Submitted: Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:19
GazzaS (VIC)
we are fitting out the Prado over the next few months. One of the essential items on the list is a good roof rack. We are planning a trip to
Cape York next year (and many other locations later). So we want a good rugged rack that will last. Problem is our garage was never designed for a 4WD wiht a rack on top so we will have to take it off the top for regular city use and then put it back on whenever the need arises.
Any comments on steel v alloy with regard to durability? I am looking at a 1800 or 2200 long rack - any observations on 2 adults (me + SWMBO) being able to put it on or take it off if in steel?
appreciate any advice
Reply By: Member - Chris O (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:33
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:33
Getting a heavy duty one fitted myself tomorrow on me cruser and have the same drama with garge and wife. Will let you know how we go!!
Reply By: bushfix - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:40
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:40
G'day GazzaS,
2200 is a big rack, and steel? I don't think you'll manage with just the two of you . For what it's worth, I grabbed a "Rak" set off ebay for our 90 series. While not the full on rugged style, I can use just the rails for my kayak trips and for longer trips could add the luggage holder. Not too large but large enough. The rails are aircraft aluminium and key locked so putting them on or taking them off is very easy. It suits my activities anyway and Rak are an Australian company I believe. Maybe not what you are looking for capacity/ruggedness wise but check out
http://203.147.251.236/platinumrak/index.cfm
and give them a call.
Jeremy.
Reply By: flappan - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:47
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:47
Whats the max weight you can put on the roof of a Playdoe . . . 100kg isn't it.
You put a Steel Roof rack (is it possible anyway without gutters ?) of 2200 up there , and I would suggest , there would be little room , weight wise , for much anyway.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:50
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:50
Call Andrew Williams (awill4x4 off here)
he makes alloy racks that are used by many in nissan and pajero clubs (hes in both)... No failures from many cape trips and center crossing trips says a lot to me.
Much lighter to take off at end of trip too...
9775 0558
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 17:58
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 17:58
As truckster said get a good quality alluminumnumn rack I got one custom made in the cape about 8 years ago and still going strong.
It is a full lenght rack on a 60 and I put it on by myself.
Early this year a built a garage for a customer and it had a pannel lift door on it remote control.
They own a pajero the husband put the roof rack on out side and didnt tell the wife the wife took the car to the shops and came home lifted the door with the new fancy remote and destroyed the door and roof rack.
Not bad for a day old garage.
I got the repair for the garage so I was happy.
www.capeyorkconnections.com.au
Follow Up By: don vale - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 22:33
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 22:33
Ive got one of Andrew's roof racks - love it - it really is a work of art!!!!
Reply By: fozzy - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:52
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 12:52
gazza
go and lift rack and see for yourself
i have arb steel one for 100 series and think maybe 2 guys would struggle to get it into position
i use ropes on rafters in garage to get it on /off which you cant do from height
mate has alloy arb for same and (can get it on) with his wife(heheheh)
i would prob go alloy for this reason next time
before u buy see if you and wifey can put on yourself
good luck
Reply By: Kimberly Kruiser - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 13:53
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 13:53
G'day GazzaS
Past experience with relying on the other half ( no detriment intended ) to lift
anything awkward or slightly heavy past chest height is a pretty good recipe for
a domestic, unless yours is a power lifter.
I run a 2200 steel ARB ( but dont have the pain of having to remove it). Excellent
rack, good size and has been bounced around some pretty gnarly tracks up here
on a fairly regular basis without any problems.
Got a mate close by that for the price of a couple of beers after work will help ya chuck it on/off when required??????????
Have fun choosing.
Reply By: Member - Kevin R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 13:58
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 13:58
Gazza,
I have a 90 series prado with TJM steel rack. Its very strong but very heavy - too heavy for my bride to lift one side. It takes two big guys to lift it off and I still find it very very heavy. If you have a
suspension lift it makes it even harder.
Kevin
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:39
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:39
Mate I went rhino sportz racks and a basket with a roof rack bag in it. I'll never look back, it's great. Easy to pull it off and whack it on (for the garage) by youself, because it doesn't sit right up the front there is barley any change in fuel economy or any wind noise. Done some very rough stuff with it on and loaded, no problems. The only thing I would say is that if you do lots of corrugations, just check the tightness of the "U" bolts at each smoko, sometimes they can start to work loose. If you were leaving it on all the time, some nylox nuts would stop that problem, but as I only put it on for trips they are no good.
The sportz racks and basket are rated to 95kg, I think that's all you'd want on top anyway. We whack most of our stuff up there, tents, chairs, table, sleeping bags, air matresses etc etc.
Down below are gas bottles, jerry cans, misc
camping gear, food, cooking gear etc etc.
Reply By: gonebush - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:47
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:47
I have the same problem re garage and have to remove the rack after every use and put it on when required.
I have an ARB full length steel rack and a 2" lifted GU and have to get one of my sons (22 or 20) to help me. We are all pretty strong and it is not easy at all. The wife can just lift one side to thigh height and that is the easy part.
Can't comment on the durability of the alloy but the ARB steel is an excellent rack.
To suit your requirements , if you can find an alloy with the required durability I suggest you go that way.
Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:42
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:42
Hi Gazza How many passengers are you carrying ?
is it 90 or120 series ?
Follow Up By: GazzaS - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 21:56
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 21:56
good point - shoulda thought of that
it is a TX 90 3.0l diesel. 5 passengers - 2biggies and 3 smaller. will be fitting with 40l fridge and drawer/shelf system in the back.
Reply By: charlie - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 22:10
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 22:10
Hope this helps a little Gazza, we have an 80 series with 2400mm rack it is TJM and aluminium. There is virtually no way the wife and I can do this without a lot of huffing an puffing. My wife and I have done it twice but it was hard work( both emotionally and physically). I now do it with a mate or two and it is a lot easier but still no piece of cake. i have carried at least a couple of hundred kg's up there, (I can feel the car sway around corners so not recomemded). It was fire wood and a neccessity but wouldn't do it again. Steel sounds like a lot heavier and I think it would take 2-3 strong guys. My thoughts anyway.
Charlie
Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 23:33
Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 23:33
Gaz,
I've got a Rhino on my Prado:
- full size
- relatively light (I can put it on and off by myself with ropes, or with my wife if we lift it on manually)
- strong - have done a fair bit with it, including double crossing of the Simpson
Very happy with it..
Roof rating is 75 Kg...
Reply By: GeeTee - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:41
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:41
I run an ARB on my Prado. Excellent rack. Have done the
Gibb River Road and some other pretty rough stuff. I usually have it fairly
well loaded up and have had no drama's
GeeTee