New GQ - happy as Larry

Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:13
ThreadID: 17467 Views:3100 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
G'day All,

Finally picked up my new Fourby. The beast is a 1992 Nissan GQ ST4.2 Diesel. Its done 185000km and has been fitted with the following accessories: Bullbar, towbar, driving lights, OME suspension, Safari Snorkel, Dual Batteries, CD player, UHF, extractors and 2.5inch exhaust.

Put it this way, I'm as happy as a pig in poo. It's a dream to drive around. Hopefully I will get many more km's out of the beast.

Just one question to those that know about GQ's. Irealise that they have a truck-like gearbox, however driving her around town on the weekend, Sometimes I had to double -d-clutch when shanging back down to 3rd gear. This does not worry me so much, however my wife is learniong to drive (kid due in JAn) and she might struggle a little. Does anyone know if this is a common problem and if so, what it is? This particular car was used to tow a horse float, so maybe the gearbox/clutch has had a hard life. However, from reading this forum, I understand that if any vehicle can handle heavy towing, its a diesel GQ.

I test drove a couple of diesel GQ's a few weeks ago, and if it is not my imagination, I reckon the extractors might make a bit of difference. It's not mind blowing by any stretch of the imagination, however I'm pretty sure the difference is there. Put it this way it goes as well as my brothers 2.8td, perhaps a bit better.

Anyways, I'm very happy and I'm sure I'll get many trouble free Km's out of the vehicle. If it make me as happy as the troopy, I'll be stoked.

Jono

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:17

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:17
Used to own the GQ TD42 and never really had to double clutch. By no stretch of the imagination is it a racing box and you can't just jam it straight in from 4th.

Another possibility is that the clutch is tired, or in my case your as lazy as I and not pushing it all the way to the floor!

Sounds like a top truck mate, and you will find the extractors and 2.5 will allow it to breath better allowing for a cleaner smoother rev range.
AnswerID: 82530

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:35

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:35
Go here also truckster has a list of GQ common faults on his web site there is something in there relating to this problem.

AnswerID: 82531

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:03

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 20:03
As Chris said doubling the clutch is not normal... maybe second is on the way out.

May pay to have the box serviced, that way they can give you the best diagnosis

But then again you are as everyone should do on ANY car, change ALL oils and fluids before a week or 2... That may help the box too

Yes the extractors are your imagination! Did 0 to mine and 0 to the car that I sold them to go on to! (I know I helped tim fit em!)

Baz, its www.gqpatrol.com ;)

The patrol forum you listed has a massive archive of info on GQ and GU's..
AnswerID: 82604

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:01

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:01
Sorry maye just being lazy had that web page open at the time so just linked it, doing my homework before i take the plunge.
FollowupID: 341683

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:00

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:00
Just do it..
FollowupID: 341712

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:08

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:08
Jono,
Congrads on da beast !
Great cars in my opinion (am on my second one now)
As for the 4th to 3rd downshift, well it could be a few things.
Reading your post its quite possible the previous owners while towing that heavy float around may have downshifted a few times in ahurry and not allowed the syncro's to engague properly.
If that is the case i would say that the synco in 3rd is "rooted".
Before you start to panic though, checka few things without spending money.
I dont know how mechanically minded you are but try the following things first...or if your not sure how get a mechanic to do the first one for you, its a 15 second job.

1) Do a load test on your clutch. Hand brake on, engine running and engage 1st gear and slight acceleration let clutch out (not all the way or she will stall) and see if the car wants to take off or stall. Either one will suggest your clutch is ok. We are looking for slippage here ok.
TIP... IF your clutch is stuffed, get a mechanic to replace it at any cost....its NOT a job anyone would enjoy doing....trust me i know. Just make sure the kit they use is a good quality H/D kit.

2) chech the oil in gearbox for quality AND quantity. Also make sure its got the right oil in there and NO water mixed in. (just drain some intoa glass jar and let it set for a while..if you see different layers in the jar then chances are the oil is contaminated, is it is, take car for a drive get things hot, drain it. Allow it to drain as long as you can to get some of the gunk out. Then top it up with some good quality oil.
See how you go with that and get back to us ok...good luck.
AnswerID: 82621

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:58

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:58
Any pix yet bud on our great get away.
FollowupID: 341680

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:56

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:56
Hi Son

That was a pretty good description of things. My trucks gearbox has a growl in it when starting up in the mornings. Put foot on clutch and noise goes away. The previous owner said clutch had bee replaced 12 months ago. Can't be the release bearing as they come with the clutch kit. Someone suggested spigot bearing. Anyway I gave the box a good workout this past weekend. I find that if one drives these trucks all the time keeping up the mileage things seem to wear in to place. :o) Have clocked up 13000kms in two months which has included lots of 4x4-ing.

Lots of times with gear changes one gets lazy and you half clutch a gear change and then things go pear shaped. Yeah I would suggest that Jono change the oil in the box. Probably make a world of difference.
FollowupID: 341709

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:58

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:58
Willem, I'll still bet its the thrust bearing...
FollowupID: 341710

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 06:31

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 06:31
Hi Willem thats not the thrust bearing it's the main gearbox bearing or spigot the thrust bearing growls when clutch is disengaged we had this happen to us in tassie we took the car to the dearler in Hobart and they told me that when the the gearbox growls when the clutch is disengaged it's the main bearing and when it is engaged it is the thrust bearing or to put it another way clutch peddle in thrust bearing clutch peddle out main bearing.

FollowupID: 341727

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 09:56

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 09:56
Morning dad,
13000 in 2 months ay, not bad at all.
Mate could be 1 of 2 things ....
thrust bearing or imput shaft bearing.
My expierence with gearboxes tells me its the thrust bearing.
Lets face it...we all know how well built these boxes are right. So in my past expierences with gearboxes, Id lean towards the thrust bearing and my reason for this is as follows..

All pressure plates once tightened to the flywheel sit flush. The difference they have is the diaphram (where the thrust bearing sits when activated). That difference in design or length of the fingers can at times cause the bearing to "roll" while idle causing it to sound like a nagging wife....sorry ladies just playing with you.

Also not a common problem but a chance that the swing arm that the bearing sits in may be worn on its pivot point, thus causing it to travel a touch more than it should also causing the brg to rattle when idoling.

As for spiggot bearing, well i have never had to change one so the chances of that being the problem is remote (but still possible...always 1 out there somewhere).

My testing procedure with it is.....
first thing when car is cold, take it out of gear WITHOUT touching the clutch pedal then start her up. let it idle.
Now comes the good part.....
once you hear the noise, very slowly depress the clutch pedal until the noise has stopped. If the noise stops as soon as you depress the pedal, then its the thrust bearing.
If the noise is still there after you depress the pedal with a load on your foot and continues until the pedal reaches the floor, then it looks like the input shaft bearing is stuffed.
Dont forget you can have a combination of both at same time. Just listen to the sounds (pitch changes as you depress pedal)
But for such low Kms Willem, I would go the thrust bearing. Unless the oil has been contaminated but knowing you mate i doubt that has not yet been checked.
I hope i didnt confuse you ...i sure did myself thats for sure.
Take care mate and stay safe.
Angelo

FollowupID: 341745

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:53

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:53
Thanks Angelo for the detailed description...it will be the thrust bearing then. My mechanic says wait till its screaming before replacing it. I gave the clutch a workout over the past weekend and thinbgs are quiet down there in the box at the moment

Baz...thanks for your confusiing reply but I know where you are coming from......LOL
FollowupID: 341813

Reply By: colin - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 18:22

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 18:22
first thing i would do is drop all the oilsin the running gear and replace with top of the line penrite oils, the rear diff is a LSD so will need special oil as this oil is self depleting so should be changed every 20,000ks. You will notice a difference in the operation of the box. Fitting of a bigger exhaust and running finer filters you will notice a big improvement in fuel economy, but will still be a slug on hills and deep sand. All this from still owning the same year model. I ended up fitting a super chargher which really finishes of a top vehicle. Col
AnswerID: 82908