Which Touring Tent?

Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:29
ThreadID: 17564 Views:18190 Replies:21 FollowUps:14
Need to replace my poor old tired camping tent (1973 Eureka Timberline BaseCamp .. excellent tent but being lightweight double skin nylon was always susceptible to damage).
I want something easy to put up, 2 person + (enough room for some gear & if centre-pole then enough room for 2 to sleep one side of the pole .. say 3.2 x 2.7), & also want standing room. Some options:
- just replace the Eureka tent (Timberline Outfitter6 BaseCamp US$300)
- OzTrail "Tourer 9" canvas pyramid tent 2.6x2.6x2.1 ($245 new - thru camping-r-us on e-bay)
- OzTrail "Tourer 9 Plus" 3.5x2.6x2.1 .... but is the extra pole a pain to use?
- Freedom "Northern Tourer" canvas pyramid tent 3.2x2.6 (over $1000)
- Southern Cross "Ultimate 11" canvas pyramid tent 3.2 x 2.65 (over $1000)
- Black Wolf "Turbo Tent 300" 5 person nylon 3.0x3.0x2.1 ($1000)

Anyone have experience with the "Tourer 9"? (other than post 13090). Is the quality significantly less than the Freedom & Southern Cross tents? I suspect a lesser grade (less than 10oz?) & quality of canvas is used but is it still waterproof & breathable enough? Is the floor that bad?

$1000+ for the other tents seems an awful lot of money for what is still just a tent! Yes I know all the arguments will be that you get what you pay for .... but do i really get a significantly better tent for $1000? I am happy to compromise on some of the 'features' of the more expensive tents such as internal opening windows, power cord flaps etc .. as long as it keeps me dry!

The pyramid tents seem to pack up rather bulky because of the roof frame. Is it quick to assemble/disassemble this each day if you want to pack the tents into a more compact bag?

anyway, appreciate anyones experiences/feedback with any of the above tents

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:40

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:40
Just to add to your confusion ......

You may want to take a look at the Tanami Tourer from Camping Direct

I have one and am more than happy with it. They have the overseas made ones at around $800, plus some "seconds" which you can waterproof yourself (which I did initially to see if I liked them). They are just under $300 from memory. I particularly like the arms setup on the centre pole which gives me headroom, plus somewhere to hang things from (lights, towels, etc ...).

I bought the Australian made one, which was a bit dearer (just over $1k) but have been more than happy with it. The Aussie one is quite a lot heavier, but it can withstand my abuse, as I use it a fair bit.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 83108

Follow Up By: DrewT - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:18

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:18
thanks Jack .. looks good. looked at their website & have just sent an email full of questions to them.

i notice they say the tent packed size is 28x28x80 plus a pole bag 10x10/150 .... can the tent be realistically packed smaller than this?

would i have any problems with an imported second (once waterproofed)?
FollowupID: 342150

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:48

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:48
Hi Drew

I had the "second" and they sent me a wax stick (like a candle) to waterproof the seams on the inside. I then hit it with some stuff I got from a local saddelry (horse shop). It did not leak in two pretty good rain periods I enountered. I had also done the "wet it and let the seams shrink" thing when I first got it. But - as they don't guarantee it as being waterproof I eventually decided that I'd prefer it to be so, and bought the Aussie made one. The imported ($800) ones are guaranteed waterproof though. Usual drill of wetting them when you get them to shrink the seams.

I don't think you will get a smaller package than what they indicate ... there is plenty of canvas there to roll up, covering the tent, the annexe and the floor.

The other option is not to roll it but fold and store it flat ... that may make packing a little easier, dpending on how you set up when you head off. I have done that on a couple of trips where the big "roll" did not suit whatever else I had there. Just gotta spend time "stomping" on it to get the air out. It was easier on my previous one which had lighter canvas. The current one takes a bit of "stomping" to remove the trapped air. On one occasion I just drove over it a couple of times. Probably not recommended though.

But. as I said earlier, I found this to be the best choice for me and what I wanted out of a tent. Putting it up is only slightly trickier than a straight pole tent in that you need to fit the arms inside once you peg it out. Not hard, but follow the instructions to the absolute letter, because the trick is placing the pins where they tell you. I did not read the instructions until my third go, with the wife standing there reading them aloud. It was a snack, but deprived my travelling mates of a few laughs once I had "mastered it".

Happy camping ..

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 342155

Reply By: fred a - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:41

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:41
i have an oz trail 9 plus with only 1 pole. it is quite good- done cape york and weekends away. hasnt leaked yet but some of the seams seem stretched when it is erectedsleeps 3 of us and has plenty or room. is not the quality or the dearer ones, but is 1/3 rd the price.

have you looked at oztent- great quality, 30 ses to erect, but a bit small and about $900- i would get one of these next time.

fred
AnswerID: 83109

Reply By: haysie222 (SA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:02

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:02
gday drew
went through the same delemer a few months ago.decided on a colman dome tent only for wieght and size (4 man) turned out to be a good tent but apain in the rrr's to put up and down.centre pole canvas much easier,warmer but a little bit boulkier and heavier.theres some pretty good swags out now days to!

regards peter
AnswerID: 83112

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:12

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:12
Drew,

I have a Freedom with the centre pole. You could buy the extra poles to do away with the centre pole but I didn't worry as it literally takes 2mins (I raced my friends) to set up. You also can fit a double matress either side of the centre pole. The fly screens a sand fly proof. Never had any probs with stiching. Been in some horrible thunderstorms with virtually no leaking. I bought it back in 1996 and cringed a little at the price (they were a couple of hundred dollars cheaper then) but I reckon I would of gone through a couple of cheaper tents by now. So in a nut shell very happy with the product.

Leroy
AnswerID: 83114

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:16

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:16
I've got the tourer 9, had it for about 6 month - done a few weekends and the simpson in it. First weekend it poured with rain (I bought it after having left home for the trip), not a drop of water. Seems pretty reasonable quality for the price. A couple of points:
1. Yes the floor is thin - I counter this by putting shade cloth underneath
2. I've had the centre pole replaced - original kept slipping
3. The stiching of the zips sometimes wanders such that it can be difficult to get the zipper past (gets stuck on the adjacent canvas)

Next tent I buy will probably be a southern cross - to replace this tent and our cabin tent in one. Having said that, for the dollars, this tent is quite ok.

AnswerID: 83115

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 13:15

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 13:15
I asked a shop seller on ebay if the 2004 model had been improved.
His reply:

Yes we believe they have.

They have improved the fabrics with better waterproofing of the canvas and a heavier 14 x 14 pE floor.

FollowupID: 342221

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:40

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:40
Altough I have a centre pole Southern Cross 13' x 10' tent and am extremely happy with ease of erection & the optional awning, quality etc, maybe it's worth looking at

30 second tent

find it by googling for it
AnswerID: 83118

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 19:25

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 19:25
sorry - I was not very clear about which tent I mean to investigate.
Pesty refers to it in his post - Oztent
FollowupID: 342187

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:03

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:03
Hi Drew,
We have used a Oztent Discovery (new model equivilent RV-3) for many years and we estimate its been up about 50 nights a year so its done a lot of work, still going strong with only 1 zip replaced, and we wish to keep it for later grandchild use so we have ordered a new RV-4, slightly bigger. Around $1000 mark but we bought it at caravan and camping show for $100 discount.
Great tent and no dam pole, 30 sec to erect and you are ready for bed, only peg down if windy or leaving it on its own for the day.
AnswerID: 83122

Follow Up By: Billy - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:47

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:47
Another happy OZ tent user here used as above. Downside is you need a roof rack or a trailer to put it in (around 2.1m long packed) because if its length. Unfair to call it a tent really, more like a portable folding room.

Regds

FollowupID: 342175

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 20:23

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 20:23
Another Oztent devotee here.
FollowupID: 342392

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:26

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:26
As the owner of a Turbo 300, I would NOT recommend as a tourer. Good for more than one night, but not up & down every day.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 83135

Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:45

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:45
Hi Drew,
My missus didn't want a tent with a centre pole. I wanted something quick to erect and put down as we normally only use the tent in places where I can't tow the dirt road caravan and usually stay in the one spot three days at the most.
We finally decide on a Coleman Classic. Plent of room for a queensize air matress and bags and stuff.
Very good quality fabric and a neat idea for the back window. You can peg it out and the cover has a "gusset so tha you get air flow weather protection and privacy.
Another feature I was looking for was the ability to open and close the windows from the inside.
On the down side the roof cross member is little on the light side and you must have the windows unzipped before erecting the tent as the "vacuum" formed on the inside can mean that you bend the member very easily.
I think I paid abou $600.00 at a 4WD show.
AnswerID: 83157

Reply By: wbsl - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:46

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:46
Hi Drew

I also have a Freedom centre pole tent. Purchased about 8 years ago, used between 40 to 60 nights per year, extremely easy to put up, still looks new except for colour fade.

In the previos 10 years buggered about 4 cheaper tents which in total cost more than the Freedom.

Only downside the size of the pack up unit, almost 1 square metre.

Regards Wayne
AnswerID: 83158

Reply By: crowie - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:48

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:48
Had a Freedom 13x10 Tourer which I just sold. Condered the quality outstanding and very easy to put up (and fold down) once you knew how. Only thing I don't like in these types of tents iis the lack of a decent inbuilt awning. But as they are a touring tent I guess they are primarily for overnight camping.
The 1310 Tourer as it is now called is now nearly $1700.00. Lot of money but will just about last forever. The more you fold them the smaller and easier they get. If your prepared to pay the price their the way to go.
There are also some very good South African Tents being imported into the Aussie market with a similar quality and certainly worth checking out..
AnswerID: 83159

Follow Up By: DrewT - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:53

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 16:53
any ideas on who is importing these sth african tents .. or even a brand name?
FollowupID: 342176

Follow Up By: crowie - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:16

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:16
DrewT
I cant remember the brand name. Something typically SA like Serengeti I remember but can't be sure. There were several on display (canvas) at The Great Outdoors Centre (GOC) in Canberra last year. GOC are a franchise with stores around Australia. There may be one in your area.

If anything comes to mind I will post again with information.

FollowupID: 342177

Reply By: flappan - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:00

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:00
I think COI , also do a Touring tent.

I have one of their larger cabin tents , and is great.

Price is a lot more reasonable as well.

Personally , I would prefer a SC or a Freedom , but $$$$$$$
AnswerID: 83162

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:51

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:51
We have a Lightening Extended Canvas touring tent from COI and love it.Plenty of room to sleep adults side by side without the centre pole getting in the way.Only takes about a minute to errect and about the same to pack up.Ours cost $750 two years ago.
FollowupID: 342179

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:32

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:32
For something to toss up fast and pack away quick, and stand up in, sleep 2 and hold some gear - a centre pole tent ! We have a Sar Major but the Southern Cross seems a goodie (though a bit pricey). They are great - chuck down a tarp for protection, in with 4 pegs in fine weather (8 if not), up with the ONE pole and you're in. I love 'em. We have a new camper but the CP will always be with us as a spare - too good to sell - better than a swag and no more trouble to carry - If its hot, a cheap tarp and a few poles can get some extra shade.... simplicity in camping does have rewards - if the weather is great, the speed of set up and early relaxation of having a cold one in your favourite chair is the expected bonus - if its wet, you will need a bit of extra shelter with a centre pole formula (the aforementioned tarp probably !). BOL.
AnswerID: 83164

Reply By: ian - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:44

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 17:44
Drew,

Taking up on Jack's reply about the $300 Tanami Tourer "second"
Why not get one of these and buy a cheap tarp. You will only need it occassionally, it will give you a good sized fly, have a dry tent to pack, and save heaps.
AnswerID: 83165

Reply By: Member - Fred - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 18:33

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 18:33
Have a look at the wear points that the fly has to put up with on the Turbo 300 - front "hinges" and the screws through the poles
AnswerID: 83167

Reply By: Member - Jim - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:54

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:54
Drew,

We have used all manner of tents over the years and have definitely settled on our RV-3 Oztent. IT is as has been suggested, a portable room. The only couple in our regular touring group who set up faster are our friends Kerry and Di who have a "ShippShape" roof mounted job. Its main hassle is if you want to go on side tours from a base camp. Others in the group have had Turbo's etc but are slowly changing over to Oztents. Buy it at the 4x4 or Caravan and Camping shows when they knock $100 off. You do need to carry it on the roof or in a trailer. We do the roof thing and despite my greying hair it is easy to sling it onto the roof rack.

Have fun,

Jim
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

AnswerID: 83187

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:10

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:10
Yep, just had my new rv3 oztent delivered, WOW great quality in the build and huge when you put up the side and front panels as well. I got the rv3 and front and both side panels for $1050 from the 4x4 show in Melb, and it really is that easy !! the front panels make a great 'screen room' as well. Downside - yeah the bag is big, but i can get the tent and the extra side panels into the main bag ok. Bang it on the roof rack no worries. I put the heavy bags etc in the corners inside and dont even peg it unless it is fairly windy, Oh and even the pegs it came with are huge and galvanised !!
FollowupID: 342288

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 15:44

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 15:44
OZTENT RV-3 for me also, a great design with plenty of zip on extras if required, the first few time you use it you'll really notice/appreciate the little things built in to the tent that make it a pleasure to use.

Browny
FollowupID: 342375

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 22:54

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 22:54
For me its a Southern Cross 9x9'. Dearer but good quality and I never expect to buy another. Mates have been using them for several years and just swear by them as a good versatile touring tent. No complaints here and good people who run the operation....you can actually talk to them about the product and they are helpfull!!!!
AnswerID: 83193

Follow Up By: Member - Willie Sydney - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:09

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:09
I also have the Southern Cross 9x9 . It is built like a brick outhouse and expect it will be in use long after I am in my grave . Only downside is weight and bulk , but I always put it on top of my table on my roof rack so I have no problem .
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 342263

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 06:45

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 06:45
We are more than happy with our oz tent. Its the second photo if you go to our rig. We have recently bought two X stretchers and airmatresses and find these a great combination with the tent as you can stow stuff under the stretcher leaving plenty of standing space. Its really takes seconds to put up and has withstood some very strong winds and rain. We were lucky and got it second hand, it was used once and the SWBO decided against camping. It just fits inside the Troopy, I guess the length is probably the only downfall if you have a small vehicle and dont want to carry it on the roof.

Carolyn
AnswerID: 83208

Reply By: robsil - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 09:02

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 09:02
drew if youre interested i havea freedom minute tent thats 4 years old and has been used 6 times , the boys all bought swags. ialso have a freedom family tourer with a fly its 9 years old,its in good nick i talked the wife into a double swag andwe have used that for the last 5 years both are taking up room so we decided to sell them i am in south east melb
AnswerID: 83212

Follow Up By: wombat1 - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:48

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:48
Can anyone comment on the coleman classic 4. It appears a good alternate to Oz tent in terms of easy set up but much more comapct and can fit inside back of 4X4

With the freedom minute tent is ther enough room for double air bed on one side of pole??
FollowupID: 342293

Follow Up By: DrewT - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:13

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:13
thanks rob i'll keep it in mind. still haven't decided exactly what i want yet!
FollowupID: 342571

Reply By: Mick - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:07

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:07
If you know it won't be subjected to heavy rain or high winds, get a cheap tent. If you want to be ready for foul weather, spend the extra on a locally made canvas tent. Southern Cross make a good product. I have a 9X9 bus tent from them with a side pole kit if I'm not travelling alone and it was under $600.
AnswerID: 83286

Reply By: Willykj - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 09:37

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 09:37
I have a Turbo Tent - 2.4m size & love it. Just been to Cape York & put it up/down around 30 times with no problems. Very quick to erect/pull down
AnswerID: 83460