cannining stock route

Submitted: Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 06:27
ThreadID: 17407 Views:2655 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
to all those who answard post 17379 i would like to thank very much for the tips and info and espcially the interest. its quite clear that canning stock route is one of the last real 4wd adventures in this great land of ours and im really looking forward to doing the csr and maybe meeting some of you outhere.it looks at this stage ill be travelling in july 05 tied in with school holidays 5-6 weeks ,starting at willuna once again thanks very much..

regards peter

haysie222

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 06:44

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 06:44
Peter,
The Canning Stock Route whould have to be the Holy Grail of 4WD touring. I have the trip on my trip calander for next year starting in June 05. It seems so far away now but I bet the time will fly.
Will you be taking extra spares like wheel bearings, main leaf springs and shocks?I would be very interested in the preparation that you do for that trip.

AnswerID: 82195

Follow Up By: haysie - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 09:03

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 09:03
howdy wayne

maybe a couple of spare shocks and bearings(already have up graded suspension but i plan on doing wheel bearings and uni joints,new steering dampner tie rod ends etc,etc,etc.probably some things wont need doing but i will any way,nothing wrong with a bit of preventitive maintenance i reckon. i also plan on fitting a water tank under the vehical(troopie 91 diesel) between the back tank(175lts)and gearbox some how but not exactly sure yet . the only dought i have at this stage is the current tyres im running are cooper st 285/75/16 just fitted back in june 04 and all ready travelled the simpson (marree,oodna,dalhousie,birdsville,innaminka,flinders) and found them to be preety good.but im thinking of putting the splitties back on only for ease of puncture repair,but if you drive to conditions and run the wright pressures where needed you can save your self alot of headache.so thers just some of my thoughts so far and im sure ill think of a thousand more before the time comes.

all the best
haysie222
FollowupID: 341360

Follow Up By: Troopie - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 16:36

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 16:36
Long Range Automotive in Melbourne might be able to fix you up with a water tank like you describe....

FollowupID: 341600

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 11:34

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 11:34
Peter,
The big once over is a good idea, I am not just sure what big trips I have just before doing the CSR. I know that I have a Simpson just after.
You said that you might put the split rims on for ease of changing tyres, I would have gone the other way and kept the wide tyres on. I assume that you are running tubeless tyres and if a hole is found in the tyre it can be pluged before it goes completey flat.
AnswerID: 82227

Follow Up By: haysie - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 13:18

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 13:18
wayne,
you got a point there wayne,bit more stable to with the wides on to.by the way you wernt in birdsville in early august this year? iwas talking to one of you fellas at the working museum (ruffy i think)
regards peter.
FollowupID: 341380

Reply By: Greg - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 13:19

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 13:19
Hi Peter

I have just completed the Canning a few months ago. I have done them all and can say the biggest surprise was the fact that it was slower than the simpson desert. We averaged (moving only) over 30 kph on the simpson and less than 30 kph for most stages of the simpson. The other big surprise that didn't come up in my pre trip enquiries was that you are going to end up with scratches down both sides of your vehicle. I would estimate about 200 kms of close vegetation. During our trip we had rain so bogging was a problem but there was only 1 day out of 3 weeks when we had dust. The track surface was slow but again there were few corrugations. Probably 200kms in total. The drive is not as hard as the simpson on either driver or vehicle but whilst the dunes are generally smaller some can be difficilt due to a right angle bend at the base of the dune preventing a run up which some vehicles will require. Fuel (ulp and diesel) is available at the aboriginal community (biluna and kunnawarritji). I have a 3.5 l petrol auto and averaged 5.2 kpl or 395l over approx 2000kms. A 2.8 l diesel manual used 270l.
Hope this is of some help
AnswerID: 82320

Follow Up By: Greg - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:54

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:54
Further to my note above. We had a few problems but the worst was a spinefex fire that burnt a wiring loom on the gearbox and subsequently caused a major short blowing the main engine computer fuse. We rebuilt the fuse and loom and continued without problems. Spinefex is a real problem for petrol vehicles early in the season. We also had dirty fuel (ULP) caused by rust in a gerrycan which was thoroughly checked before leaving. The filter was cleaned every 20 kms until we reached well 33 then the tank came out and filter was replaced. The HF radio was great and resulted in us helping a seriously bogged cruiser from Lake Tobin. If you have to travel after rain the main thing to do is follow the established wheel tracks no matter how bad it looks but you will need good ground clearance as some of the ruts can be very deep.
FollowupID: 342547

Reply By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 11:42

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 11:42
G'day All.
After 3 months on the road I have been home for a couple of weeks and head out again tomorrow.

We too were on the CSR during August and had planned to fill up at the Kunnawarritji Community.
We were 11 cars and I had phoned a few weeks earlier to advise of our fuel requirements.
We got there and there was no fuel!
We had an enforced 3 days "rest" at well 33 - bugger!
The story was that a tanker hadn't come in to Port Hedland on time and the whole region was short of fuel.
Luckily we only needed diesel as the fuel truck only brought diesel. people with petrol engines had to wait even longer.

Most of our group took it quite well but there were a couple who got quite stressed about it.

The manager at the Community told me that the problem was mainly due to too many people travelling on the CSR not advising him of their fuel requirements prior to their trip.

Apart from that - we had a great trip and a few of he group are now planning to return for another Tag Along Tour.

AnswerID: 82371

Reply By: Troopie - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 16:34

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 16:34
G'day Haysie
No worries mate - have a good one.

Oh yeah - Greg is right about the scratches - if you are the sort of person who worries about scratches you are in for a torrid time..... Sorry I didn't think to mention it in my other posts as such things don't concern me..... There are long stretches where you simply can't avoid vegetation scratching down both sides of your vehicle...... (you know that finger-nail on black-board sound......)

As for spares - I took the same approach as you - less carried on the trip and more fixed before leaving is the go in my books. I had a suspension kit fitted before the trip so suspension components were not really a concern. I still carried spare shocks, bearing kit and all the usual stuff - the bearings and full major service were done before leaving too.

Make sure you have some of that two-part putty stuff that comes in a stick - I reckon you could build a car with that stuff if given long enough...... Our party suffered a broken main leaf (spare carried!!!! believe it or not), cracked radiator (putty to the rescue), and assorted minor stuff (e.g. stereo stopped working, radio arial torn off).

Great Stuff!!

AnswerID: 82565