What's 39 L Engel worth?
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:27
Member - Jimbo (VIC)
I'm looking t get a bigger fridge. I've got a 39 L Engel, about 6 years old, perfect working order, good nick.
Can't find any advertised to gauge the price. Given a new 40L is around $1,200 I'm thinking maybe $700. Is this possible or am I dreamimg?
Any suggestions.
Reply By: timborees - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:35
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:35
Hi Jim,
Having just bought an Engel (60L) we looked at a lot of different sizes/ages in the 39/40 and 60L range. Many 12-18 month old engels (40l) are advertised at between $750-$900. If you have the transit bag and it is in good cosmetic condition (yes, this does seem to matter) you should have no trouble getting $700.
If your curious I bought a 2yr old 60L Engel with transit bag for $1100, had to look for a while though.
Good luck.
Timbo
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:56
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:56
Thanks Timbo,
Great Feedback
Jim
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:35
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:35
Why not keep it, and get a little one as
well?
I'm thinking of doing just that........ 35 litres is too big just for me.
Wolfie
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:57
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:57
Ian,
Could be an option but I reckon t'll be cheaper and take up less space to just have one.
Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:24
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:24
Having 2 is definitely a good option Jimbo, I have a 40, and a 30 litre Engel....mostly because I buggered up when ordering my CT and didnt realise the 40 litre wouldnt fit inside the trailer part, so it was a great excuse to get another.
The advantages are you can useone as a fridge and one as freezer, or 2 fridges, or 2 freezers...etc plus the smaller sizes are easier to handle. Also one can stay with the car, and the other one with the CT, and its a good option if you are just wanting to do a smaller trip and don't need as much fridge space, you just take one
Plus if one packs it in while you are away you still have the other one as a backup to keep the beer cold.
It's also good if you are into fishing or hunting and want to put your catch in one fridge away from all the food.
Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:32
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:32
See.......... told ya so......... Nah Nah Nah!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:06
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:06
I'm thinking if I can get 600 or 700 for it I can put another 300 or 400 to it and get a Waeco 80L combo. Another fridge is going to cost me at least 800. And the Waeco will take up less space than two fridges and use less power.
Still, it's an option I may have to consider.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:00
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:00
I'm with the other blokes Jimbo.
80l is one big mother of a fridge. We've got a 60l which is more than adequate for the 2 of us + a 40l Chescold.
You must have either a serious grog problem or a helluva big family.
Cheers cob
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:16
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:16
Well Rosco,
I do like a tipple.
I've got a 40L Chescold as
well and I could run it off the inverter on the move and then change to gas when we stop but it's all more buggerising around and the two fridges will take up more space than one 80L job.
I'm just thinking one big fridge/freezer combo permanently in the back of the car would be easier.
Just two of you and you take a 60L and a 40L? Now that is a serious grog problem LOL.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:50
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:50
Jim,
I'm not sure on the size of an 80L Waeco but I reckon our 80L Combo Engel would take up your entire cargo area in your Hyundai.
Haven't got it with me to measure the base area of it but it sure is big. It sure takes a chunk out of the Rodeos tray.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:59
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:59
Utie,
It'll fit with room to spare in a big way. The Jerry Can is a lot bigger in the back than it looks. It is a seven seater; with the back seats removed and the second row of seats folded there's plenty of space.
The Waeco 80L is not a whole lot bigger than my Engel.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 09:52
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 09:52
Jimbo,
I meant just the cargo space with the 5
seat configuration. Set up as a two seater you could probably fit a bunch of them in. I was looking at a Prado the other day and it would take up all the space in them as a 5 seater I reckon. I just figured the Terracan is about the same size.
Good luck with it anyway and may your beer always be cold.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:25
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:25
Utie,
Yeah the Jerry Can is about the same size as a Prado, and you're right, as a 5 seater it would be tight. Seeing as there are only two of us travelling we set it up as a two seater. As most of the stuff goes in the camper we have room to spare.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:24
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:24
G'day Jim,
I sold my 39 litre which was about 8 or 9 years old at the time for $650-. I included a transit bag and a Engel sprung base so I reckon the bloke got a good deal. I bought the 40 litre one to replace it cos i like the way both plugs can be in at the same time and it senses when 240v is available and switches to that power source automatically (no need to gin around pulling out plugs etc)
I never had a problem with it, but a mate of
mine had one that carked it @ 10 years and I thought I'd upgrade and possibly avoid a costly death in the family.
BTW I've just finished installing a new 80 litre Engel upright jobbie in the Ultimate to replace the notoriously unreliable 3 way Electrolux unit.
Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:27
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:27
"I thought I'd upgrade and possibly avoid a costly death in the family. "
Priceless!
You get 100% for that.......... ( 90 degrees )
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:02
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:02
Thanks Roachie,
Pity yourself and the bloke who's not the full 90 degrees couldn't get to
Robe.
Reply By: harry5 - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 02:05
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 02:05
Jimbo
I tried to buy a 2nd hand 40lit Engel only to find they are like hens teeth 1st caller had bought it or they wanted as much as a new one.I ended up buying a new one with a cover, you should get your money easy.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 09:40
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 09:40
Thanks Harry
Reply By: Paul from Ozroamer Sunshine Coast - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 11:07
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 11:07
Jimbo
Hate to rain on your parade but I just purchased a 2 year old Waeco 40lt (i think they are actuallt about 39lt) with travel bag on the Toyota Landcruiser Club - wanted/for sale site for $300.00
With the cost of the factory seconds etc I think you will be doing very
well to get the money your expecting.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 11:39
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 11:39
Thanks Paul,
I'll have a look there, do you have the site address?
Follow Up By: Paul from Ozroamer Sunshine Coast - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:46
Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:46
Jim
I think you can only enter the
forum and For Sale/Wanted area if you are a member - but try
http://www.tlcc.com.au/tlcca/
Reply By: Austravel - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 15:02
Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 15:02
No dramas getting that price and probably more. Engel hold their price very
well.