Nissan 720

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 21:58
ThreadID: 17401 Views:3334 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
Help,

Can anyone help me find a SNORKEL for my Nissan 720 85.

Has anyone tried fitting an early Hilux snorkel to a 720 maybe? I have fitted a turbo which has made a big difference but is sucking in hot air from the engine bay. I'm also looking at intercooler but need to find room to fit one.

Any help appreciated.
NissanNut

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 23:29

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 23:29
Goto an exhaust place and get one bent up, put a safari head on it, paint it black and they look sweet. Heaps of comp trucks round with them like this, and it will be pretty much your only option.
AnswerID: 82187

Follow Up By: NissanNut - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 21:26

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 21:26
I never thought of that, great idea. Thanks.

I was going to have a go at PVC pipe & fittings as it cant get much easier but was worried about it getting brittle and splitting/ bleep tering, and if it did that then the whole excersice would be pointless.......

NUTS!
PS im about to post a thread on cyclone type dust filters....any thoughts on using one of those instead of a safari like head? (as ive got one sitting in my shed)
FollowupID: 341413

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:23

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:23
You mean Donaldsons? They are ok for their purpose...

I have one, 10in jobby, you can see the chit swirling around in there when the truck is idling so they really do work..
FollowupID: 341693

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 23:59

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 23:59
Never thoughtI'd see the day when a post came up about a 720.
Mine is the renovations work horse, although it has been camping occaisionally and sports an EO sticker. Is is 2wd with the 1.8ltr petrol-good economy but not much get up & go. Seats are the worst thing-toofarforward even when all adjustment is used. Must all have short legs in Japan
Camper
AnswerID: 82353

Follow Up By: NissanNut - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:53

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:53
Cheers Camper,

Mines a dual cab, so maybe the seats go back a bit further, not the most comfy car but don't mind it too much. The worst thing bout the seats is the springs.....hit a bump and its like riding a pogo stick, you bounce up and down for a minute or two afterwards, gets pretty annoying off road.

I considered changing engine over to petrol (Dato L18, 20 or Z24 even) when i rebuilt it, but would have been too work, at the time i needed it back up and running. still your 1.8 has gotta have more go than SD25 diesel......?

NUTS!
FollowupID: 341520

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:29

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:29
Well maybe so I have no way of knowing which has more go this is the only one I've owned.
I fittd new seats from a bluebird which are much better but still the lack of leg room is the problem
Cheers Camper
AnswerID: 82661

Follow Up By: NissanNut - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 14:39

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 14:39
Can you remember which series bluebird the seats came from? were they a 'bolt straight in' fit or did you need to modify them? I've been looking around at seats for a while but have mainly been looking at newer import car seats. Obviously these would need to be modified to fit but would be heaps better for driving.

thanks
NUTS!
FollowupID: 341786

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:21

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:21
G'Day Nuts
I "think" the seats are bluebird. It is a while ago now and the memory is only trained to remember essential details and even fails at that.
I went to Nisswreck in Wingfield if you are in SA and showed them the ute and asked which seats would fit. Then we had a walk around the yard and tried a few in cars which seemed OK. I went home pulled out the passenger seat went back and tried a seat to see how much work it was to fit.
From memory I had to cut and shut the bits which attatched to the floor to get the bolt holes to line up (just redrilling was not adequate) but the mig did the job a treat.
Then the runners were sweet.
They are not rolls royce seats but they are much better than the originals
Best of luck if you go ahead with it- it was not too hard.
Camper
AnswerID: 83657