Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:56
big bo
Could anyone inform me what they consider the best system for a camper trailer, hydraulic or mechanical braking.Thinking of a pioneer argyle 4x4.
Much appreciated.
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:01
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:01
Forget mechanical over-ride. Have to get out to lock the coupling everytime you want to reverse . IMHO a good leccie setup is the go. Adjustable on the fly and you get progressive braking from gentle to panic.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 09:55
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 09:55
G'day Big Bo,
Gotta agree with Rosco on this one. The electric brakes, whilst having some issues with dust and magnets etc, really are the best way to go IMHO. Those
Cape York tracks we travelled recently (when we saw you at
Weipa), had heaps of dust and a bit of
water....but the brakes never caused us any problems whatsoever.
Reply By: flappan - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:41
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:41
IMO , you should use nothing else BUT lecky brakes on an offroad van/CT. You at times need them to work independently of the vehicle , and these are the only ones that will.
Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:45
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:45
Ideally electric over hydaulic disk brakes. They are readily available but a bit costly. You'll find them readily enough via Google and the Internet.
Collyn Rivers
Reply By: big bo - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:15
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:15
Thanks Roachie,
Sorry to learn that you did not do all of the T
Follow Up By: big bo - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:22
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:22
Thanks Roachie,
Good to see you all got home safe, and why did'nt you do all of the Telegraph Track it was a 4x4 ball and great fun, my wife loved it and she also drove some of the crossings. I guess I will go with the standard supplied hydraulic braking system on the trailer.
safe travelling.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:15
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:15
G'day mate,
One of our blokes had a 2.7 petrol Prado without a
snorkel. We were a bit concerned that some of the
water x'ings might cause him to come to grief. We did do the bottom bit of the north half of Tele track (to
Fruit Bat Falls, Twin/Elliot Falls.......had a ball there swimming etc)
Cya mate
Reply By: big bo - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:31
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:31
Roachie,
I have a prado diesel without
snorkel and resorted to putting a blind on, even so I had my heart in my mouth at several of the crossings although not a drop of
water got into the air intake, particularly at the Nolan's brook crossing which was about 800mm deep.I will fit a
snorkel before my next big trip, a lot safer and fewer headaches.
ALL THE BEST.
Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:19
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:19
Our CT has after-market hydraulic. While I agree with the previous post about reversing ours perform satisfactorily.
Camper