GU Engine lack of power

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:02
ThreadID: 17250 Views:2299 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Well just got back from 7 weeks travelling to Cape York and back. Won't bother with that again but thats another story. I know there are numerous forum items on this topic but I would like to converse with other Nissan owners who have done something about the take of power of the 3lt turbo. Mine was brand new before I left for the Cape and I come back very unimpressed with the take off and low end power of the engine. If you have fixed this problem or started to could you email me on algee1@bigpond.com that way we wont choke up the system.

Many Thanks

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:51

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 19:51
G'day mate,
Could be that because it is brand new it wasn't even run in yet. I'm not sure whether it applies to the 3L as well, but my 4.2L did not start to free up til it had done around 35,000klicks.
As far as extra power is concerned, a mate of mine has a 3L and all his enquiries about getting a bit more power have been answered .....get a "D-tronic" or "Tunit" etc. The one good thing about electronicly governed motors is that you can get one of these little black boxes relatively cheap ($1,500-) and it re-maps your ECU (computer) to maximise it's potential output.
Good luck...
AnswerID: 81358

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 12:54

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 12:54
Hi Roachie,

Was that a very similair rig to your's I saw on the back page of 4WD Monthly's current issue !!!!!!!

I look forward to reading about it next month ;)

FollowupID: 340656

Reply By: Mudguard - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:15

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:15
G,Day Algee, Todays age of 4wds are factory tuned for a compromise for city driving,Aust Diesel standards, & maybe u might want to do a little offroad stuff? U have 2 make them into a 4wd :Snorkle-more air in
Larger exhaust -more air out
Chip it - more when & where u want it
Fuel filter-more clean stuff
Suspension-more up & down
and the list gets longer!
AnswerID: 81381

Reply By: Tim (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 22:19

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 22:19
Algee
I two have a GU111 3 ltr and found the same problem while off road. I found it hard to keep the revs up while climbing hills and ended up in low 1st most of the time. I am running 285/75/16 Mud terrains which also don`t help with take off, but am still contemplating putting in a d-tronic without the SHMBO knowing too much.
Have heard many good reports on d-tronics but depends if you have the cash.
The other problem is i reackon the clutches won`t last long because i seem to ride it alot more when the revs die off so the turbo is back at power
Cheers Tim
AnswerID: 81390

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 12:51

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 12:51
Hi Algee,

I have the Dtronic fitted to my 3.0TD (at 5,000kms) and am very impressed with it. Also, I felt a noticeable improvement in general power after 20,000kms. The difference with the Dtronic is particualrly notiable at low revs. For example corners that used to be 2nd gear are now taken in 3rd. When freeway driving in peak hour, I will lug the engine down to ~900 rpm in third and smoothly accelerate from there.

I regularly tow my 1.6T offroad van and takeoffs are much better, basically you no longer need to hold hi revs and slip the clutch. The Dtronic website quotes max torque of 420Nm at 2000 rpm and you now have the previous max 354Nm at ~1300rpm, significantly lower down in the rev range. I haven't put my vehicle on a dyno, but seat of the pants driving certainly seems to confirm the figures.

The most telling difference for me is that I can now back my van up my drive in low range. Previously I either had to slip the clutch or reverse too fast.

AnswerID: 81427

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 00:11

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 00:11
Captain,
How are those Firestone airbags going? Any good/bad things to report? Haven't seen an update so thought I would ask.
Rolande
FollowupID: 340707

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:34

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:34
Hi Rolande,

The airbags are great, certainly level the vehicle up when the vans on the back. I leave 5 psi in them normally and don't even know they are there. When towing I use between 30-40 psi depending on the load. Most impressed and thoroughly recommend them.

FollowupID: 340738

Follow Up By: Mick - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 11:11

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 11:11
Hello CAPTAIN!!
i should get off the drugs?
Sorry to exagerate 10 times more. Do you have to take everything so serious.
Im sorry im not an expert like you, guess ill just have to get back to what ive don for my whole life, being a diesel mechanic.
Guess the 3 litre didnt have enough grunt for you, maybe thats why you've modified the computer by fitting an aftermarket chip.
Enough slaying, keep travelling.
FollowupID: 340894

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:11

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:11
Hi Mick,

Good point, I shouldn't take everything so literal. I suppose I just get frustrated at the sheer amount of @%^$ thrown at the 3.0TD that I get on my soap box and go off!!! Have tried to bite my tongue before, but keep falling into the same trap ;)

Your point about low torque at low revs is perhaps THE most valid point about the shortcomings of the 3.0TD and is exactly why I fitted a Dtronic (top end power was always fine, now just better). No vehicle or engine is perfect and all are a compromise in some way.

Now where can I get those happy pills ;)

FollowupID: 340916

Follow Up By: Mick - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:20

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:20
No worries.
I have had bad experience with the 3ltr, my fathers had a faulty air sensor, and then had a 5th gear failure that nissan fixed outside the warranty period.
I have a GU ute that im happy with, and soon my father will upgrade to the new model 4.2 since he lost power in the 3ltr crossing the great sandy desert and had to limp home only to find a sensor caused all the problems.
Being a diesel mechanic, i prefer to stick with something i can trust and fix on the roadside without plugging a computer in to find a problem.
FollowupID: 340921

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 14:46

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 14:46
Hi Mick,

I have heard that happen on many air flow sensors, did your father's 3.0TD have an aftermarket airfilter? Also, my understanding of the 5th gear failure was common to all GU models, not just the 3.0TD but as thats 70% of sales it shows up as a 3.0TD problem (all resolved now with longer output shaft - or so I believe!!!).

But understand once bitten twice shy about the 3.0TD. Also fully understand the lack of roadside fix ability with the 3.0TD. Even travelling with a laptop will only perhaps identify the problem, still need the faulty sensor (or whatever) to fix.

The reliability of the old 4.2 is well proven, however, the new TD6 4.2TD has EGR and electronic control of the fuel injection pump, whether it has the same reliability of the old 4.2 is yet to be seen (already reports of EGR gumming - common fix is to bypass).

Unfortunately I think all engines will shortly require a laptop and full workshop for even basic servicing. While engine electronics have come a long way, they are still not perfect and certainly have shortcomings out in the bush. But with the price of diesel on a one way trip, manufacturers are going to wring every last drop of performance and economy out of engines and this will mean even more sensors.

While i loved my 1HZ 80, the performance of the 3.0TD certainly makes me never regret changing over. But i would dearly like the proven track record of reliability behind the 3.0TD that the 4.2 has.

FollowupID: 340933

Reply By: Mick - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 08:26

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 08:26
The engines basically too small to carry such a big load around, and the way they measure the ENORMOUS power from the engine is at the max rpm, not the min rpm.
A 4.2 has basically 10 times more torque on take off compared to the 3ltr, but slightly lower power up top, much better for big camping loads!!
AnswerID: 81503

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:47

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:47
I think you need to get off the drugs Mick!!! To quote a figure of 10 times more torque at idle is just plain wrong. And what is your goble-de-goob about power measured at max rpm, not min rpm??? These figures are quoted WITH the rpm, ie max torque is at 2000rpm.

As for 3 litrs not being big enough, if you have a size complex then maybe your right. But if your more concerned about engine design like dual overhead cams, 4 valves per cyclinder, common rail fuel injection, high pressure fuel pump etc... then maybe you can start to understand why a 3 litre engine can produce such high power outputs AND get significantly better fuel economy.

I have owned both a 4.2 diesel and a 3.0TD and there is NO comparison between the two. At idle, the 4.2 definetly has the edge, that is not in question, but it is only by a small degree, nothing like the 10 times you have plucked from the air. Once above idle (say 1,000rpm) the 3.0TD is so far in front its embarrisingly funny!

The 3.0TD is a high tech engine and as such relies on many sensors to get the high performance. The 4.2 is an old technology engine, but certainly has a proven reliability track record, something that the early series II 3.0TD cannot claim!

FollowupID: 340740

Reply By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:42

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:42
What was the drama with Cape York?? I was there last year and doubt I'd go back again either, maybe for the same reasons.
AnswerID: 81512

Follow Up By: Member - Algee (NSW) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 11:01

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 11:01
Not what we expexted. We have done most of Aussie and would go back to most places but the Cape is just lacking. The Corrigations are the worst. Weipa is nothing but a minning town that loves fishermen. The behaviour and language in the Weipa caravan park was woeful, (and thats from a ex sailor). The $88 to cross the Jardine is a joke. The ferry was broke so we, the tourists, had to pull ourselves back and forwards across the river. Just not happy Jan.

FollowupID: 340741

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 11:06

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 11:06
Agree, not what we expected either. Rubbish and crap everywere, dramas with the locals, corrigations etc. Couldn't believe how much money is wasted in certain areas and then trashed. There was some nice scenery but I think it's more the marketed dream that people keep people heading up there.
FollowupID: 340743