Power to a light mounted on the rear tyre carrier

Submitted: Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:33
ThreadID: 17295 Views:2624 Replies:3 FollowUps:12
G'day All

I find myself being lazy now that I uses this forum, in the past I would have looked before asking, now i ask before looking... I am looking at mounting a light onto the spare wheel carrier of my Jackaroo, just wondering where you draw the power from? Is there anything at the back that would have contant power and how do most people run the wires onto the door?? Or do I have to run power from the front and then run the wires through where the wire goes for the back wiper?

Ad

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:48

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:48
Any light on the rear of the car to be legal must wire into the reversing lights. So theres your power too...

Drill a hole in the back door, and use a rubber grommet... Otherway is run wire under the door rubber, but it will get squashed in the end...

Wouldnt you want a switch on the dash for it anyway? So running from Aux battery wouldnt be an issue..
AnswerID: 81586

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:07

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:07
Cheers Truckster, I was going to put a switch on the console, but was hunting for other ideas. Thanks for the legal path, thats not going to happen..
Adam
FollowupID: 340792

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:14

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:14
As an aside, why would you want the switch on the console? Wouldn't it be better to have it at the rear somewhere. Saves walking to the front to switch it on and off, when the light is actually at the rear.

I have a 100W spot light attached to the rear of my roof rack with a switch in the cargo bay. The wire is connected to another full time power cable that is attached to the second battery. The wire then feeds up through the door rubber and runs up and out the top of the door. It can also be disconnected from the roof rack end in case the roof rack is taken off.

Gives off heaps of light when required for dinner prep/eating, then gets switched off. Now all I need to do is get a yellow cover for it to keep all the bugs away at night when it is on.

FollowupID: 340795

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:18

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:18
Hey Glenn

Thanks for that, I like the connector/discontect idea. Was going ot have a switch at the back as well. Was thinking that I would use the one in the front to switch a relay to feed power to the back. That way i could be sure it was off from the front.. All ideas at this stage, thanks heaps
Ad
FollowupID: 340798

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:19

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:19
"why would you want the switch on the console?"
when some @sshole high beams you, you can inform them kindly to dip their lights.. Trust me it is very very effective.
FollowupID: 340799

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:21

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:21
and thats why its not going to be conected to reversing light...
FollowupID: 340800

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:21

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:21
Bloody good idea Truckster...hadnt even thought of that...I may need to do some rewiring now...hahahahaha

FollowupID: 340801

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:24

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:24
Why dont you want it connected to the reversing light? Dont you want to see behind you when reversing? Isnt that the main point of it?
FollowupID: 340802

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:27

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:27
Main point is for vision when stationary, like filleting fish at night and setting up. Hadn't thought of using is for reversing... Do you have it on your reversing lights and then an override switch??
FollowupID: 340803

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:09

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:09
I use a 3 position switch on mine.

up=on
down=on
middle=off

That way I can have it on with the reverse lights or on all the time or off all the time.

The switch is on the dash. Also the switch is on the RHS of the steering column so I can easily switch it on/off through the open window from outside the ute.
FollowupID: 340815

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:33

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:33
Cheers Ute mad

I have space on the RHS, I always love when an easy task ends up huge and I have to rip out half of the inside of cabin out...haha

thank you

Adam
FollowupID: 340820

Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:35

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:35
Crazie,

I mounted my rear light to my small door because I need to carry extra fuel so I built a jerry can holder for the back of the small door and built a rear light into the same assembly. The small door is almost exactly the same width as a jerry can so its a great place to store extra fuel or water. My light just telescopes up above the jerry can. (can supply photos and lots of info if required).

Then, I ran a good cable from the aux battery down to rear right hand side for fridge power. I also ran a small cable from my console mounted 'bleepon highbeam' switch to the same spot and used a relay to source power from my fridge feed to my light upon command from afore mentioned switch. I have a 2nd switch next to my fridge power outlet in parallel to the console switch. This allows me to operate the rear light while driving (handy for reverse) or from the back of the vehicle (handy for camping).

There are cables and grommet from the body to the small door to carry the number plate light cables etc so I just followed them.

There is nowhere to source good power from in the back of Jacks so you will need to run your own.

Hope that makes sense & let me know if you need more info.

AnswerID: 81625

Reply By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 00:21

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 00:21
I wired mine to the dash , I leave the rear switch on and can turn it on at will , I then turn it on at the camp site and can turn it off from the back , so i dont have to go back to the dash .
AnswerID: 81669

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 17:15

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 17:15
U rock.. :P
FollowupID: 340950

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:55

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:55
Thanks Eric

I will go down the track of doing the same.

cheers Adam
FollowupID: 342779