6x6
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 14:44
Member - Jeff O (VIC)
I AM BUYING A 79 SERIES LAND CRUISER AND WISH TO CONVERT IT TO 6 WHEEL DRIVE .ANYONE OUT THERE KNOW THE BEST PEOPLE IN VIC TO DO THIS FOR ME?
THANKS
JEFF
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:12
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:12
Why?
Try
Rod McCormack Total 4wd center in Epping.
Sandy Bowman at Aust 4wd specialists
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:10
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:10
TRUKSTER
G'DAY.DUAL PURPOSE
FOR BUSINESS AND WILL BUILD A LIFT ON LIFT OFF CAMPER
I WILL GIVE YOUR CONTACTS A CALL
THANKS JEFF.O
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:33
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:33
Now, there are some getting around here in
Adelaide, with the
sign-writing "All Track" on the sides. Do you have All Track in Vic?
They do look mean.
Wolfie
Reply By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:12
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:12
WOLFIE
DON'T KNOW IF THEY ARE IN VICI. WILL TRY AND TRACK THEM DOWN VIA THE NET
THANKS
JEFF.O
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:59
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:59
LUKAZ
THANKS FOR YOUR HELP
JEFF.O
Reply By: Bundyman - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:19
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:19
Jeff,
Unless you need a new one for bussiness reasons I'd scout the govt auctions/4x4 Trader etc for a second hand one at half the value. Most haven't done that much work anyway and you won't have to cop the huge drop in value when you go to sell it.
Hughesy
Reply By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:49
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:49
HUGHSEY
THANKS, BUT I NEED TO GET A NEW ONE
JEFF.O
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 17:10
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 17:10
I've been thinking about doing a similar thing to my GU wagon....turning it into a 6 wheeler, dual cab.....
The one I saw in
Karumba recently and talked to the owner, was a 6x4 (ie: lazy axle only) and that conversion was done by "6 wheeler" in
Brisbane somewhere.....but it cost $19,000- just for the cut & shut, chassis extension, and a basic trayback. The bloke then spent another $3,000- on a aluminium box for the back, which had a steel frame supporting it.
If it's $19K for a lazy axle version, I'd hate to think how much extra it would be for a 3rd diff etc!!! But then again, you're not talking about a wagon either, so it maybe cheaper. I did also see a 75/78 series ute in Mt Isa that was a 6 wheeler, but couldn't tell whether it was a true 6x6.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 17:31
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 17:31
ROACHIE
GOT ONE PRICE IN. 19K FOR LAZY AXLE 6X4 WITH A GVM OF 5T.
33K FOR 6X6 WITH GVM 5.75T WITH TRAY LENGTH 3.1M OR 3.625
TRAY EXTRA. MORE IF YOU WANT LOCKING DIFFS.
REGARDS
JEFF.O
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:51
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:51
Struth, you'd have to be dead keen to pay that sort of money!!!
Good luck Jeff