Accessories and insurance

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 15:09
ThreadID: 17388 Views:2296 Replies:7 FollowUps:0

Just wondering what amount people tell their insurance companies?

Accessory + labour = insured amount

or

Accessory = insured amount

Do you include labour in the amount?

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:09

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:09
Gday mate,

I just insured all my toys with my insurer. I tell them the figure you would pay in a store, not my price, and also work in a figure that includes install. That way, I'm covered. If you want to insure things like G.P.S's etc get a mounting pod and they will include this as a fixed item.

Secondly, and most importantly, go to an assessing centre and have them physically sight the toys and have them then send you a letter confirming their agreeance to insuring your vehicle inclusive of the accessories, of which a list should be attached.

Chris.
AnswerID: 82097

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:11

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:11
Hi Ute,
When I have had any accessories fitted I have used the amount on the Receipt. My thought is that that is what it has cost me.
Hope this is of help
AnswerID: 82098

Reply By: gonebush - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:25

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:25
Ute,

I also use the amount on the receipt which includes install costs.

AnswerID: 82103

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:29

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:29
The cost of getting your car back to where it was prior to theft/accident...

full retail cost + full fitting costs.. But they can as for reciepts..

AnswerID: 82104

Reply By: Utemad - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:42

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 16:42
All these replies confirm what I was thinking. As the replacement cost of the vehicle includes any labour required to fit aftermarket accessories.

In the past I have used full retail plus labour because I don't pay RRP when I can avoid it. I figure that when you need your car replaced you may not get the deal you got when you bought it and need to pay RRP and you don't want to lose out.

Thanks all.
AnswerID: 82110

Reply By: 10 Para (Qld) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 20:07

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 20:07
Only ever had one thing stolen and that was the tow hitch was on when it went to nissan for a service and was not there when it came back, needless to say that it is not serviced by nissan anymore and when it is serciced photo's are taken before and after.
AnswerID: 82149

Reply By: Twigiee - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 11:06

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 11:06
Hi UTEmad

I would say yes, include labour in the amount. I have discussed this at length with my insurance company and they say its the 'replacement value' that is what it should be insured for. Even if you buy a UHF radio second hand - its the replacement value of a similar new unit.

Its also worth noting that all insurance companies that i have contacted use 25% of total vehicle value as a maximum for all accessories. i.e if your vehicle is valued at $10 000, you may only have a maximum total accessory value of $2500, otherwise you will find it very difficult to get insurance - supposibly because of the increased theft risk. (They generally try not to let anyone know about how they calculate this).

Hope this helps,

Twigiee
AnswerID: 82225