Generators Honda EU10 vrs Yamaha blue whisper
Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:28
kelpie
I am in the market for a Generator and would like to hear good or bad re the Honda EU10 v Yamaha Blue Whisper EF1000!S. i heard from the Yamaha rep that the honda has a problem with fuel flooding on rough trips where the yamaha has a self drain on carbie!!.
I have a 60ltr Engel fride/freezer combo and general
camp items.
Would EU10 be ok or should i go up to Eu20
Also i hear that Engle are supposed to be bringing out a generator in the near futrue!
Reply By: beatit - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:45
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:45
Hi Kelpie,
Not sure from where your posting, but I have a Honda Eu20 and think it does a great job
camping AND last summer we had a power outage in Brissie for a whole weekend. This unit was able to run the fridge, freezer, telly, DVD player and a host of lights. My neighbours didn't even know we were using a genie even though we ran it all night. So I'm saying, think about alternitive uses to get more value out of the genie and you may want the bigger unit.
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:08
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:08
Hi Kelpie
Dont think there would be much in it, both good units, I would be going for the best deal of the 2, but I would go with 1000w as eu2 is much bigger to lump around and 1000w would be heaps to run what you want with plenty to spare.
Reply By: nickoff - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:42
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:42
Many years ago, I purchased a Robin r650 4stroke genset. Output 450w constant, 550w max surge on 240v ac, 100w (8.3A) 12 d.c. I has a two litre fuel tank and the best run time I have had from it is 6 hours to a tank, running a 40cm fan, 60w incandesant light, engel ff40 on 240v and topping up the second battery in the car @ 12v dc. It is not queit as quiet as the honda, but the price was good, at the time of $850.00. Parts are available in australia. This genset is made by the Isuzu Corperation in Japan, Not China or the Philapines or somewhere else.
This design has been around for about 30 or more years. I can remember seeing the same units in
Darwin before Cyclone Travey. They have been marketed under many differant names, I.E. Robin, Makita, etc.
The agent in Aust is cromellins machinery in
adelaide.
I'm very happy with this unit. Weight about 22kg dry. Has drainable fuel tank for storage and transport, and it claims 56Db noise output. Haveing used in
camping with 40m of 240v lead and placed down the a creekbank, it cannot be heard.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 01:12
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 01:12
I thought Robin was part of Subaru??
Reply By: Peter Guy - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 15:16
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 15:16
Kelpie I have a Robin generator and have had it for over 10 years. It is a little beauty. At the time of purchase I could have bought a honda for the same price but I was talked into the Robin and have not regretted it.
The trap with these gens is often people run them for days only powering an engel fridge which doesn't make the gen work hard enough so the cyclinder cokes up. You should also run a couple of 100 watt globes during the day as
well to keep the gen under a reasonable load. If your gen ever starts to run rough and your spark plug, fuel etc is ok try plugging an electric drill in and running it at say half speed for half a day and you will find that this will clean out the motor.
Follow Up By: beatit - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:43
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:43
Peter, I think the latest crop work on alternator/inverter technology to solve that problem.
Reply By: Mr Z - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 19:10
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 19:10
mate has the eu10i we run my engel, battery charger, lights etc... easily, also runs a small microwave if i decide to buy a reliable gennie it will be a 10i
the only reason i might consider a 20i would be if it could run a air conditioner in a caravan, otherwise save the space and weight and go the 10
i haven't heard alot about the yamaha, how is it price wise compared to the honda?
Reply By: Flash - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 09:21
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 09:21
Have friends with both Yamaha and the Honda. Nothing between them in performance.... however I'm told the Yamaha is much cheaper to repair- if ever needed.
If you run your generator on too heavy OR TOO LIGHT a load for too long you'll stuff it.
ie: if you got a 20i but only run your Engel and a light or two you'll ruin it with glazed
bore etc.
Ideally you need to run your generator between 30-70% of it's rated load for long life. Running on a very light load is just as bad for it as the opposite. (Glazed
bore due lots of very light load is NOT covered by warranty and is very expensive to fix.)
Reply By: Jack66 - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:55
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:55
I have a Yammaha EF1000is and a mate has the Eu10
the Yammaha is a bit noiser other than that there the same
The yammaha has a larger fuel tank and more oil capacity which is the reasons that I went that way .
I also had some problems with
mine when new and the service from yammaha Australia and the dealer in
Perth that I purchased from was very painfull I will not buy Yammaha again.
Follow Up By: Flash - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:51
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:51
What problems??? My Brother-in-law has had major problems with his local Honda dealer and now only buys Yamaha (one "m") (and won't touch Honda as there is no other dealer nearby!)
- don't blame the manufacturer for a dud dealer- you can get them on any piece of equipment, car or whatever!
Follow Up By: Jack66 - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 02:44
Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 02:44
Flash
Thanks for pointing out my spelling
The Yammmmaha is because thats what the bloody thing does
stutters and surges all the time I sent it to the dealer three times which at my freight cost $57 each time
I E mailed and phoned Yamaha Australia with no satisfaction from them at all
in the end the dealer replaced the unit after much heat discussion
and of course at my freight cost
the new unit still surges but not as erratic at low load and the Honda
is smooth at the same load
It seems to me the all manufactures are great till the time comes to put up the more people that aiir there bad experiences on forums like this
maybe one day the big manufactures will start to take notice