Tyres for GU

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 17:28
ThreadID: 17427 Views:2802 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
I have a question re tyres for the GU. I have a 2003 GU and the current tyres are the standard Bridgestone A/T 265/70 R16 112S 693.(Bloody terrible tyres)

I am trying to understand which part of the tyre number means what. I know that the R16 means I have 16 inch rims, but the rest is a little unclear, so any advice would assist.

Secondly, I am wanting to increase the diameter of my new set of tyres, to give me more clearance and so that when I put a suspension lift kit (50mm) it won't look so stupid. What is the next size tyres to go for (would that be 33 inch, and if so how does that relate to 265/70 ?)

Deano

Reply By: Member - Jim - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 17:42

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 17:42
Deano

The 265 is the size across the tread in mm, the 70 means that the sidewall is 70% of the width being 265mm therefore 185mm. The 112S is the load and speed rating.
If you check your tyre placard you will find the minimum requirement for replacement tyres per the load and speed rating.
When it comes to size this varies slightly from State to State, but essentially most people would normally replace the tyre with similar specs but move from 70 to 75 ratio (this makes the sidewall higher and therefore the tyre bigger).

Jim
AnswerID: 82331

Follow Up By: DeanoNSW - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:01

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:01
Thanks for the advice Jim,

a few mates have recommended that I move from a 31 Inch tyre to a 33 inch tyre (ie:achieving my aim re slightly larger).

I am a metric bloke, so not sure how 31 and 33 inch relates to the numbers on the side of my current tyre.

Any tips ?

Deano
FollowupID: 341444

Reply By: Member - Jim - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:11

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:11
Deano

After noting the requirements on your trucks tyre placard which will have the normal tyre requirement plus any options check the manufacturers websites for your options.

Remember for insurance purposes you need to keep the speed and load ratings plus the oversize in check per the NSW RTA requirements.

You might find that the Light Truck (LT) 31" and 33" sizes (the diameter of the tyre) may fall outside Nissan required spec.

Jim
AnswerID: 82334

Reply By: trolute - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 21:15

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 21:15
Deano,

I have replaced the standard Bridgestone hoops with MTs on my '04 GU ute. http://www.bridgestone.com.au/tyres/products/car/treads/d673.asp

I'm in QLD, and legally can go to 285/75x16 happily, and that is just what I have done. Also have 50mm OME lift. Nothing rubs or hits anywhere, but my car is a ute, so might differ in a wagon.

TrolUte
AnswerID: 82346

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 21:34

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 21:34
This site will give you all the size details:

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

Personally, I run the 265/75 bfg at, equivalent to about 32"

AnswerID: 82348

Reply By: ferryman - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 13:26

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 13:26
I have a 2000 - 3l- auto patrol -just returned from 8000k - to cape york and back - using bridgestone AT 275/70/r16 - aussie made i was told by bridgestone in noosaville -- and they were great. We were fully loaded with roof rack and a 17st passenger.
Tyre pressure seems important - the local garage in cooktown said around 40psi is the best - BUT one guy we met had a partol and ran front and back at between 33 and 40 and the tyre wear on the 33psi seemed the best. Itg proved so for us - no cuts or problems but he had a lot of problems at higher pressures.
AnswerID: 82375

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:22

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:22
G'day mate,
I'm surprised the garage person suggested 40psi.......I run my GU at 40psi under normal circumstances on bitumen. However, we have also just done a 8,500 trip to Cape York, fully loaded with roof rack and camper trailer. GU weighs in @ around 3,500kg and camper 1,200kg.
I ran my tyres @ around 30psi as soon as I hit the gravel at Lyndhurst SA, before going up The Strezlecki Track and on into Qld.
Once I hit the corrogations and other crappy tracks on the Cape, I lowered the tyres down even further to 24psi (including trailer).
My Cooper S/Ts were a bit worn by the time we got back, but we never had any problem with flats etc. There were 3 vehicles, all with trailers, in our convoy and none of us had a flat.
FollowupID: 341557