diff breathers

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 18:56
ThreadID: 17249 Views:2128 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
Heres a quick and easy question someone might want to answer while I'm trapped at work on a Saturday evening. I could probably answer it by buying a manual but I haven't got there yet!
Where do the diff breathers run to in standard form on a gq???

Reply By: Member - Bigbear - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:34

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:34
Back joins front and then up inside L fromt mudguard.
Pretty easy.
AnswerID: 81357

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:54

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:54
They must have skimped out on the GU then.......I can't recall where the diff breathers were on my GQ, but the GU came with the rear one simply going from the diff to the chassis cross member above it. I have installed a new one which goes up into the top of the engine bay.
FollowupID: 340586

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 06:49

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 06:49
Roachie,
I thought that the Nissan GQ and GU had 3 pipes ( 1from front diff,1 from gear box 1 from rear diff) all running up to the inner guard on the passenger side inner guard. It is hard to see as it is tucked in behind some other junk not far from the firewall. They are 3 dark green pipes about 6mm going through a rubber groumit.
It would be a pitty if Nissan has dropped doing that on there Patrols, it was the only good thing about them.

FollowupID: 340626

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 10:33

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 10:33
G'day Wayne,
You're right and wrong at the same time ol' mate......

There are 3 tubes venting out into the left side inner guard, but they come from,,,(1) front diff, (2) gearbox, (3) transfer case.

I did the diff breathers on my GU with a Pirahna Kit....the rear diff breather was definitley vented to the rear chassis cross member and I think the GQs were probably the same. Truckster would know....

Cya mate.
FollowupID: 340643

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 15:36

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 15:36
Roachie,
Nissan were so close to being the perfect 4WD, if only they extended the rear diff breather up to the engine bay. I might have brought one instead of the block of flats ( read troopy ) thay I have now.

FollowupID: 340659

Reply By: rihearn - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:14

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:14
Thanks for the answer. That should be enough for most river crossings shouldn't it?
AnswerID: 81379

Reply By: duncs - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:27

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:27
rihearn,

You are right, it should be enough for "most" river crossings but I have known cars with the standard breather to injest water. The other problem is that they can block up with gunk (technical term) and not actually breath. Also if the car is an older GQ they can perish or crack and suck water. My 89 model suffered that way, although it was spotted before it caused a problem.

If you decide to upgrade them, the rear ones can be easily extended up inside the rear bodywork, virtually to the roof if you want, by running a hose into the guard behind the rear wheel (left side is easiest) and just pushing it up, you can reach into the guard from the luggage are and feed the hose up behind the side window and ito the roof if you want to go that far.

Similarly the front one can be fed up inside the windscreen pillar. Pretty extreme but I have seen it done.

AnswerID: 81385

Reply By: trolute - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:47

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:47
GU ute only has rear one going into chassis cross member.

A good suggestion that I have come across (and done) is to run them all up under the bonnect, and put some cheap fuel filters (petrol type filters) on the ends.

this way, they are never clogged.

TrolUte
AnswerID: 81412