LC 80-100

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 19:21
ThreadID: 17269 Views:2544 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Hey all,
I posted a few weeks back about a 80 series i was looking at for the right price.Well it didnt happen,the guys son brought it.
So im still lookin.Cant seem to find a low km 80 series,gettin to old i guess.
Been looking at 100 series td and need to do a bank job to afford one.
So dare i say it, what the petrol like?

Stu

Reply By: Mike-TS - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:11

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:11
Stu,

As per my earlier post, I went through the same thing ages ago. If the 4WD was only for me I would get manual 4.2 diesel 100 series. However (here's the compromise we make in life), the wife didn't want one so I got a 100 series GXL twin cam automatic. A$35,000, 68,000kms, Toyoto bullbar, towbar and in great condition. It had steel wheels as well, which is what I wanted. In fact I can almost guarantee she-who-must-be-obeyed would fill the diesel up with petrol anyway so I went the less risk option!!

It uses petrol like it is going out of fashion!!! Especially the way the wife drives - two throttle positions 1=on, 2=off! However, we went round Merriden way a few weeks ago and it did 17l/100km - not too bad.

I've since put ARB roof rack on, black duck seat covers, mounted my CB (AM/FM), quick release sand aerial and GPS. I'm saving for a cargo barrier.

It really looks the part. Best of all we can cram everything in a go camping for a weekend.

Just do the sums:

Petrol costs = A$35,000 + (0.20 litres/km x km x $/litre) + 10,000 km service

Deisel costs = A$42,000 + (0.12 litres/km x km x $/litre) + 5,000 service

It takes about 100,000 kms before the diesel beats the petrol in total costs. I only wanted diesel because I like the low down engine grunt. I'm not into performance 4WD's!

Now do the same for a TD v the A$35,000 twin cam petrol!!! It takes more than 450,000km before the TD is in front in costs!! As I swap vehicles every 50,000-75,000+/- I'll never lose out in costs!

Get a good GXL Petrol and live with the daily petrol costs knowing that you are miles in front in terms of costs - put the rest of the difference in costs into your mortgage and you'll save yourself even more money!!

For my next one I'll look for a GXL V8 5 speed rigid axle (if they exist!) - I'll wait until they are 4 years old.

Last thought, don't bother with an 80 series. They are way out of date not and the 100 is much more refined. My mate has an 80 twin cam 4.5L and wishes he had got a 100 series.

AnswerID: 81475

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 23:39

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 23:39
Yeah I'd like a diesel fourby too but have been looking at prices of wagons to replace my Rodeo. Not for a year or so yet though but it doesn't hurt to look.

I've noticed the petrols are cheaper to buy by a reasonable amount. They are also cheaper to service and repair from what I've seen.

I still don't know which way I'll go though. Probably won't until I buy it either.
FollowupID: 340705

Follow Up By: Stewbag - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 06:10

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 06:10
Thanks for reply.

I drive a au ute for work which is getting about 18lt/100km(around town carry a fair load most of the time).
So the cruiser getting around the 20lt mark doesnt seem to bad.What do you think your lead footed crazed wife gets out of it? I tend to drive abit the same way.

How do you find the auto gearbox? Still Tossing up weather to buy auto or manual.

Stu
FollowupID: 340713

Follow Up By: Mike-TS - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 22:47

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 22:47
I actually get 17 l/100 km on long runs and just over 20 l/100km around town so I'm happy!
FollowupID: 341319

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 00:00

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 00:00
The rigid axle 105 series is an 80 chassis on a 100 body...so u r buying an outdated 100 if you are looking for a rigid axle front end...lol
All the t/d and v8 cruisers are independant, only the std diesel is rigid now..
AnswerID: 81486

Follow Up By: ChrisB - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 12:45

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 12:45
Dozer,

There is also the GXL 105 series. Only comes in manual, hasn't got a turbo, has rigid front axel and constant 4WD, but with the same interior as the V8 and turbo IFS models.

Best of everything.

FollowupID: 340757

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 08:25

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 08:25
nothing wrong with the 80 Series but most petrol jobs probably getting a bit long in the tooth. Cheap rebuild though.
Of course not much wrong with 100 Series either but you'll pick up a heavily modified 80 series for a good price these days
AnswerID: 81502

Reply By: 80scruiser - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:11

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:11
Gday Stewbag
Grab a copy of Just 4X4 mag.
In there is an 80 series diesel GXL for sale for $8999.00. High km and engine trouble. You can buy brand new 1hz diesel engines from a toyota dealer out of the same mag for $6000.00.
Depends on the rest of the car, sounds good.
Also in same mag is 100 series petrol with dual gas tank conversion for around 35K.
That leaves you with both original fuel tanks and cheaper gas.
I have a customer with this conversion and looks great.
Best of luck
Scott
AnswerID: 81523

Follow Up By: Stewbag - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 12:19

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 12:19
Interesting idea but how about driveline and other bits,they would probably be pretty sad to.I would be worried about the cost of rebuilding it.

Stu
FollowupID: 340751

Reply By: Stewbag - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 12:37

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 12:37
Just test drove a 100 series 2000 model auto petrol.I dont know if it`s the car its self or if they are all the same.
1.Do the brake rotors all seem slightly out of round?
2.Suspension felt unstable,like pitch poling front to back.Worn shocks?
3.Highway cruising it was all over the shop,taking amount amount of steering input to stay in a straight line,is that normal?(it did have slightly larger than std tires)
4.Power seemed to be not that impressive(i drove a manual 3 td patrol on the weekend and i think it would beat it)does the auto kill performance?

At the moment i prefer the 3 lt patrol,apart from the slightly cramped driving posi.

Stu
AnswerID: 81549

Reply By: stitch - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 02:19

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 02:19
G'day,
For $16k, I grabbed a '91 80 series Turbo Diesel with 300,000 km and good service history, ARB bullbar, brush bars and side steps, Warn winch, IPF spotties, ARB air lockers front n rear, Safari snorkel and intercooler kit, duel battery setup, Kaymar rear bar with wheel carrier, Hi lift kit, new A/T tyres, sunroof, Roof rack, CD stacker, Turbo timer, and a few other extras. I average 12.4L/100km and with continuing services the engine should give me another 300,000km of life. I wasn't going to let the Km's worry me as these vehicles are built to last. I only had to replace the timing belt and renew the front axle seals. I have had it for 6 months and have'nt regretted getting it once. Last week, I dragged a mates 3 tonne truck out of sand with it using a snatch strap. I feel the 100 series are not as heavy duty as the 80 series were. Just my opinion anyway.
Mark.
AnswerID: 81672