Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 20:47
jon jenkins
My 2000 Patrol dropped its 5th gear the other day and $3,000 to fix it. I know this is a known problem but I wonder how many other people have had this problem?
thanks
jon
Reply By: mr diamond - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 20:55
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 20:55
do a search and print out all you can find about it.
its a
well known problem thats been mentioned heaps.
if its
well known then nissan really shouldnt charge you.
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:01
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:01
Post 17530 has some info
Reply By: jon jenkins - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:23
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:23
Hmm seems like most people had some joy from Nissan. My vehicle has 170k on it but it had an extended warranty for 5 years/150k so its 20k over.
jon
Follow Up By: duncs - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:38
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 21:38
Jon,
Stand your ground mate. It is a known problem and Nissan are fixing it as a warranty job because they know about it.
I just had a win over an insurance company and if I can beat them, Nissan should be a push over.
Try printing off that other thread and showing it to the dealer to support your case. Might just do the trick. If not contact Nissan Australia or go to another dealer.
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 22:02
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 22:02
G'day jon,
Mine is being "seen to" as we speak...
I had no extended warranty on
mine, so it's
well out of warranty (5 1/2 y/o)...
The latest word from the dealer service dept. is that Nissan is covering the cost of the replacement gearset (& labour)... I'm assured that there has been no peripheral damage, so I should come out of it ok...
As I mentioned in the other thread, the dealers hadn't seen my vehicle since the 1000k check, so I was kind of expecting some resistance from them.. instead, it's been quite the opposite, they've been very helpful indeed... Pretty happy about that!
Based on my & others' experience, I think that you have a very strong case to push for a repair under warranty...
Good luck!!
Regards, Ed. C.
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: GeroBoof - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 22:14
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 22:14
Hey Jon
As in my other post - and my wagon is a 2001 model with 67000ks on the clock and I paid for only 1 bearing at the time of repair.
Get out & Get dirty
Gero Boof
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 23:20
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 23:20
Local Nissan people here (Kadina SA) were very kind and actually offerred to change my 5th cog under warranty BEFORE it let go....they did a service and checked the oil colour in gearbox, noticed it was discoloured and made the offer.
Mine had about 80,000klicks at the time.
AFAIK there have been no reports of "fixed" vehicles sufferring the problem again.
Good luck and push 'em hard to do it for nicks......
Follow Up By: Member - John- Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 16:28
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 16:28
I had the same thing with my local Nissan service agent. He asked me to tell Nissan it was actaully failed if Nissan ever asked (it hadn't given away but the oil was
orange-red). Nissan have been providing extended warranty on this problem to many owners, you have to get you dealer to put the case to Nissan before starting work.
JohnS
Reply By: AJB - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 23:26
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 23:26
My 2000 model GU had the same thing happen at 143000 and Nissan covered it. Was surprised as servicing was not always with them but I have a good relationship with the dealership. The vehicle works pretty hard as it is used for work duties. Anyhow push them for warranty cover as it is a common fault.