DSE 12V Oven...Cheap
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:46
Mad Dog (Victoria)
That 12 volt Jaycar oven at $49.95 that Jimbo reported on a few weeks ago is now available for $24.92 at Dick Smith, yes it appears to be the same unit. Don't know if this is a regular price or a special.
At that price I just had to have one. I gave it a test run with one pie this evening and I agree with Jimbo....it's a cracker.
Cat Number M4515
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:54
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 20:54
Would almost be worthwhile Truckster getting one to preheat his gas canisters LOL !!!
Wolfie
Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:05
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:05
lol sounds like a sure fire way to have your name listed in the
Darwin Awards
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:07
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:07
thats very funny.... lol
Follow Up By: Billy - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:38
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:38
LOL LOL, best one I seen in a while Wolfie. Good one.
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:07
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:07
Mad Dog,
It's a pearler at $50 and at $25 you woouldn't be without one.
The catch is pretty flimsy and broke off at
Robe so I now use a 50 cent ocker strap to keep it closed.
Trip to
Robe; Stevo and I had Pies and Sausage Rolls cost me $3, at the takeaway joints $10. Lunches on the day trips at
Robe were Pies, Pasties, Sausage Rolls, Hot Dogs. So easy, so cheap. In the end Willem was calling lunch according to "when Jim's pies are ready".
Dim Sims on the way home, magnificent.
Stick some left over sausages in a foil container, grab a loaf of fresh bread and you've got a mobile sausage sizzle.
Bloody magnificent little unit.
Jim
Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:15
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:15
Hey Jimbo, are you talking about frozen pies and snag rolls? and how long is it running to get them at a decent gobble down temp?
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:24
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:24
I intend to make it a permanent feature in the back of the ute with a bracket to slip into. I'm looking forward to hot food, pies etc on day trips rather than rolls and health food crap that the missus packs :)
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:28
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:28
Gajm,
I usually use defrosted Pies. Takes about 50min to an hour to get them STINKING hot. I don't like a pie unless it burns the roof of my mouth. Need to turn them over at least once during warming time.
Four pies, about 1.5 hours and rotate them every 20-30 mins.
Frozen pies would take a little longer, just put them on earlier.
Great for travelling, if stopped it draws about 8 amps, hard on your battery. Having said that my son Stevo had Apple Pies and Cream two nights at
Robe. Sucked a bit out of the batt, 45 min @ 8 amps won't kill your batt.
Two snag rolls, even if fozen would be at an edible temp in less than an hour.
Love my food,
Fat Jim.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:33
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:33
Hey Mad Dog,
A bit of left over stew, pasta, casserole etc in those foil containers you get from the
supermarket is great. Heat it early enough and then ckuck a couple of those great par baked rolls under the container to bake and you're really laughing.
Any wonder I'm fat.
If you don't eat, you dont shi........
Reply By: motherhen - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:16
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:16
I WANT ONE! With my husband's love of buying expensive hot pies when travelling in out of the way
places, not to mention the sausage sizzle idea - it is just what i want. Couldn't find it on the Dick Smith website. How long does it take to heat up a frozen pie? Hope i can find one when i next get to our nearest Dick Smith store.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:21
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 21:21
I have no idea how long a frozen pie would take but from thawed took 30 min this evening.
Enter the cat no in the search box and it comes up...M4515
Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 22:18
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 22:18
What an amazing looking device!
And we have two members who vouch for them that they work.
Here is the link to Trickies website
Looks like a trip to DSE tomorrow.
Muddy 'doe
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 22:47
Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 22:47
That looks exactly like the one I have Muddy.
Same cheap plastic clip LOL.
Heats up food a treat.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 08:48
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 08:48
Was it the shaft that broke Jim or the plastic clip. Looks like it comes apart with 4 screws, not sure if the shaft is metal or plastic. I should be able to make up an identical clip from metal at work. I wonder about the hinges also.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 18:31
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 18:31
It was the little "bar" on the end of the satch with the red writing on it. The "shaft" is not a shaft running through the catch, rather just a couple of plastic lugs moulded into the catch.
If you're going to make one, can you make two and I'll fix you up for it.
The hinges look reasonably solid.
Reply By: beatit - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:23
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:23
Just popped into my local Dick Smiths to pick one up and apparently they have them on hold pending a quality check - it appears they have found a problem(?) with the unit.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:46
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:46
Sorry about that. They sold me one at 5.00pm last night. I didn't realise there was a potential problem with it.
Reply By: Savvas - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:56
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:56
Have you guys found these to stay cool on the outside while operating?
Just wondering if you're able to run them inside the car while driving, or is it a "use while stationary" scenario.
Either way, I'll be off to buy one this weekend.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 15:03
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 15:03
Jimbo will know better than me and hopefully he jumps in here. Last night after 30min use the top of the unit was very cool while the bottom was warm to the touch. Yes no problem using them while on the move but over rough ground make sure it is restrained otherwise you may end up with upside down food.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 18:36
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 18:36
The case gets slightly warm in
places. The lid always stays cool as the heating element is in the base.
100% safe to use in the car while travelling. You could rest your hand on the warm spots all day, they never get anything like hot.
The ideal time to use them is on the move as you are getting power from the alternator. When stopped they do drain your batt at around 8 amps. Up to you to decide if you have the batt capacity to handle this.
DS at Dandenong had a supply of them today.
Reply By: paj - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:20
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:20
How much do they hold? Are we talking 4 pies and it's full?
Paj
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:38
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:38
Yes,
4 pies max.
Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 11:53
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 11:53
Hi Ray
Bought one this morning....for the price a good little unit. See all sorts of possibilities. No mention of them being on hold in the Glen Waverley DS store. Thanks for the post mate, I'd have never have discovered it otherwise. Cheers
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 12:50
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 12:50
Yes it's a great little jigger Leigh, quick no fuss hot snacks in the bush is very appealing. The
forum is a great vehicle to disseminate information and our collective knowledge makes us very clever...I think :)
Reply By: mr diamond - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 16:50
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 16:50
going to get one first thing in the morning.thanks mate.
mmmmmmmmmmmmmm pizza.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:17
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:17
Jim,
Don't get too excited. I don't think they'll do much of a job with Pizza because they dont get any heat from the top, therefore the chance of a nice browned top on your Pizza just wont happen. If your'e just reheating already cooked pizza it will be OK.
Also you will be lucky to fit more than two slices at a time. Possibly four if you rotate them as they warm.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:17
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:17
Hey old tiger, you will need a few of them to feed all your mob. Best not tell them about it, just slip around the back every now and then for a quick bite.