gq fair price

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 19:11
ThreadID: 17534 Views:3591 Replies:8 FollowUps:16
can any one give me a rough figure i could expect for a mid 92 Pearl Grey GQ LWB ST , 4.2 turbo ( safari ) diesel , Long range fuel tanks ( 145 + 75 ) , rear diff locker , Coopers st 16inch on GU rims , 2 inch heavy duty springs with Koni shockers , Front axle has been laminated , 10,000 warn winch on arb winch bar , Ipf Driving lights , Side rails , Kaymar rear bar Jerry can holder and spare wheel , Tradesman roofrack , Snorkle , UHF and AM in dash pod , Roof Console , 60 stainless water tank with cargo barrier to suit , Draw system , side boxes , table on Barn door , Glind Shower , Cav Diesel filter system , Dual Battery system , 285,000 km with regular servicing. Looking at upgrading to something newer.

Reply By: ColinD - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 19:38

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 19:38
If you were in W.A. I would expect to pay about 20-22k, given that a base non-turbo 13-16k for that number of km's. ( Two month owner of 92 diesel Mav)..................col
AnswerID: 82912

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:03

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:03
Dreaming lol........unfortunately accesseries mean nothing much for resale........take them off and sell them privately then sell car standard. In my opinion there is not a GQ around that age worth near 20k. A 95 update garaged with 50 000 kms maybe. But what do i know??????15-16 would be my guide.
FollowupID: 341940

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:56

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:56
I love it when people say accessories mean nothing to resale... What a load of crap. Thats only to a caryard.

So you have 2 cars same yr, same everything but 1 is bog stock and the other is a modded one with all the rear storage, suspension, tires, radios, etc etc on it.

The modded one is $4k more you wouldnt buy it with all the extras that would cost you $10k? Thought so
FollowupID: 341969

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 07:50

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 07:50
Read what i sad..nothing much!!! You say yourself that the 10k worth of access is only worth 4k lol. Sell them privately and you will get more.
FollowupID: 341983

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 08:44

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 08:44
That's crap Truckster. Extras may get you an extra 2 or 3k at sale, but as above, probably set you back 7-10k. Pull em' off, use em' on your next truck and sell what doesn't fit. You'll be better off...

And more people are realising a truck with lockers, big suspension and toys only mean it's probably done some hardcore offroading and want something stock to build up that they know hasn't been flogged.
FollowupID: 341987

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:14

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:14
Brew: if you think you will get more than $4k for $10k of accessories second hand your dreaming... And it was more the point that the car with the accessories looks more appealing to a buyer even if it costs more bucks. for $10k more in accessories I'd be happy to pay $6k if they were the RIGHT accessories I wanted, and $4k in my pocket is better than Mr ARBs pocket.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Chris: So your car with tires and suspension etc has been hard core flogged? No, it doesnt mean that at all does it?

It means that the bloke set it up to be as good as it can be. So a car with lockers and toys automatically means hard core driven LMAO

- - - -

I can show you many cars without lockers that have been hardcore FLOGGED and some driven in competitions.. so does that mean all cars without lockers and toys has been hard core driven?

And finally how many cars on this board have lockers, suspension mods and squillions of toys that have been hard core driven?? About 0.00000000000001%?
FollowupID: 341988

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:47

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:47
All I can go on truckster is my previous business I ran locating 4wd's for first time and also seasoned travellers. I would suggest around 70% weren't looking for a tricked up truck, they preferred the peace of mind of a long service history, and chatting with the previous owner...I know I wouldn't buy a 4wd with 4 inch kit, mudders and lockers.

I guarantee you that there are more tricked up trucks flogged than standard...go to landcruiser park in QLD, most are sweet looking trucks when they start running the toys, bit of peer pressure etc and there floggin' it trying to get up that hill, happens all the time. 1 out of 50 cars might be standard.

Can't remember, may have been 'flash' on this site only got $13,000k for a totally tricked up truck, not much considering that there was 8 or 9k's worth of toys hanging off it, you'd still get 12k for a nice GQ even if it had 285k's on it.

In my opinion, re-use as much as you can, and leave the rest. If your trading in, pull it all off, they won't give you nuttin'.
FollowupID: 341994

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:28

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:28
Ever had an arguement with someone who is never wrong? I give up.
FollowupID: 342049

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:30

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:30
Brew...someone who thinks there never wrong...right alot of the time, yes, but in this case, we disagree, purley I'd suggest through experience! Let's agree with each other! ;-)
FollowupID: 342050

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:02

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:02
What a sensational sounding unit.

The only option missing is a personal masseur.

Can't suggest a price to you, but it sounds like a great truck.

At any fair price it sounds like the deal.

Consider; locker $1400, glind $600 fitted, dual battery $900, turbo $3,500, lift kit $750, winch $2000, bar $1,200, snorkle $600, lights $400, roofrack $700, radios $550, water tank $400, L/R tanks $1,000, roof console $300 etc etc etc. Don't know if my suggested prices are exactly accurate but they're thererabouts.

Get a basic one and try fitting the options you have mentioned and you can add at least $15K.

Good Luck with your projects,

Jim
AnswerID: 82920

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:53

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:53
My truck is a 94 non turbo bought two months or so ago with 267,000 on the clock. In very good condition with no accessories. I paid $13,000 and spent another $5000 putting on bits and pieces.

Accesories do not add on to the value of the vehicle and you would be hard pressed to get $11,000 for your truck unless you find a sucker.............dealers also are not interested in accessories and would rather trade a stock standard vehicle.

I would strip everything off the vehicle for use on another or somewhere else.

Thats what I did with my last old truck and then I gave it away for free.
AnswerID: 82932

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:58

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:58
You would be hard pressed to get $11k for that truck you think?

Mate sold twin of mine but manual, same donk, same tires, no rear storage, no radios, also turbo, but 3in lift, and very shiney, washed more than driven... he had 20 callers at $18,500 sold it day 1... That was 1 month ago.

yes DEALERS are not interested in modded, but humans are.
FollowupID: 341970

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:43

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:43
Your all not looking close enough , Safari . Import , good luck
FollowupID: 341976

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:17

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:17
Your not looking close enough, Safari TURBO... Not import..

he wont need luck!

(__o__)
FollowupID: 341991

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 13:08

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 13:08
Hey Trucky

A fool and his money are easily parted..........lol

Now what is that last signature of yours...I take it, its a Brown Eye .....(_0_)..hahahahaha...... but where did you find the small ring?
FollowupID: 342028

Follow Up By: ColinD - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:04

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:04
As I stated above, and I agree with Truckster, 20-22k. Private sale.
I have a mate who makes a living from buying base model 4bys, tricking them and making a huge profit on the sale.........people do buy modded 4X4's........Red Book puts them about $11,500 base...............col
FollowupID: 342071

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 07:29

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 07:29
They say there is a sucker born every minute.........Looks like it might be more than one lol
FollowupID: 342120

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:01

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:01
I reckon you would clear $22k without trying...
try www.outerlimits4x4.com mate sold his as i said above in a day for $18500 without 1/2 the gear you have.

"Kaymar rear bar Jerry can holder and spare wheel"
if your interested in swapping rear bars and $ Im in s/east melb..
AnswerID: 82949

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:44

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:44
You lost your touch ?
FollowupID: 341977

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:15

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:15
touch?
FollowupID: 341989

Reply By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 10:35

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 10:35
Off the topic......I know,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but I wonder what Trucksters blood pressure would be when he fires up like this and answers some of these responses...................... LOL
Karen

Only joking Truckster
AnswerID: 82980

Reply By: motherhen - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:24

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:24
Go to redbook.com.au for all car values and research
AnswerID: 83057

Reply By: Vinnie - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:59

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:59
Robsil
At best estimate you would be looking around $20K for that truck. A lot of bells and whistles yes and they depreciate too. It sounds well stocked and ready for work and play.
My bog stock Maverick LWB I bought just over 12 months ago, 142,000ks TD42, set me back $16,500, I spent to date around $10k on extras and would be lucky to get my original price back today.

Vinnie
AnswerID: 83064

Reply By: robsil - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 22:52

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 22:52
i have just got home and it looks like i have stired things up .the gq has been set u p as a tourer and has been well maintained.dont like the thought of being stuck out in the back blocks where it will cost you plenty . swaping some of accs to a new gu ute is ok ,but not a lot will fit .the complete package set up i would think suit some one. might give it a go and see what happens if i dont sell iwill give trucky a call, i am in south east melb . thanks for youre varied opinions ,it makes you think alot more .
AnswerID: 83192