Member - Jeff M (WA)
Well it's all go this weekend then! :-)
My Firestone Air Coilrite Poly Bags and Firestone Air
Tank arrived from America just a couple of minutes ago, NOW THAT'S SERVICE!
For $200 I got a brand new air
tank, the poly airbag style kit for the surf and air freight. In fact dare say it, it was quicker and easier than driving into ozy
park and stuffng around with a local supplier and deffinatally a LOT cheaper.
All came in a retail box, all the bits and instructions, so I'll let you know how it goes once I get a chance to whack it all in. Ooo, I love new toys! :-))))
David and Michelle, perhaps they are a good target for advertising on the
forum as it seems a few of us have had good dealings with them so far.
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:09
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:09
Oh yeah, sorry, they came from www.trucksprings.com
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:16
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:16
What size
tank did you get.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:28
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:28
Just a bubby 2L
tank, it was only $20 US or there abouts! I've already got the system running on a pressure switch, it just charges the lines, all I have to do it bolt this
tank in next to the compressor and run the hose in/out and she's done!. Then my air horns will be very cool! LOL
Mainly just for future prospects of running air lockers and for the occasional blast of air for blowing out air filters on the road etc. Also means while your putting your valve caps back on and checking tyre pressures, taking off the next one the compressors at least doing somthing constructive instead of just blowing the air out the end of the nozzle.
Reply By: vuduguru - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:21
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:21
Jeff,
Very interesting, keep us posted. Coils or leaves? besides price how to they compare to aussie units eg Poly air? Guessing you haven't taken this lightly.
Regards Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:32
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:32
AU$99 for the kit plus postage which was about AU$65 including sending the
tank and that was express, took a week to get it to me instead of 2 months.
Prices around
Perth for Poly Air Bag's ranged from $330 to $380.
Mate if these go in alright and work good like I've heard they do, it's the only way to go IMHO.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:35
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:35
Oh sorry, Coil springs.
Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:35
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:35
I ordered a bag kit only for the Jack - $69 US plus $40 US for postage here.....about $155 Aus as I see it ... due soon.....compares to Polyair at $315 local (supply only).
Reply By: RussellV - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:02
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:02
Hi jeff
What warranty (if any) would they come with?? Would the local installers look at it if there was a problem I wonder? Excellent pricing though -
well and truly ahead!
Russ
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:20
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:20
Warranty - you probally wouldn't bother with as the freight is half the cost, however you can buy single replacment bags for about $30 US if need be.
Local installers!??!! Bah Humbug! As if I'd take it to them anyway.
Have you heard about the new product WA 4WD shops now have?
It's called an entry fee, you pay $10 just walk in there! But seriously, it's two thick plastic bags, some air hose and two air fittings that you screw into the bumper. There's not that much to it. If I needed help with it a 4wd
shop would be the last place I'd go, in fact I'd probally come to this
forum first of all and would probally have the problem solved in 5 minutes!
And if for some really strange reason I had to take it to a
suspension place I'd offer to pay them to do whatever I needed doing and if they didn't want my cash I'd go elsewhere, I'm sure someone would happily take it.
Reply By: RussellV - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:26
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:26
Now that you put it like that - too easy! Can't believe the fourby shops they reckon they've got all the answers so its good to see there's finally some choice at and at a reasonable price too! Please keep us informed of how they go!
Russ
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:32
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:32
No worries, Russ. My mate's got a spring compressor and is comming around for a few drinks on saturday night, will whack them in then. (as long as the baby is still in mumy's tummy otherwise might be a little longer before they go in). :-)
Will let you all know how it goes.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:27
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:27
Hi Jeff,
Glad to see yours have arrived.
Mine have been in for several months now and work perfectly. I too am a very satisfied trucksprings.com customer. Cannot see ANY justification for the local supplier when they charge $330 for EXACTLY the same product (same box, part no. etc...). Don't mind reasonable markup but AUS$170 to your door does not even compare to $330 plus drive to pick up.
Have fun installing, just make sure you protect the airline from flying rocks and allow enough slack for
suspension travel. I mounted my valves inside the vehicle on my drawer system, makes sure nobody can "play" with the pressure.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:42
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:42
Hey how you doin Captain, yeah they look the part, bloody good idea of putting the valves inside, hand't though of that! Will look into that when installing.
Glad to here your're happy with yours. Looking forward to putting them in, since I put the 52L
water tank and homemade storage box in with a full
tank it's already looking a little lower than normal, loaded up for
camping would be terrible I reckon, at least these will sort it out.
Reply By: Member - Peter (York) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:12
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:12
Now you have nothing to stop you coming out with us again, the baby will ride saftly and all that extra baby gear will not weigh you down LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:44
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:44
Peter! How the bloody hell are you!? Havn't heard from you in ages, mate I can't wait for the next trip out with you guys!!
We are looking at anywhere between 3-6 months depending on how she goes before we take her seriously camping/4wding, however I might be able to squeese a trip or two in before that with the mother inlaw/baby sitter! :-)