. Appreciate everybody’s advice.
Thanks again,
Matt
Reply By: Member - Anni M (SA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 10:25
Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 10:25
Hi Matt,
I know you've had heaps of replies, but I couldn't resist putting in my 2 cents worth. We have just come back from 6 months away, much of it on rough dirt road. We use an iPaq connected to our GPS, with the maps downloaded with Oziexplorer CE. We were told that the iPaq was not robust enough for this, however, it hasn't missed a beat. We do keep the dust out of the car pretty
well, and the iPaq sits in a cradle mounted on the dash, so it doesn't get beaten up by those corrugations. I do much of the navigating, and honestly don't really need moving maps, but it is good to be able to see some feature in the landscape and just look at the iPaq to identify what we are seeing.
Happy travels
Anni