Petrol stoves

Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 00:39
ThreadID: 17459 Views:3899 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
I have had my petrol stove for about 5 months now, and it works fine. No more gas bottles to leak and need refilling at great expense and inconvenience.
I'm interested to hear from anyone who has had one of these stoves for longer. Have you had any problems? I notice the generator tube number is listed on the lid of the stove - does that mean it needs replacing often?
Oodnadatta

Reply By: 28patrol - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 00:45

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 00:45
I have a Coleman dual fuel stove for roadside cuppa's and emergency use. Cannot bring myself to use a petrol/dual fuel stove, gas is my choice for normal use
AnswerID: 82469

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:19

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:19
If you stay with Shellite, rather than ULP, it should go a long way before needing replacement.
Shellite burns just that little bit hotter as well.

Most people would only have to replace it once in it's lifetime.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 82475

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:12

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:12
yep shellite for sure it burns much cleaner leaving very little residue as compared to petrol
FollowupID: 341540

Reply By: Member - Linzo (QLD) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:02

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:02
Jiarna,
I've had a Coleman Shellite stove for many years & have found it very reliable. I've only replaced the generator once. In fact I once saw a documentary on the Inuits which showed a group of them out hunting seals in their kayaks, heating up a meal on one of these Coleman stoves which was sitting up on the bow of the kayak way out in the arctic sea.
AnswerID: 82494

Reply By: Schevchenko - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:41

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:41
I have had a small shellite stove for over 20yrs. Its something of an antique, with a little brass fuel tank. I think its ex military. I once HAD to put kero in it, still worked but stank. Shellite flushed it out and is definately best for mine. sounds like a V8 at full whistle.
AnswerID: 82507

Reply By: Twigiee - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:53

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:53
John,

I've had a coleman stove for around 4 yrs. i first bought it when i was working in east timor. It was used hrs per day for 6 months on low grade (local) kero for bath water, cooking etc. Had no problems with blockage of generator tube.

Twigiee
AnswerID: 82509

Reply By: blacky - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:03

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:03
We have been using a dual fuel stove since July 2002. It gets about 8 weeks use a year, cooking for the six of us. I have only ever used ULP (the main reason for going dual fuel over gas was to stop carry extra fuel ie gas bottles, shellite is expensive, and is an extra container to carry.). As i have not burnt anything but ULP, cannot comment on shellite being cleaner or hotter, but ULP is heaps hotter than gas, and it works no worries when it is cold (around zero). When I purchased the stove the store owner told me several tour operators run their dual fuel stoves on ULP only, and have to replace the generator every 3-4 years, and they are not that expensive. Have not done the economics, but we have put 25-30litres of ULP thru the stove, and it still is going strong, and is very convienient and simple to use. works great with the colman collapsable camp oven,
Ta
Cameron
AnswerID: 82511

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:59

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:59
Gday John,we've had ours for four years now and have only ever used ULP in it.Used it every day for three months last year and never missed a beat.Heaps easier carting a small 5 Lt container of ULP than gas bottles.We also use a Duell Fuel single mantle light too,a top light.
AnswerID: 82523

Reply By: Peter Guy - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 14:43

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 14:43
We have a 2 burner coleman dual fuel stove and its over 15 years old and looks it!!
It has done an awful lot of cooking and has been one of my best purchases. Always used ULP and I find after 20-30 hours of burning instaed of buying a new generater you simply unscrew the generator and remove the turning handle/spline from the casing and simply sand the build up of carbon smooth from the shaft - takes 10 minutes and you are back cooking again.
We found these petrol stoves are far more efficient than gas and it's good not having to worry about gas bottles / refilling etc.
AnswerID: 82547