Trailer LED lights
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:39
Truckster (Vic)
Well I'm out of hospital after 25 consecutive massive heart attacks that would each kill 40000000 normal men... the cause I asked the price at the 4b show of LED lights for a trailer... $194 EACH. (I was expecting at the most $30ea)
I thought he said $94 and thought he meant a pr, I said " Is that australian dollars? $94 Pr is a bit rich isnt it??"
The Hella man said "No, $194 and thats each mate, but they are good.."
my reply before crumbling to the ground in a heap "bet you dont sell many"
Hella man "...not one light so far this weekend"
Why on earth would you bother at that price.. I went with the beautiful Narva ones at ~$10ea at supercheap!
Anyone working for a trucking company that has a few sets spare for a slab? LMAO!!!
Im going to crawl back to my own little world where its safe...
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:51
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:51
You sure it was 40000000 men? That's pretty high... ;-)
They are great lights, but not that good. Stick with the $10.00 jobbies. Can you imagine what would happen if you broke one of them, you'd probably just self-implode!
Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:51
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:51
i agree i am setting up my trailer as a work trailer has to be registered new lights cable (7core ) plug the whole shebang about $40 i would have to take out a loan to get LEDs but they do look pretty
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:38
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:38
$800 in lights alone! Thats the best part of a locker!
Did the new wire and 7pin plug so both cars are the same too....
Registering it is next... still has Qld plates :D
Reply By: Member - Murray C (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:08
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:08
G'day Truckster,
Next time you are in the market for LED's try this site
http://www.ledautolamps.com
I found them to be very competitive and an excellent product.
Reply By: Bundyman - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:16
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:16
Truckster,
Ya not wrong mate. $194, thats 19 brand new sets of the old type - I doubt anyone would go thru that many in the life of a trailer. And I would suggest that millionares out there who do put them on would want to put a steel cage around them to stop them disappearing. We started putting them on our underground vehicles and already some tossers have cut the wires and taken em' home. Guess I'll have to see who starts driving around town with them on their roo shooting trucks. But at the end of the day its a bit like the HID spotlights. When Hella first put them on the market they were $2000 each!!! They're now less than a $1000 (that'd want to be able to vaporise roos for that much). Hope your current $10 jobbies last another 3 years and they'll probably only be $40 each by then.
Hughesy
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:36
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:36
Remembering that was each..
2x brake/tail light
2x turn signals.....
Nearly $800 in lights alone!
HID's still not worth a grand each!
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:18
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:18
Ah Ha........... it is all clear to me now. You were asking the other day about securing your trailer............ didn't know you were thinking of attaching the crown jewels to it though.
$194.00 Each..........
Give it a little while, like maybe a year or so..........
The price setting dreamers would have lost their jobs, the technology will have been licensed to DSE / Tandy,, you'll buy them for $32.49 @ pair along with a digital multi-meter & a rear view camera module, to plug into your $23.49 DVD Player with 5" TFT.
That won't be all........... Oh no..........
It will also have a small programming module that you can access from inside the vehicle, which will allow you to configure the lights to give messages, like on the buses. Just imagine......... someone's tailgating you, and you can now give them the digital equivalent of the finger!
Just imagine.......... your doing a tag along with a convoy of twelve......... and they've all got em.
The leader types in STOPPING. , and all the other do the same.........LOL!!!
I prefer my finger Wolf
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:29
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:29
Blimey Wolfie, where can I get so of what your on! LOL
But you're right, won't be long before some chinese factory copies a hella product and they'll be a dime a dozen. (probally on ebay!)
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:59
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:59
"give them the digital equivalent of the finger!
Would that be a digital digit ????????
Jack
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:54
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:54
o1oo
Reply By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:32
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:32
Thanks for this info Truckster. I was sick of replacing bulbs and had thought about the LED lights. I will now replace some more globes.
We run a small fleet of trucks and I am sure that one of our Dog Trailers has a set on its demountable body. I will have a look in the morning as the lights on the body are not used. I may have a very Swish camper afterall.
Vince
Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:02
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:02
When I bought
mine I paid $137 each for the Hella Marines (totally Waterproof). I had to
shop around, can't rembember the name but it was a truck
shop in
Welshpool here in WA.
Coventry's wanted $300 each, thats when I had a Truckster.
Reply By: pjd - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:49
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:49
try www.ledauotlights 2 x amber & 2 x red stop/tail only $100 a couple of weeks ago
Reply By: Mark- Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:54
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:54
Theres a guy on the NSW mid coast somewhere (will let you know if I find the brochure) who I came accross at the boat show who was selling LED tail lights for $30 each. You need four of them ie 2x
orange lights and 2x stop/tail assys. They run the polycarbonate lenses and are completely waterproof.
But as someone else said, there will lots available for this sort of money in a year or so.
Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:05
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:05
boo ...bet that scared you to death...forget your HA
mmm... your an old sheil...........
Reply By: Billy - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:37
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:37
As other posters have said, you can get them a lot cheaper than $194. FWIW most of these have an operating voltage of 10-30V meaning that if you tow a trailer with a truck (24v) and a 4by (12v) you don't need to swap globes or fit a light bar etc etc. I got them on my car trailer which is towed by various things and I think it was something like $130 more to get the LED, which was
well worth it to save the stuffing around.
Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:38
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 21:38
ok then,,,,after the truckster has gotten over his heart attacks,,,,and i have stopped laughing so hard it hurt.......
Truckline sell the full size L.E.D lights,,,,they measure approx 100mm high by 180mm long.,,,,,,,,,,,just picked up a replacment for a smashed one for the truck,,,,$126.
however,,,,if any of you know a motor body builder....ie truck bodies,,,,,,,then do a bit of sweet talking and go have a chat,,,,these guys get them cheap cuz they use so many on new bodies they build.....
the other alternative is the single combination setup.....brake-tail and indicator in one neat size-----100mm x180mm. these are a bit cheaper than getting the separate ones.
hope this helps...
rick.
Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 22:44
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 22:44
Geez Truckster I just got given a pair!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 22:50
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 22:50
Give em to me then
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 09:06
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 09:06
Bruce,
Try PCM Distributors on 03 9553 6500 as I picked up their brochure at the show, they are at Cheltenham. Like you I asked at Hella and walked away laughing.
Combinations are available but the reversing light, white light are more expensive at $89.90. The turn and brake lights are available at $29.90. As combinations are more expensive at $69.90. I reckon they would make a great down light in my camper box over the food preparation or
cooking area.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 11:33
Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 11:33
yea got the $8.00 ones on there and they lookFANTASTIC...but they work.. Paying $30+ and smash them I would be pisted off, payign $194, I would want insurance on them.....