Willem
Have just returned home via bushtracks from the
Robe weekend. Attendance totalled 43 adults, 6
young adults, 17 kids. I arrived on Thursday and Big Kidz family and Jimbo(Vic) and his son arrived later. We did a
Robe Beachport run along
the beach and the dunes on Friday with plenty of revs and tyres at 15psi and one small mishap. By the time we got back to our
camp a whole mob had arrived and they trickled in thereafter up to 1am. Two groups went out on Saturday. One doing the
Robe Beachport run and the other the
Canunda National Park run. There
the beach sand was extremely soft and we stayed in the dunes for most of the time. Saturday night was hilarious with Andrew(Big Kidz) receiving a special visa, clothes and a hat, and Toonfish and Eric winning prizes for obscure reasons :-) It was time to renew old acquaintances, to put faces to EO screennames and to make new friends. The party kicked on till
well after midnight when the Caravan
Park owner requested us to tone things down a bit. There were some sore heads this morning. I spoke with JohnR a short while ago and heard of several boggings down on the boggy beach today. No names no packdrill! You will have to wait for the trip report by Eric later in the week.
Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 00:33
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 00:33
Thanks Willem. Glad you all had a great time.
Maybe next year it'll be our turn ...
Oodnadatta
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:01
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:01
Hi John,
Yep, but it IS a long way from your neck of the woods. Maybe we can organise something closer in the new year.
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:28
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:28
G'day Willem great to hear the gathering went
well and everyone had fun hopefully the NSW/ACT gatherings will be as strong as the VIC/SA ones are, maybe in time they will and maybe soon there will be a national one that could be interesting.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:49
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:49
G'day Baz
Hmmmm a National One? It was bad enough trying to organise the mob who were there...seriously though, I think that distances and the current high fuel prices may prevent that for a while. Maybe we could all meet in
Birdsville one year before the flies arrive :o)
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:31
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:31
Funny that John told u about the boggings lol...............what a fantastic weekend...........Where to next?
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:52
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:52
I didn't get the whole story though except that he got bogged and that there were others in trouble as
well. Yeah it was good to meet up with all the new faces and make new friends
Follow Up By: Twigiee - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:01
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:01
Will be interesting to see how they all went. I was down there in august and the sand was extremely boggy and
beachport to
robe was not possible (for me anyway). Apparently the sand gets harder towards summer, but i think its still too early yet.
While i was bogged, a local with a subaru brumby with 8inch tyres at 7psi was driving around on the surface of the boggy sand. Apparently he'd bolted the tyres to the rims to stop them from slipping!
Twigiee
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:49
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:49
We did
Robe to
Beachport on Saturday and like Willem said it was low tyre pressure(14psi for me) Most of it was easy in hi-range although i used low range when playing on a big dune.As for the bogged ones (3 i think, all i got was hearsay as we were not there) I think both eric and warren tried to help john out but all had a turn at getting stuck....but they did pick on a very
soft beach. Whilst some of us are working the lucky ones are still there having fun.
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:06
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:06
I heard reports elsewhere of a loud unruly mob in
Robe so it sounds like you guys had a blast. It's being a really nice long weekend at home also working on the ute, painting, mowing lawns, cleaning gutters, sigh. Now have the dual battery system installed using a redarc with 100 amp hr in the tray. Just have to get through today and then heading to
the Pyrenees (just another magic Vic playground) for a days play.
Cheers and good wishes to all in SA
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:56
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:56
News travels fast,eh?
Good to hear you are sorting your new truck out and we hope that we can catch up with you sometime in the future at one of these meets.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:31
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:31
Ya shoulda come up the mountains.. twas magic weather!!`
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:24
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:24
Yeah would have been nice but some poor bugger has to work. Did some more electrical work on the truck today. Hitting the tracks tomorrow with Dave Z
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:33
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:33
;)
And Im doing it again next weekend!!
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:03
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:03
G'day Willie,
Would've been nice to have been able to attend, but too far in my books for 2 nights, plus we had to take the kids to Wirrabra
Forrest for a Joey Scouts
camp; which was great in any case.
Maybe the next get-together might be one we can organise ourselves for.....
Cya mate,
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:59
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:59
G'day Roachie
Recovered from the Cape trip yet?
Yes, maybe we can organise a get together at say, top of
Mount Arden?...that would be interesting :o)
Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:26
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:26
I'm up for a trip to Mt Arden to boil the billy with anyone else who turns up, anytime.
Well not any time. Not 25th December. Might have to take me own firewood, though.
Maybe a soiree on Mt Arden, to view the setting sun, with an aperitif with which to relax oneself?
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:44
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:44
How about a New Years Eve party up there...if the owners will let us...we can bring all the good stuff with us, arrive in the late afternoon, and leave the following morning....AND from the top it is down
hill all the way :o)
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:39
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:39
Hey, Willem - been waiting to hear how it went, Thought about you lot all weekend and watched the weather map to see if it was wet. Like Jiarna says - maybe our turn next year. Imagine JohnR getting BOGGED!!!!
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:14
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:14
Hi Ruth
Some of the mob are still down there and only leaving tomorrow. No rain seems to be on the scarce side tho there is a prediction of some tomorrow....so I have put off cleaning the truck.............Maybe we can have a get together when you come down this way next year?
Follow Up By: Nick R - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 09:06
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 09:06
He can bog the GU in a paddock pretty
well too, took a John Deere to get him out!!! I must admit though he has extracted my 80 series once!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 11:43
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 11:43
Hello Nick - nice to hear he's human. LOL. Hope the cows are milking
well and making good cheese. Hope to meet you in Feb.
Follow Up By: Nick R - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 20:03
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 20:03
I'll be right here in feb up to my arm pits in new born calves!!! JohnR could tell you more about the quality of the cheese.
nick
Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:55
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:55
Hi Willem,
Great to hear the crowd had a blast. Look forward to some more news and photos.
CYA
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:46
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:46
Hi Allan
When are we going to see you there? Must say this SA/VIC gatherings are getting better and better!
Reply By: mr diamond - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 17:45
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 17:45
gday willem.
glad you made it
home safe.
well wasnt it a great weekend got to catch up with a few people and meet a whole lot of great new people.
ive never met so many people in a group before who get on so
well no blues ect.
we got
home around 8.30 vic time daylight savings adjusted lol.and went straight to sleep.
next time were up there i will conquer the
HILL.
glad you enjoyed your self and catch you next time mate.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 19:45
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 19:45
I thought you did conquer the
hill mate............we got
home 7ish after travelling back with navaraman. Ditto about the way not only the adults but also the kids got on so
well.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:41
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:41
G'day Jim
It was good to catch up again. Just as
well I left early as the builder was about to weld a pole in to the wrong position this morning!
We took the backroads to Keith, then up through the Ngarkat CP(back into 4x4 mode), then
Lameroo and then numerous backroads to
Blanchetown,
Morgan,
Burra,
Terowie and
home. It was along day but it was good to see some other country and no traffic on the bush tracks.
Well we will no doubt catch up again sometime in the near future.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:21
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:21
Evening Willem and Everyone else.
We have just arrived back from
Robe and it was just excellent weekend and a big thanks to the organisers.
Can't add much to whats already been expoused above, except I was fourth in the convoy onto
the beach that fatefull hour on Sunday.
Just prior to entering there was a radio call from 'he who cannot be named') (the one who became bogged) that it was very soft sand beach and 'they' would have a look.
The tour leader, another 'he who cannot be named' decides that all is
well - lets do it.
Approx. 30 seconds later Des Lexic sends a frantic message - HUSTON, WE HAVE A PROBLEM - a vehicle is down, not a good idea for anyone else to enter
the beach.
No names (RUUUUTH!) No pack Drill other than after shovelling a zillion tonne of sand, pushing, sweating and getting wind burnt and assisting everyone else, it took a good two hours to recover that sucker and everyone else off of that beach.
Which by the way is at the top of my list to never do/attempt again.
That beach after we left looked worse that Normandy after D-Day.
Anyway Eric the Tour leader (Ooops) photographed the crime scene from every possible angle and the Port Vincent boys video'd the whole sordid affair. No doubt it will be posted far and wide when they all get
home.
Ken & Deirdre Robinson
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:38
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:38
G'day Ken and Deirdre
Yes and the Mayor of
Robe aka Rick Moore said that no locals drive down on to that beach.......that old fella in the GU truck should have known better......hahahaha
Good to hear you are
home safely
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:55
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:55
Oh yes I've heard about
the beach that the locals wont drive. Willem, you didn't by any chance get a gps location of it did you?
Follow Up By: Andrew - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:46
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:46
I can proudly say that I have driven all of the way to the
cave and back without getting bogged (xmas 02), shame about the bloke following me though.........
Didnt the Mayor have 180m of snatch strap as demonstrated to him last xmas???? Would have saved all of that digging and pushing.
8-))
Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 09:39
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 09:39
Sounds like the no-go beach is now in everyone's ken - not a bad thing.
I wasn't with the mob that got stuck, but I imagine it is Evan's
Cave beach. Certainly that's
the beach Andrew buggered up so his mate Hosa got stuck on in 2002.
None of the party that I led drove on that beach, but hey, I 'm prepared to recognise the Vics don't know everything...hahahahahaRRR.
By the way, the sandhill adjacent to the area where you
park at Evan's
Cave is a TOP
hill for kids to climb up & slide down on. Even the big kid Muddy had a go.
Point of clarification: the WORLD RECORD RECOVERY was on a section of beach south of Nora Creina, near the nine mile drift. The red 100 series 'Yota concerned was easier to recover with 180 m of snatch'ems with the hand brake off. My dear ol' Shirl was not stuck -
well, it is a Nissan. And Andrew's Nissan 'TRACTA' did the recovery........... 'nuff said.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 00:10
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 00:10
G'day Willie,
Yes, what a great weekend indeed and thanks for ALL the people that made it so. All of you.
Trip leader Willie on the Saturday with the red jocks swim too and a great trip. A quite day with six other vehicles and a party to celebrate birthdays of several people within the week and of course the visa to Big Kid Andrew. Andrews' offer to give Les a wizzie didn't thrill her like your swim Willie. I should let her speak for herself eh Peter?
I have to say I agree with mr diamond above that everyone got on exceedingly well and had a real ball, not a grumble anywhere.
Some of the observations of a bogged truck above will have Warrens DVD to evidence the fact of DEEP soft shelly sand. Many thanks to Eric with his winch for pulling me out of his (Eric's) wheel ruts. Eric, I think I would prefer mountain trips to Toolangi forest, mate. Just like Jiota preferrs latte to your rock climbing. Reckon Eric that a Toyotas best friend sometimes starts with N and has six letters even though there is no video.... as Jimbo asserts in another post. LOL I think we all learned a few things on the beach yesterday. First is don't go there. LOL
Have met a lot of new folks and the Vics and South Aussies get on well together, as a matter of fact the Lexics have travelled to
Victoria on the proviso from me, that we won't prosecute. I really do look forward to another time to see the friends again - all of em, no hesitation.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:06
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:06
Was it YOU that got bogged John???
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:45
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:45
HI John
Glad to hear you are home in one piece. The bigger the truck the bigger the bog..hehehehe......
What is it about going for a swim? I love the sea and would live there if given the dollars, so I took the opportunity to
cool off in the southern ocean....you are lucky I didn't skinny dip(read fat dip)....and why wear boring jocks?...........Trip Leaders lead by example...uinfortunately the followers were all chickensh.t........hahahahaha