Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:20
Willem
On the way to
Robe last week I weighed the truck at an official weighbridge. Needless to say I was pretty surprised to see what the GQ weighed. This weight was with a full
tank of juice, tucker, normal
camping gear and no unnecessary extras. It did not include the two humans, 80 litres of extra fuel or the extra spare wheel.
GVM on my GQ is 2800kg.............Ruby(the GQ) weighed in at 2740kg without occupants!
So I guess my truck will always be 300 to 400kg over the GVM limit including occupants, from time to time.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:38
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:38
Willem,
It does not take much to tip them over the GVM. I weighed the 80 once at a waste transvere station (rubbish tip) so the weight would not be 100% accurate but it was very close to the 3.5 tonn. I don't want to start a my vehicle is heavier than yours war, just saying how heavy the vehicles can get with a few extras fitted. The aftermarket
suspension industry rely on this too help sell heavy duty springs, and the insurance company to find a loop hole when it comes time to pay out.
Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:40
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:40
SHIRL is 3200kg, loaded with mountains of bleep + 2 blokes, 2nd spare, extra fuel, tucker,
water for a week.
Got to drive a bit differently when loaded like that........
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:55
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:55
Rick
How many bottles of Red equate to mountains of bleep ........:o)
Yeah, but your GVM is probably 3200kg
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:46
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:46
Willie,
Don't exaggerate, you're nothing like 300 kg's. I thought you would have only tipped the scales at around 180 kg, maybe 185 in the wet red jocks ROFLMAO.
Sorry mate.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:10
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:10
You are going to be SORRY...........I also know people who know people who know people....hahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:38
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:38
isnt there a pic , of you snatching the jerrycan Willem , send it to me , ill fix him for you lol
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 07:32
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 07:32
No such luck, I got it out with a shovel.
Reply By: Pete G - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:13
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:13
G'day Willem
You will pleased to know that the new 3.0 Subie is allowed to tow 2300kg's. Seems that Nissan lack ba==lls in the GVM/GCM Department - it is only upto some pen pusher in our national capital, That aparrent comensense allows a prime mover to now tow a trailer heavier than the Prime Mover. Try going down the path of fitting same tyres as the ute (cost me $ 18 for the glove box sticker for my GU 2 wagon but with the ute tyres I should now have the higher GVM (I also went for the LT tyres). Rember the Eureaka Stockade and Ned Kelley
Pete G
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 11:20
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 11:20
Hi Pete
It is a bit difficult to compare a '94 4by with an 04 4by. Back then the politics of ADR's and manufacturers specifications was different. Normal towing regulations Australia wide allows one to tow and object(caravan etc) 1.5 times the weight of the tow vehicle. Towing is nothing.............. stopping the beast is everything...lol
The Eureka Stockade and Ned Kelly?...sorry mate, a bit before my time...hahahahahahaha
Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 08:49
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 08:49
Hey Willem - great minds....etc I too took my GU 2.8tdi over a public weighbridge in
Maryborough (QLD) on the way back from my recent
Cape York trip. My rego papers have the truck's GVM at 2910Kgs - I went 3200kgs and this with no booze, very little food, no spare diesel and the
water tank empty. I think I going to have to do something about this problem - I have an extra beefy
suspension and good AT tyres but methinks the roof rack (Tradesman Oval steel with full mesh floor) will have to make way for something lighter. I really don't want to tow anything.
Pete
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 11:27
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 11:27
Pete
One forgets the bullbar, winch, HF aerial, spots, tow hitch and roof rack which must weigh a bit. My steel rims are also quite a bit heavier than the alloys, which came as standard with this model. Then there is the MDF storage system and fridge and tucker and bits'npieces.....yeah it all adds up
Maybe I should take the truck to Jenny Craig......'cause it doesn't work for me......lol
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 12:00
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 12:00
Willem as I was reading this thread I was just thinking that the cause of the problem could just be the very fine home cooking that you have to put up with.
Jenny Craig does not work for me either mate.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 13:01
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 13:01
John........Aren't you supposed to be at work?...or has your ship come in again lol
Yeah, the good cooking...and then your brain tells you..."Com'on you are hungry" when you aren't and all that good food settles in
places that make you jump when you see your reflection in a
shop window...hahahaha
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 12:31
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 12:31
It would be interesting to know how much John Rs truck weights he told me when i was down there but can't remember excactly i know it was heavy i think heavier than our Explorer and camper combined. Looking at your rig pic the weight of your truck doesn't seem to affect you too much in the sand if you can drive off from that, a combination of good tyres with low pressure & driver skill Willem.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 12:56
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 12:56
Hi Baz
Low tyre pressures do make life a lot easier in sandy country. A lot od people are nervous about letting the pressures down too low as they are afraid of running the tyre off the rim. If you drive carefully that won't happen. In my previous rig pic I drove into the deep sand in 1st High Range and out in 2nd Low Range without spinning the
wheels unduly.
I am not sure what Johns truck weighs and it could be that he had a reasonably big fuel load on board as his rig carries 160lts.
Once in the deep sand there is no tim,e for pussyfooting around. You need momentum. My lug type Coopers did help in the sand although most outback sand driving of years ago was done in Landrovers with smooth skinny tyres and about 10psi!
Follow Up By: Nick R - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:33
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:33
I think JohnR's rig is up around 3.6t with the box on the back all packed up and with fuel. It also has a heavy piece of steel welded across the chassis above the rear spring mounts which added another 30 or so Kgs. I know when I took it up to the Howqua in January I had to take it easy, needed a really stiff anti roll bar!!! It handled
well on the freeway but really noticed the roll on the
Goulburn Valley Highway. We were packed up with gear for 8 people, needed a few more pounds in the bags. He thought we might have tipped the 4 t mark.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:48
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:48
"A lot of people are nervous about letting the pressures down too low as they are afraid of running the tyre off the rim"
Good point Mr Willem...
I dont know why so many people are that worried about letting tires down. You hear some say "I went down from 38psi down to a low of 30psi.." which is nothing really!
I've run similar pressures, 12-14psi many times, no issues, BUT its all about HOW you drive with lower pressures.. If you hit a corner flatout and swing the steering, you have a very good chance of rolling a tire off.. but if you use your brain and realise that you dont really need to drive at Warp Factor 12 Mr Sulu you should be quite safe...
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 18:59
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 18:59
G'day Baz,
Back home from the races now, went to Oaks Day to meet my bankers and their bosses.
I have seen on here before about fully laden Troopies and breadboxes being at a mass of about 3.8t so all going
well beyond their GVMs so I guess that is why we all lift the capacity of the rear springs.
I really think the problem of last weeks bogging was the soft sand rather than anything else at the point where I was. There were four bogged on that beach that day and all lighter than my vehicle guys. I had been running at 16-17psi and dropped to 12 psi but higher up
the beach. I don't know what footprint others had though, some were definitly wider like Andrews 100 and muddies have teeth to dig holes with as Eric showed after when he went to the chassis in an easy spot.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:52
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:52
Is there anyway to upgrade the GVM limit on a vehicle?