New 80 series

Submitted: Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 11:42
ThreadID: 17286 Views:2373 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
G'day All,

Well finally it looks as though I'm getting the new fourbie. Just whacked a deposit down on an 80 series. was looking at spending between $15K and $18K and did my usual trick of blowing my budget by $2K. Not to worry though I think it is worth it.

After resigning myself to getting a GQ (coz cruisers are too expensive) I looked at a 1992 GQ TD42 with about 170000Kms on it. The car yard wanted $20K. The crusier is a 1997 standard, 4.2 diesel with 159000kms and is costing me just over $20K. This is a private sale.

I'm currently getting an RAA check done. IS there anything else I should be looking for with this vehicle? It seems to be in very good nick. I've heard good things about the 80's and I'm sure it's a great vehicle, but just wanted to know if there is anything else I should look for that the RAA are likely to overlook.

JOno

Reply By: Davoe - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 12:02

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 12:02
perhaps run it to a mechanic for a compression test and also ask the raa what otherchecks they dont do to with diesal 4bys coz I am fairly sure the check they give is petrol car oriented and not suited to diesal 4bys
AnswerID: 81541

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:04

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:04
Sounds like a good truck for the price mate!

Don't know what RAA is, assuming like RACQ in QLD.

Good to get the best inspection, but be ware of the silly things they include like stiff window winder, perishing steering grip, worn accelerater pedal, pulled thread in seat etc. Great for finding things you didn't know about. Look over the really minor things and look for rust, accident damage, and mechanical reports to the detriment of the vehicle.

Good luck mate, you'll have to become a member and post a photo of the new beast!

Chris.
AnswerID: 81565

Reply By: Skinny- Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:16

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:16
Hi Jono, sound great. Service history is the key and see if you can see if has been used on short trips around town alot which diesel hate or longer trip.

Servicing a diesel is it's life. I have a 95 model standard and grease and oil and filter it myself every 5oookm or less and change diff and other oils every 10-15oookm.I would not like to buy over 150,000 unless I new it was serviced. If serviced I would buy one with 200,000 or more no worries.

Just make sure it was not a mine truck first as they are given a hiding.

Sounds a great truck at a great price.

Skinny
AnswerID: 81570

Reply By: JonnoC - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:17

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:17
Thanks Guys,

Yes as soon as the new beast is finalised, I will be joining up. Thanks for the advice. Yes, RAA would be the SA equivalent of RAQC. The RAA inspection mob sound like they do a fairly comprehensive inspection. Whilst they don't do the full blown compresion test, they have informed me that they do a "cranking amp test", where they crank it over and test the current drawn from the starter motor. If one or more cylinders have low compresion, the starter motor with draw less current.

Seems logical to me.

Jono
AnswerID: 81571

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:51

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:51
Hi JonnoC:

Good choice! I have a standard 91 model diesel and love it.

Few little quirks that you will pick up a you go.

1. Gearbox can be a bit notchy. I double shuffle a lot (out of habit) and have no trouble.

2. Headlights, esp high beam are pretty useless. Look at some form of upgrade if you want bright lights. I am just saving now for a Pirahna wiring loom to brighten things up a bit. Once that is in I will probably fit some Hella inserts and some high wattage globes. The standard wiring won't handle the high watt globes.

3. If you decide to go after some extra bits, keep an eye on eBay. I have optioned my thing up for next to nothing by watching it. Things like steel bullbar, rear wheel carrier, roof rack, storage drawers etc .... a veritable gold mine at times.

4. If it is a diesel, keep it regularly serviced. Even though it can be a pain, it will keep going and going. Mine now has 250,000km, blows no smoke, and as far as I can tell from its service history, has not had anything major done to it in that time.

Finally - have fun. They are almost indestructible.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 81587

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 19:25

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 19:25
Gday Jonno
These are the better 80's being the last of the bunch, with all the quirks ironed out...check out www.lcool.org for technical advice....there is no real problem with this model, other than the viscous fan loosing its cooling ability (oil) i would be looking for log books, or receipts of work done to motor, and also checking it out for accident damage to the front end.
Best to take it to a service centre that specialises in outback vehicle prep, or if you know a mechanic that owns one...he will be a good source of inspection.
159 sounds good for a 7 yr old cruiser....my friends just clicked over 300k, 91 hj80, still original clutch.
AnswerID: 81611

Follow Up By: JonnoC - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 12:08

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 12:08
Thanks all,

You wouldn't believe it. I hesitated and decided to get the RAA check done. After work I strolled down to the RAA office thinking, great I'llget this formality over and buy the vehicle. CAn you imagine how my jaw dropped when they told me it was a dog? The thing looked soooo good to me. Fairly recent, low K's, imaculate interior and it looked good outside as well.

Apparently it had been in one or more of the following: side impact accident, rollover, exposed to extreme 4WD conditions. The tracking and wheel base was out and there was evidence of fairly poor patch up jobs on the roof and side panels.

A trap for young players. I think the lesson I learnt was to take my time, books and service history mean everything (no matter how young the car is, how low the km's or how good it looks).

Back to the drawing board. Have a few GQs to check out, as most of the 80s are out of reach.

Jono
FollowupID: 340906