canning stock route

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 09:23
ThreadID: 17379 Views:2757 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
im planning a trip in july 2005 for the csr hopfully.vehical is fully prepared, now im just starting to gather info.is willuna-well 33 achievable without a traditional fuel drop at well 23?.my fuel capacity is 250lts (91 diesel troopy)fuel range can very i know but i get roughly 6.5-perltr,working out at that ratio i should use roughly 180lts to well 33 for refueling(kunawarritji community) does that sound about right?the 6-6.5lts per km is worked out on my previous simpson desert trip in 04. so far im on my own but would like to travell in tandem(another vehical i mean) so if anyone knows anyone planning the same it would be good swap info .i live in south australia and will pass on contact numbers if any intrest or info is out there.

p.s
ive down loaded the info and trek notes from this site
great site to it is
thanks peter

Reply By: bushfix - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 09:36

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 09:36
G'day,

dippin' m'lid to Willem,

you may want to check out

http://www.kempen.id.au/main.htm

and look for the CSR link under 4x4

if you have not come across it already....

cheers,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 82048

Follow Up By: sean - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 17:54

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 17:54
If you are going to Rudall you can get diesel at cotton creek.

Sean
FollowupID: 341255

Reply By: Troopie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 10:32

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 10:32
G'day Peter
Travelled the CSR this year - 2001 Troopie with 275 litres of fuel. I reckon you will get from Wiluna to 33 no trouble with your set-up. Our worst consumption figure was 22L/100kms - but usually operated below this.

We did not arrange a fuel dump at 23, but were lucky enough to meet a solo traveller who had arranged for a drum at 23. He could not take his whole drum - so allowed us to finish it off - we didn't need it at all though!

The bowser at 33 can get busy - especially on Monday morning as it's closed Sunday. We were there for 2 hours to fill three vehicles - and we were near the front of the que!

The CSR is magic - I loved the trip!!!

I'm sorry if you have had plenty of experience - but if not - here's a bit of free advice - LET YOUR TYRES DOWN.... I was amazed how many people I witnessed (or head on the radio) out there having trouble on dunes - and they clearly didn't have their tyres down....

I had cheese cutters on my troopy - and didn't once need two goes at any dunes - and didn't break anything either. Also - if you find you are struggling - just let a couple more psi out - you will be surprised how much difference it can make.

Having your tyres down means you need less momentum to carry you up, which means you wont break things, and the track gets less chopped up. The dune run ups are often on corners - and can be very chopped up and rough on the vehicle if diven too hard...

Have a goog one though mate - it's brilliant! Happy to answer any other questions you may have.

AnswerID: 82055

Follow Up By: haysie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 10:51

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 10:51
thanks dave, thats the kind of info im looking for, what about food prep? ive packed for acouple of weeks before so is it basicly the same but more?would you do any thing different if given the oppertunity again?
FollowupID: 341201

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 11:53

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 11:53
Heya Again
Yeah - basically food is the same - but I reckon the goal is to minimise the rubbish you end up with as you SHOULD carry out what can't be burnt... At the end of the trip - we ended up with about one shopping bag of rubbish - and this was pretty much all crushed beer cans... ;-)

It's amazing what you can buy in satchels and packets, rather than cans and jars. We carried absolutely no glass jars, and the few tins we had were tins of vegies (e.g. asian mixed vegies for stir frys). After use, toss tins in the fire for a while, then crush them down with a hammer, then they wont smell and crush to a very small size. Packest and satchels are all burned.

You can get all kinds of pre-made sauces in satchels these days (Spag-Bog, asian noodle things etc etc). Depends on your tastes... We basically have the same food on the trips we would normally have at home (lots of asian curries, rice and noodle dishes etc). We also usually take a roast lamb, stakes and makings for a stew or two. These satchels were all stored in a large tuppaware container and non of them ever leaked.

On long trips, we run our engel as a freezer. Margarine does not freeze, nor does jam. The only thing is milk, as we have cereal for breaky.

For us
- at breakfast time we get out some lunch meat (e.g. sliced ham in those vacuum packets - takes up no room and lasts ages) and put in a few soft drinks. We also have tuna satchels for lunch (you can buy flavoured Tuna in satchels as well as those little tins).

- at lunch time we get out some drinks for lunch, and also get out some dinner meat, then put in a few beers for dinner. Grain breads seem to last longer than white breads - and when this runs out we use vita-wheat style bisquits instead of sandwitches.

- before going to bed we get out the milk for breaky. In the morning the milk is thawed and ready to use, then back into the fridge during the day. We use the plastic 1L containers of Lite White milk which have a screw lid. 1L lasts us about 2-3 breakfasts and seems to survive being frozen/thawed 2-3 times no worries.

We have a 40L engel and can easily stock ourselves (2 adults) with 4-5 weeks worth of meals (including one or two non-meat meals - e.g. pasta stir-throughs). Longer would requrie a little more organisation - but we have never been away from supplies longer than 5 weeks. All the meat is packed in tuppaware containers which seems to allow air to flow round in the fridge and it works better.

As for th CSR - the only thing I would change is spend longer out there. We were a party of three vehicles, and unfortunately one of those vehicles didn't have much time off work. We did the CSR in a bit more than 2 weeks - which left me feeling a little rushed. There were a couple of spots were I could have stayed longer, or stopped earlier in the day. I reckon plan for at least three weeks and soak it up.....

Have a good one!
FollowupID: 341209

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:27

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:27
Troopie isn't there two fuel stops now available from the aboriginal communities ?. I forget the names but I am sure I was told recently
Negating the need for a fuel drop at all.
I forget the names of each.

FollowupID: 341213

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:37

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:37
Heya
As of this earlier this year - when I was there - on the CSR Proper - there are only two fueling opportunities.

1. Well 23, which is in drums and comes in from Capricorn Roadhouse
2. Kunawaritji Community, which is situated just before Well 33 and is from a bowser.

There may well be other communities in the vicinity that sell fuel - but these would have to involve larger diversions from the CSR. I think you may be correct in that there is another community selling fuel - but it is off the CSR.

FollowupID: 341216

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 13:31

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 13:31
Troopie that rings a bell, I think they had to leave the track refuel and return.
It was not a large diversion and saved a lot of hassle and wastage with regards to fuel drums.
Will ask some questions in more detail and let you know.

FollowupID: 341222

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:20

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:20
G'day John
In Peter's case there is no real need to waste any as it seems he can carry 250L - which is enough to travel between Wiluna and Kunawaritji (33). It's from a bowser at Kuna - so no need to pre order anything (although wise to check availability).

You are right though - vehicles that can't make this distance will need fuel at 23 - or carry jerries - or.....

FollowupID: 341229

Reply By: haysie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:19

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:19
excellent dave ,sounds pretty well much like we do .a few things different though.long life milk is good ,and vac pack meat lasts pretty well up to 4-5 weeks depending on the cut of meat.you havinig done it with three vehicals did you see many others going it alone?thats my plan if i have to. iv given myself 6 weeks,one week each way and 4 on the canning should be enough hopfully.
AnswerID: 82067

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:44

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:44
Heya
We came across a few solo vehicles - but most had sort of attached them selves to other groups - either directly, or by maintaining radio comms.

As for timing - 4 weeks on the Canning will be plenty - that will allow for diversions and multi day stops at the good spots.

We also had out meat Vac-Packed before we left - but then froze it anyhow..... Vac-packed meat is at greater risk of perforating, or not sealing properly and going off when not frozen. Freezing proberly negated the vac-packing - but if the fridge was to die I guess it would last longer.....

FollowupID: 341218

Reply By: Member - Chris O (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:30

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:30
Hiya

A couple of us are planning to do the csr as well. Haven't confirmed a date yet though but July sounds about right. (We all work in the same dept so trying to wangle leave etc). Which end you starting at?
AnswerID: 82069

Follow Up By: haysie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 13:17

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 13:17
gday chris o

at this stage chris we will be going south - north, i understand this is the easiest as far as aproches to sand hills go, so im led to beleive
FollowupID: 341220

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 14:26

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 14:26
I think its the roughest way, as the vehicles heading north dig up the approach trying to get up with too much air in the tyres. We had to drive down in 1st to stop the rockin and rollin due to all the holes.

I averaged 16.6 lt per 100 in a troopie with 2H.
FollowupID: 341226

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:24

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:24
I suspect the dunes in both directions are rougher than they need to be as vehicles with higher pressures in tyres seem to "hop" - causing holes to form which get worse....

FollowupID: 341230

Reply By: Member - Chris O (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 14:30

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 14:30
I live in Tom Price so we're wanting to go S-N. Then again doesn't really bother us. Drop us an email Peter and we'll see if we can tee up
AnswerID: 82089

Follow Up By: haysie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:23

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:23
chris

i jusy sighned up as a member so i can email on this sight. just waiting for comfomation and will get back to tou shortly

regards peter
FollowupID: 341241

Reply By: gareth - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:03

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:03
G'day haysie,

I'll be buying a newish Patrol cab pretty soon and I'll PM you after i've had a bit of experience and see if you dont mind a newbie tagging along :)

Gareth
AnswerID: 82132

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:33

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:33
The best reference on the CSR is Ronele and Eric Gardes book "The Canning Stock Route a travellers guide" lots of great preparation info, mud maps and history. So interesting it can be read like a novel.
You can get it from places like Westprint or direct from the authors at Western Desert Guides in WA.

AnswerID: 82137

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 06:32

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 06:32
I think the "Gardes" book is getting a bit out of date, but as a whole it's not a bad guide with some usefull history.
FollowupID: 341336

Reply By: dave487 - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 23:22

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 23:22
Hi Peter
I,m from Melbourne.I travel with two mates.At this stage we are planning to leave about the start of May going across the Ann Beadell Hwy then up the Canning.I wouldn't mind joining you or vice versa if you like. I will be in 80 series landcruiser. You can email me if you like.
AnswerID: 82186