Used GQ - How many Kilometres?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:27
ThreadID: 17359 Views:2940 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
G'day All,

I have been looking for a second hand Fourby for over a month now. 80's, GQ's, Hilux and Rodeo. So far, 80's -too expensive, Rodeos and Hilux - might struggle to haul boat, 5 lads and camping gear over dunes, GQ - is much heavier than utes but better low down power (slow but torquey 4.2).

Gq's might be the best option based on price, power etc. It would seem that in my price range ($15K - $18K) a dealer model has 200000km or more on the clock. I know the usual stories about a well looked after diesel will fo 800000kms no worryies and the ol' 200000kms is barely broken in, This is all well and good, however the thing that worries me is the other stuff (clutches, gearboxes, axles, diffs etc). Can anyone offer any advice on buying a diesel GQ of this vintage/mileage. What should I look for in a test-drive eitc, what sort of thngs start to cost money after 200000km's?

Just looked at a privately advertised 80's which was too good to be true (1997 model, only 159000kms, appeared to be in good nick and was only $20K). I decided to get a RAA inspection (no books with sale) and imagine my surprise when it was given a Red Light. They reckon it was involved in one or more oft he following: Accident (side impact), Roll over and/or extreme 4WD conditions.

Hopefully the next vehicle is OK otherwise I'll spend oodles on inspections (you only need to get Burnt once).

Appreciate all advice. Great forum.

Jono

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:36

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:36
Go private unless you need to trade.

You could get a GQ with 180-250 for 12-18 depending on age and year and model ie. DX, ST. and accesories.

Clutch may be tired, slave and master cylinders give up around 200, bushes, radiator, etc. How longs a piece of string. Best thing to do is what you did previously, have the RAA inspection done.

Have fun!

Chris.
AnswerID: 81952

Follow Up By: JonnoC - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 11:38

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 11:38
Thanks Chris,

Getting a private guy to run an inspection on a GQ today. 92 GQ ST, 185000kms, snorkel, dual batt, OME suspension etc. Very tiday and he's asking $19500. I think it's a bit steep, but I think if the inspection works out, and with all the accessories (prob worth around $3000) It might be a good buy If I can get him below $19000.

We'll see.

Thanks for advice

Jono
FollowupID: 341204

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:18

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:18
Sounds good. Look for leaks, dings, rust in rear windows etc.

$18,000 would be a little exey but if in good nick, might be worth the extra $$$, especially if it flies through the inspection!

Keep us posted!

Chris.
FollowupID: 341212

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:42

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:42
Any second hand car with 200,000 klms on it you will have to worry about clutch etc etc.. Thats why they are cheaper than new.

As you are aware 200,000klms is barely run in for a diesel... but again that depends on the history of it.

www.gqpatrol.com for a list of things to check when buying a GQ.
AnswerID: 81954

Follow Up By: JonnoC - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 11:40

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 11:40
Thanks Truckster,

As I said to Chris, Getting a private guy to run an inspection on a GQ today. 92 GQ ST, 185000kms, snorkel, dual batt, OME suspension etc. Very tidy and he's asking $19500. I think it's a bit steep, but I think if the inspection works out, and with all the accessories (prob worth around $3000) It might be a good buy If I can get him below $19000.

We'll see. Hopefully I'll be joining the GQ club soon - Bring It ON.

Thanks for advice

Jono
FollowupID: 341205

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:48

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:48
`
AnswerID: 81957

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 17:00

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 17:00
I agree with that 100%
FollowupID: 341106

Reply By: brumac - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:40

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:40
I have a 1992 4.2 diesel with 230000K on the clock.Original clutch;slave and master cylinder are fine.Diffs and bearings fine.The only oil leak is rear main seal. A mate with a 92 petrol GQ got 300000 out of his clutch. Personaly I believe a GQ has a stronger box and diffs than a 80s;therefore better for towing. I hope this info helps.
AnswerID: 81975

Reply By: Mark- Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:16

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 19:16
My 4.2 diesel GQ has done 485000 km and I am in the process of replacing the original clutch. The gearbox is still like new and the motor goes better than new. They seem to go better as they loosen up. Nothing wrong with the axles etc either. Suspension bushes, shocks etc will be worn with high km but these are relatively inexpensive to replace. Just make sure the engine in particular is not worn out as they are expensive to recondition. The gearboxes are extremely strong and ideal for towing.

There is a GQ TD42 for sale near me (QLD)for $9000. Its a 7 seater, factory diff lock Its apparently in quite good condition. Its a private sale and the contact number is (07) 5483 3685 if your interested.

I recently advertised a 1990 TD42 wagon (nothing wrong with it) for $10,000 and only got one phone call.

I just dont think its worth paying mid to high teens for a GQ anymore. (MY opinion only) Theres so little difference between the later model ones and the earlier ones that the earlier ones are the way to go especially when a good one can be bought for < 10k these days.
AnswerID: 81979

Follow Up By: michael - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:02

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:02
For what its worth, turbo man at Uniteds told me pre May '95 TD42 engines better suited to turboing than later models. Something about lighter pistons I recall him saying.
Cheers DRC
FollowupID: 341227

Reply By: D110V8D - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 09:44

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 09:44
Why not consider a Defender. Will pull 4 tonne carry 5 blokes and get reasonable fuel economy. If it's been looked after and had the mod done to the 300tdi you shouldn't have any other problems than would normally be found with older (secondhand) fourbys. There are plenty around for 15 to 18 grand. Sure you might have to for go the gadets found in your more modern designs but you get a very capable vehicle that you can fix in a bog if you have to.

Why limit your choice to the Japaneese manufacturers?

Mick
AnswerID: 82049

Follow Up By: JonnoC - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 11:34

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 11:34
G'day Mick,

Thanks for your coments. I have always had a soft spot for the Landies, and have been keeping an eye out. Haven't been any so far for the right price. People must hold onto them, and I guess there aren't as many of them. If one comes up soon, by all mean I will consider it.

Jono
FollowupID: 341203

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:30

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:30
Few issues I have with defenders
1) the seating position you have no choice but to smash elbows with the window - unless its changed since 2000
2) the finish quality is crap for the price.
3) service costs according to a mate are a bit high as are availability of "SOME" spares.
4) very agricultural for the price.
FollowupID: 341214

Reply By: D110V8D - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:29

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:29
Truckster:

I've heard this many times regarding the 'limited' elbow space in defenders etc. I have to say that over the many years of owning and driving Land Rovers I have never had any trouble with elbow space. Maybe my elbows are smaller than everyone elses. :)
Your right about the finish quality. It is crap by modern standards. Mechanically I belive them to be just as reliable etc as any other make. They all have their problems, lets face it.
Service costs may be an issue but I belive JonnoC is looking for a second hand vehicle and would there fore not be oblidged to go to the dealer to keep his warranty or whatever.
And finally they are agricultural because thats what they were originally designed for. The tractor that 'farmer Joe' could drive to town in, or take a pig to market and that sort of thing. The best part of that being that when your out bush and it's muddy as hell your gonna get mud everywhere. When you get home just hose her out and she's good to go again. No electrical stuff to worry about, minimal plastic, no carpet and aluminum panels, floor etc so you minimise the old rust problem too.
I know it's a personal choice. Some like the creature comforts offered by some of the other manufacturers, I think they're unnecessary in a 'bush' or 'agricultural vehicle.
Just my opinons and certainly no offence intended to anyone.
Mick
AnswerID: 82094