Complete Guide to Canning Stock Route
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:37
Member - Luxoluk
4WD Monthly has been touting it's "Your Complete Guide - Start to Finish" of the
Canning Stock Route as the lead feature for the Dec 05 issue. I figured its gunna be a good comprehensive read and expectantly awaited the arrival of the mag in the mail. Now I'm trying not to whinge here but I am annoyed that a mag of this calibre can treat it's readership so contempteously as to suggest that their article represents a "complete guide". I challenge Editor Pat to trek off with this article under his arm and to see how much he gets out of his Canning experience. If it wasn't for Roachie's rig being featured I'd have consigned this uncharactoristically poor edition to the bin. Maybe I am whinging but I just had to vent this disappointment even if nobody's listening??
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:45
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:45
Luxoluk,
I will check it out as soon as I can get a copy of the mag, and see how far I can go with the info that is in it next year when I do the CRS
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:05
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:05
Leigh. It's rather dissapointing when magazines sensationalize the front cover on a subject you're particually interestesd in. I think it's happened to us all and most mags do it to arouse interest and increase sales. I've felt cheated a number of times.
Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:23
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:23
Hi Ray & Leigh
Only way I will see Roachie's item & the mag is if some one takes the magazine on a trip I'm on, I believe when rolled up they are a good way of joining snatch straps though. Another think I don't understand is why they appear to come out a month early.
Cheers fellow trippers
Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:25
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:25
Hi Ray. Good to hear from you! Yeah I think you summed it up
well particularly about the feeling cheated bit. Shame really as I like the mag and have subscribed to it for another year..including the free Staun tyre deflators which were an inducement. Cheers and look forward to catching up again soon.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:25
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:25
Jeez Leigh,
Thanks for putting it like that.....makes a bloke feel kinda important. I haven't read that far into the mag yet.....can't seem to prise it away from my kids.
Cya mate
Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:18
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:18
Roachie,
I think its time to scan some of the photos out of “Your Magazine” and add them to your Profile like the one on Page 13 and 15 oh and definitely 16 and maybe the one of you and your Tin Lid on 18. What the hek scan em’ all there all great photos mate good article too.
Well Done
Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:57
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:57
Even if you emptied the mag of it's 70% add content it still wouldn't be thick enough to fit a "Complete Guide" in. Stick with Eric Guards guide & you will see a whole lot more & not get sucked into buying unneccesary accesories.
As for a "Mag of this Calibre" it's been going down
hill for years;-)
Craig.............
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 22:36
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 22:36
Interesting posting.
Many years ago I subscribed to most of the "Off Road" mags and read them assiduously from front to back. For quite a while I gave them a miss, however recently I succumbed to the urge and spent a dollar or two on a 12 month subscription to one which shall remain nameless.
IMHO it's the biggest load of tripe that has been foisted on the unsuspecting public for quite some time. Suffice to say I will not be renewing my subscription and neither will I be paying for some other heap of garbage to present me with a plethorae of advertising drivel from page 2 till the end.
Much more informative info on sites such as this.
There ... I feel much better now, now where's my cup of tea and a Bex.
Cheers all
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 06:32
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 06:32
Lux a few months ago that mag gave a so called guide to
cape york in 10 days there and back.
They had that many mistakes in it it was a joke wrong place names wrong river crossings and advise.
They turned the trip into a hell trip.
Now this is my opinion only in the cape this year was one of the highest rate of roll overs and accidents on record. I was told this by many road houses and people we know.
In my opion that mag gives the 4wd world a bad name.
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 06:34
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 06:34
They also seem to have to do every thing with 27 cases of beer.
Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:34
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:34
the thing that turned me off was when they got to
the tip of
cape york (on their dvd) they stuck one of their stickers on the pole of the
sign there. I also don't like the fact that the mag is 1-2 months early, and they hound you to renew your subscription with 12 issues remaining!!! I certainly won't be renewing
mine.
Rob
Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:51
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:51
Just got that phone call Rob. All sorts of offers to entice me to extend my current sub, which has months left to run. The trouble is, the mag has been on the stands here in the city for over a week now and I still haven't received my subscription copy :-(
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:08
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:08
You try and advertise with them the mag comes out that far in advance you cant keep up with the months you want to advertise.
You end up paying for 2 or 3 issues you didnt want to.
eric
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 07:15
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 07:15
As long as you understand the role of these magazines you won't be disappointed. Their sole purpose is to make money for the Packers et al. Any other outcome (provide useful information, public service etc) is purely co-incidental.
I used to buy them a lot, but I was depressed and using them as a form of escapism. Better that than hitting the pokies or the pXss I guess.
Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 08:27
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 08:27
I buy these magazines from time to time & I also wonder why the editions are for the next month. Also, I have noticed that everything related to their trips is about how much beer they can drink; who cares? ( not that I don't like a beer myself, but it gets a bit monotonous). And, I'm get a bit sick of seeing pages & pages of the writer's same vehicles every month being pushed to destruction!!!! The obvious answer is not to buy the mags & save some money.
Sparky
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:19
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:19
Everyone else has said it, but I will beef too! To do the Canning you need to have done some outback trekking, have pored over the Gardes' book for a year, and then bought and read up both the Westprint and Hema maps. To suggest that the superficial piece in $WD Monthly is "Your Complete Guide" is more than a bit rich!
No doubt, magazines (which I have read and moaned about for 17 years) contain a lot of codswallop. Their only redeeming feature is that they can give you ideas where to go and what to do, and they fill in a few hours dreaming when you can't get out there.
But, much as they talk lots about protecting reputation of 4WDers, Tread Lightly and so on, they do some stoopid things that only add to the pressure to lock us out and control where we go. I got their "Big Red to the Beach" video as my subscription renewal inducement this year, and was horrified to see them boasting about coming up the
Birdsville Track after dark at 90 km/h. Unless they were trying to build up business for the servo at
Birdsville to go out and drag in wrecked fourbys, then that is just irresponsible. There's heaps of other macho stuff that might sell magazines but does not promote responsible tourism.
As for getting their facts right - forget it. Every touring article has lots of errors in it!
Grrrr!
Reply By: Mr Z - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 19:18
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 19:18
i doubt very much that most people would rely on a magazine for a trip like this.... if they did they deserve trouble....
its more of an inspiration to travel to these great
places
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 00:02
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 00:02
Yes Z I agree if you head off to the canning with a mag for a guide then you are an idiot, just to get you excited about going is all they do and ha how many of us sit back and say ha im wanna go there it looks great , so lighten up guys and us them to make plans on where to go not how to go ???
Reply By: robsil - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:18
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:18
if you can be botherd, why dont we all send them an email telling them what you think,youre at the computer now,give em a serve. problem is they stated (complete guide) email 4wd@expresspublications.com.au
Reply By: Member - David P (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 16:48
Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 16:48
Couldn't agree with you more. The article was,at best, superficial and showed a lack of real committment to the readership and was nothing more than a revenue raising exercise for the magazine.
I have emailed my displeasure to the publishers. I will let you know if i get a response.
David P