tyres? im new at this.
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 22:56
funksoulbruffa
hi i we have just purchased a demo model st-l patrol its done 34500 klms and the tyres are just about done.i am new to 4wding so i would not be able to tell if a tyre salesman was having a lend of me or not. we will be doing more beach work than bush work if anyone can advise me a tyre type/style i would be very gratefull.also i will be putting a 2way radio in but would like to have the abilaty to talk car to car and car to boat i think they are different freq.like i said im am new to this so i am sorry if it is a bit of a boring question to that which you are yous to but we all have to start somewhere.
thank you
john & jody
perth
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:04
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:04
Have a bit of a search of the archives on tires for sand and UHF radios, you will find plenty of good info available.
what sort of $ did you save with an ex demo?
Follow Up By: funksoulbruffa - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:42
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:42
gday mate firstly thanks for leaving me some info. next i reckon i have saved $15000.00 from new car price i have called on so many nissan dealers in
perth to get quotes on what i wanted i really got sick of looking but in the end we got the right deal .we got exactly what we wanted we have it booked in to ARB on friday to get the dual batterys and the compressor(under the bonnet fitted type)???? i was told to go with nothing less than fitted compressors. also got a compass and a 40 ltr engel fridge a power outlet in the back.im not sure about this turbo timer thing (do i need one ) i have a alloy roof rack getting fitted on friday as
well(i think im in the wrong trade $1250.00 for a roof rack) fwaaaaaaaaaa any way thanks for your help
john & jody
perth
Follow Up By: duncs - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:40
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:40
Hey John,
Sounds like your heading in the right direction with the car. I would recommend that you put the compressor under the front passenger
seat.
It's a lot cooler and cleaner under there. I had
mine under the bonnet originally and it would cut out due to heat after only a couple of min pumping.
The ARB compressor is a little beauty and fits nicely under the
seat without interfering witht the air vent. It is also easy to access, I leave the hose attached all the time. It lies under the floor mat and into the luggage space, sits coiled in that useless little pocket just under the side window.
As for tyres, I run BF Goodrich ATR's and lilke them couple of guys at work are running Goodyear MTR's and they seem pretty good too.
Have fun
Duncs.
Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:06
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:06
With tyres I would stick to known brand names. Like BF Goodrich or Coopers or Goodyear. If beach is your thing then perhaps something like a Cooper A/T or a BFG Long Trail?
I don't know of any UHF radios that do UHF and Marine frequencies. GME is an excellent brand though.
You're right though, there are millions of tyre threads in the archive but this will give you something to start with.
Follow Up By: duncs - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:45
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:45
Just to follow up on the UHF thing,
My dad lives on a boat and I have looked at adding a couple of marine channels to my GME 3200 so I can chat with him but it hasn't been done.
I am with the firebrigade and asked a couple of our radio techs about doing it. It is apparently technically poissible and not too difficult to do but the problem is convincing a radio tech to do it, apparently it is illeagal.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:33
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:33
Like others have said below Marine is a 27Mhz radio while UHF is 477Mhz. I know you can vary the frequency a bit illegally but even if you could you would need to run two antennas.
Reply By: Gossy - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 12:13
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 12:13
As mentioned before, there is heaps of info on tyres in archive but just take note that most people have their own opion and will push that but I personally think it comes down to driver skill and knowing you and your veh's limitations. And the only way on finding this info out is to just go out there and try things. Most people say that wider tyres are good on sand but I run Cooper ST's (skinny) and I go exactly the same
places as everyone else. I personally think tyre pressure is more important than the tyre being wide/skinny. I use to live in
Perth and went up to
Lancelin a fair bit with the Army so that's is worth the trip. Great place to visit (and
Wedge Island). You will never regret
buying a 4wd in
Perth!
If you are going onto sand though it is important to get a good Compressor so you can pump your tyres back up again after a day of fun. You will also need a good snatch strap(s) also with decent shakles. Eventually you will get bogged! I hope I am not telling you to "suck eggs" but you have mentioned that you are new to 4wd'ing. General rule is that you use your own gear to get you out of trouble. Also make sure you have good recovery point on your veh. If not, they are easily fitted by a trained person. Good to have one on the back and two on the front if you can. Having two can share the load over the car when getting pulled out.
Anyway, good luck with it all. As long as you stick with a big brand name tyre you should be fine. It's not like sand will chew up your tyres like the
Birdsville track etc etc so which every tyre you choose it should last a long time.
Reply By: trolute - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 14:51
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 14:51
Agree with Gossy, tyre pressure is vital. In my old 4WD, which had skinny old 7.50x16, I would go
places with the tyre down around 15 psi.
Now have Patrol, and have 285/75x16, and all it means on the sand is that I can get further before letting out the air, but you should still reduce air, as it spreads the load better, and avoids envrionmental damage. I run about 20psi with these fatter tyres, and it hums along. I have a cheap
hand pump and an electric ($80) from SupaCheap. 4WD shops pumps are nice, but overpriced, IMHO. Handpump will never fail, is light, and can also be used for............ inflating stuff!
Be aware that if you go aggressive treads, like I have (bridgestone MT) then if you start to slow in the sand, dont put the boot down, as the muddies will dig strainght into the sand. AT tyres are better in the sand unless you are really racing along.
Boats are different freq (VHF) and vehicles are ussually UHF. There are no radios that I know of that have both. GME make nice radios, and are Oz company.
TrolUte
Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 16:09
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 16:09
Far as I know entry level boat comms is 27 meg marine - A GME unit plus a good antenna with base would be $300. UHF is best for most short distance land comms so you would need the two systems it seems - or maybe not ! Re tyres, just about anything let down to low pressure would be good in sand, IF driven properly. When you get onto the stones in the outback, tyre choice is a much bigger issue IMO. I'm often changing pressures to suit the terrain- sand, bitumen and gravel/stones - I reckon its worth it - an electric pump is just about a must if you want to get into that.
Reply By: Rob! - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:47
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:47
The Uniden UHO90 has both 447 UHF and 27 AM. RRP $495
or $334 at presitge comms with free delivery.
R.
Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:49
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:49
here's the link for
prestige
Reply By: thehobbit - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:20
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:20
One thing I have noticed in the replies I have read, no-one has mentioned INSURANCE, make sure you dont buy tyres that are not on the tyre placard in your glove box. If you do make sure you contact your ins comp and either inform them of the tyre size fitted. Most tyre compaies worth their salt will advize you of this, I'm very glad Rob Tucket of Tyrepower in Hastings Vic warned me about this issue and suggested I contact my Insurance Company before buying.
I you have a bingle they can if they want to, refuse to pay up !! NOT GOOD !!!