72 litre comp.
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:06
Ferret
There seem to be quite a few versions of the same 72litre per minute compressors that cost any where from $150 to $190. They seem to look OK and have good numbers with a 40 minute run time etc. Does anyone have any first hand experience with these? I'm not going to be using it everyday or anything, just something reasonable to keep in the car for when the occasion arises..
Scott
Reply By: mr diamond - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:43
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:43
gday ferret.
now your in for it lol.
you only get what you pay for.
no there not all the same.
whats the waranty.
ect ect ect .
at that price who really cares.if its not going to use it heaps go for it i say.
i was after a cheap compressor a cpl of years ago and found the cheaper repco 35 lpm one for around $90 was cheap at the time and copped all of the above.
still going two years later and quicker than some big name ones.
Reply By: pjd - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:51
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:51
anyone can put impresive figures on a box & claim they work! even ford do it to the exploder & look at the reputation they have not to flash
Follow Up By: Ferret - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:51
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:51
Is this "First Hand" experience?
Reply By: pjd - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:04
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:04
this is not first hand i wouldnt be that stupid my neibour & his partner had them as lease cars but never again
Reply By: hoyks - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:01
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:01
I have one of the bigger ones that Supercheap sell. It works, pumps up a tyre from 15 to 35psi in a few minutes. I have never timed it as I am never in too much of a hurry. It gets kicked around in the back of the wagon and goes when I ask it to. They dont have an aur filter so I am sure that that will affect their longevity. I have fitted
mine in an old ammo tin as my dog ate the bag it came in.
They are cheap and they work, that's good enough for me. I would like a $300 odd dollar ARB or Bluetounge but can't justify the cost.
Reply By: Wetty (W.A) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 23:11
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 23:11
G'day Ferret. . . .
I have a 4X4 Grunt compressor, takes a wee while to inflate 245/70/16R's from 10psi to 30psi, but for the amount of times I actually need to deflate the tyres it was worth the $75.00 I paid for it. I am waiting for the surveyors Troopy to clagg itself and then I will have myself an almos new Bluetongue twin! If you are continually letting your tyres down the go for QUALITY, not price.
PS Get yourself some Staun deflators and have em set at different pressures, (
mine are engraved at 25, 20, 15, & 10psi) who can be bothered checking to see when you have the right pressure every 5 seconds? Just set and forget!
Reply By: ianmc - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 00:33
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 00:33
I have one I bought on ebay for $155 + freight. It will pump a 4wd tyre up from ) - 30psi on 3 minutes. It needs 15-30amps so its quite powerful.
It has an air filter, but there is a similar one around the traps at about $99 which I tried & returned to Autobarn which claimed to do the same but NO WAY.
I am a happy chappy with
mine as it looks identical to the $380 units & performs the same.
Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:45
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:45
I have a tyre inflator with gauge I bought from Bunnings for $15 plus about $10 for fittings. When you hold the trigger down it pumps and when you let it go it holds pressure (need a pressure switch if you want to let the trigger out though). Best thing about it is you can see the pressure of your tyre as you pump so you don't have to keep taking the pump off and checking pressures. A friend of
mine has it too (reason I got it) and he just uses a rubber band around the trigger so it always pumps. You can use it as a deflator too but I have the Stauns so I don't use it for that.
Saves a lot of time fiddling around. Best thing is that it is a new toy to carry around!!!!!!!!!