BLOODY mechanics!

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 10:58
ThreadID: 17348 Views:2673 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Bought a new fuel filter for the surf, thought I'd whack it in when I got home...... The last person to put a new fuel filter on was my (ex) mechanic. Ok so 3 hours laters, the entire mounting assembly removed and in the vice, holes, tears, dents, no paint left on the filter, two filter removal tools, a big screwdriver and an even bigger hammer and a very frustrated Jeff I got the old one off. Before I stripped all the paint off it I noticed it had written on the side of it "Tighten 2.5 turns by hand". Yeah he obviously followed those instructions!!!!!
Boy these idiots give the whoopsies!

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 11:25

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 11:25
Ahhhh...fuel filters. I reckon they seize on as opposed to being overtightened. I've did my changes on the GQ and did the 2 1/2 turns etc, and each time I went back to change, it'd be toight!

A trick I was taught in the GQ was to undo the entire cast bracket and flip upside down, tighten again and use a smaller oil filter remover as the fuel filter was slightly smaller than the oil filters. Perform the opposite when putting back on, write date of change and kilometers when change required in nikko and refit.

At least you can do your own from now on and save some $$$!

Chris.
AnswerID: 81890

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:17

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:17
Yeah I had to take the cast bracket out and put it in the vice, I was actually worried I was going to break the cast!
The filter in the surf (I think it's the same as the LC) is pretty damn big so my normal car oil filter tools were quite fine size wise for it, however it was only the screw driver and hammer than saved the day. Ripped around half the filter before it came off though!! Thought I was going to be going down the reckers today to get another fillter bracket and assembly, I really thought she was not comming off! I still can't believe the fillter tool actually punctured the filter, I was leaning on it with all my 110kgs and lifted my feet off the floor jumping up and down on the tool. Once the filter tool put a hole it it though I just grabbed the biggest screw driver in the tool box and hammerd it right through the other side but it was still just ripping the metal walls instead of comming loose.
FollowupID: 341043

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:24

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:24
Mate, that's a funny story...I know you musta been ready to snap something/someone at the time however!

Know exactly where your coming from. Same as when you do the wheel nuts up, go to change to comp tyres and find that centrifugal force has tightened them beyond belief. 3 burst blood vessels later, you move onto the next nut...
FollowupID: 341046

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:30

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:30
LOL mate I tell you what I was fkn happy when it started to turn, bloody hell smile from ear to ear! But yeah, there were a few colourfull words in the hours between popping the bonnet and startering her up again...
Specially the ones start with F and C together. :-P
FollowupID: 341049

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:36

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:36
Fruit Cake?

FollowupID: 341050

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:51

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:51
RATFLMAO.
Yeah, that's it. Normally it starts with "YOU!!" and then "Fruit Cake".
FollowupID: 341056

Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 11:45

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 11:45
Better than what we had on our work utes. One of the F-250s was parked in my driveway and I noticed oil on the driveway when I moved it. So I look underneath and the whole under of the motor and front suspension stuff was covered in oil. So I had a poke around and found that it came from the oil filter area. I grabbed the filter itself and found it so loose I could easily spin it by hand. It was on its way to spewing all 15 litres of oil out. Gotta love that Ford service.
AnswerID: 81893

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:23

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:23
Bloody dealers, like my previous post about toyota changing my timing belt and not doing the bolts back up on the timing cover.
Oh yeah and to whoever reckons you need to remove the drive belts from the surf to change the timming belt, I've got a .PDF file from the toyota service manual for the 1kz-te motor that has instructions and illustrations of how to change it without removing the drive belts if you want a copy. ( I was reading the manual last night to see if I'd misssed somthing obvious with the removal of the filter, but nope just tight).
There apears to be a cam drive at the top of the motor called "cam1" and another "cam2" at the bottom. The bottom one runs the drive belts, water pump, fan and alternator the top one runs the timming belt and the vacume pump runs off the bottom timming gear (or so it seems in the picutre). Strange but true, got it here if you want it.
FollowupID: 341045

Follow Up By: Gypsymum - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 15:08

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 15:08

After reading your post I had to tell you this one. About a year ago the hubby and I were driving past a Toyota Dealership and about another 100 metres up the road we came across one of their workers standing on the side of the road with a pretty new 100 series with 3 wheels and one sitting next to him on the kerb. He was on his mobile going absolutely insane at someone not that we blamed him. It turned out they had just serviced the vehicle and they hadn't tightened the wheelnuts (oops). We think there was going to be one unhappy customer as the brakes and hubs and everything were mashed up pretty bad. Just thought I would let you know that one

Regards Sasha
FollowupID: 341914

Reply By: 80scruiser - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:34

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:34
As a workshop owner I come across this all the time especially when vehicles have been back to the dealer(thats the dealers that actually check/replace filters)
Wheel nuts are another good example. We are always machining disc rotors after vehicles have been for tyres.
We use a torque extension bar on our rattle guns so you can't tighten them past 110nm or about 80 ft/lb. Never had a problem since I bought these about 5 years ago.
Nearly all diesel fuel filters end up tight. Maybe because moisture can sit on top of the filter and dry out the outside of the seal or maybe the fuel shrinks the seal a bit and binds it up. Who knows. I take all filters off with the bracket and put them in the vice and Yes we swing off them as well. We mainly use an oil filter rench which adapts to a ratchet or a strap that adapts to a breaker bar.

Can sympathise.
Could be worse. Try doing a V6 4Runner fuel filter. Now they are fun and games.

AnswerID: 81903

Reply By: Bundyman - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:44

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:44
Jeff,

I'd recommend doing the same as you would with an oil filter - run a film of engine oil over the rubber gasket befroe doing it up by hand. I've never had a drama - but I know what you mean. I went to take the wheels off a new second hand vehicle I bought years ago to check the brakes and 3 mates and 2 tyre shops later I finally had all the wheel nuts loose. Would not have been good in the middle of whoop whoop!!

Hughesy
AnswerID: 81904

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:03

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:03
Cool, yeah I did that, ran some oil over the seals, I might just loosen it and re-ighten every 5000kms when I do the oil changes...
FollowupID: 341062

Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:10

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:10
Jeff,

Have you tried the Lucas CAV filter system. About $100 - $140 inittially and about $8 - $10 for replacement filters after that and a hell of a lot easier to remove.

Karl
AnswerID: 81945

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:34

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:34
Karl, I've heard of them on the forum but never looked for them, where do you get them from?
FollowupID: 341103

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 08:05

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 08:05
4 WD Systems advertise them in 4 WD Monthly, also I believe that TJM (Megastores) sell them. They are in O'Connor - South St and Osbourne Park. I am not sure about ARB.
FollowupID: 341185

Reply By: Patroleum - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:56

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:56
Jeff M,

Maybe an apology to your mechanic now you understand what happened

AnswerID: 81985

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:42

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:42
Nup, there's plenty of other things I've had to fix that he's screwed up. Oil leaks, tranmission oil leaks, water leaks from his dody workship not to mention oil all over the motor after a simple oil change. Screws missing, the list goes on.
FollowupID: 341217

Reply By: duncs - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:02

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:02
I know it doesn't help now but the best filter spanner i have ever used is a piece of old seat belt.

Wrap it around the body of the filter at least 3 times, more if the thing is really tight, making sure that when you pull on the tail it spins the filter off not on. Never had a filter I couldn't move.

Having said that the lucas is the go.

AnswerID: 81996