100series cruisers

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:39
ThreadID: 17620 Views:2417 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
hi have recently bought a 100 series cruiser petrol auto was wondering if others with them have had any trouble with them and what faults to look for, have been very happy so far was just interested, also info on fuel ecconomy am getting about 17.5 L/100 km

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 22:48

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 22:48
G'day Simon,
question for you totally not related to your question as I have no idea about LC100... Is simonatboyn meaning simon at Boyne Island by any chance?
AnswerID: 83429

Follow Up By: simonatboyne - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 08:20

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 08:20
Yes it does. I live at boyne island...
FollowupID: 342443

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 09:03

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 09:03
At the risk of hijacking the post I have one more question... Do you happen to know a bloke called Michael(Mick) Smith, works at the aluminium smelter also a keen golfer?
FollowupID: 342447

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 23:05

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 23:05
Mate, for 100 series specific info, you won't beat www.lcool.org for tech info (check out the tech section) - they also have a 100 series specific mail list
AnswerID: 83435

Follow Up By: Wok - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 08:09

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 08:09
Ivan,

Interesting site...........shame there is no 60 series............dinosaur?

rgds
FollowupID: 342442

Reply By: vuduguru - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 07:45

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 07:45
Hi Simon,
Have owned mine for 18 mnth / 50k. Heres a quick summary.
-Well reported see this forum, lcool.org etc.
Weakness in IFS lower control arms ie breaking.
Front diff may fail esp when snatching in reverse.
- personal experience
Had drivers window winder replaced at 40k, was noisy, warranty.
Had slippage in Auto esp when cold, partially rectified by adding oil to box. Believe box requires a service but having trouble getting Toyota to do under warranty. By the way love the gated shift, would prefer the Nissan system though. Reminds me of a Trimatic in operation. Would replace it with a TH 700 if practical - electronics? (had and loved a TH350 behind a 253 in a Kingswood). Marks on diptstick not described, even in manual.
Fuel economy 15.5 - 16.5 l/100 on Shell Optima - increased power and torque (seat of the pants).
Knocked the speedo connector off near the gearbox. No speedo cruise control etc. Simply reconnected when I got home and washed the mud off to see.
Coopers 285/75/16s AT, great tyres, insurance concerns with OD but had 3 punctures in 30k on Grand Treks speedo reads 103 at 100 (GPS). Extra diff clearance
Crossed the Murrray at 700-800mm depth, kids hands in the water, no probs (saving for snorkel tho')
Supension requires upgrade for load carrying (4 kids + gear on r/rack). 4 days camping. Believe suspension lift is max 50 mm due to IFS etc. Mine is still stock, saving for OME.
Tows my 1.2T boat like is fallen off.
Goes eveywhere my mates Nissan 3.0L TD goes.
All in all, build quailty is excellent, the most capable, effortlessly relaxed and comfortable vehicle I have ridden in.
Shane
AnswerID: 83451

Reply By: Mike-TS - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 21:45

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 21:45
100 series = no problems.

Nissan = well, just read this forum!
AnswerID: 83570

Reply By: Member - Phil (WA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 23:41

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 23:41
Hello Buddy...I have a 100 series as well and have done alot to the suspension and been every where this year and the beast has never missed a beat...Awsome 4wd...So comfortable on long trips ..Heaps of power when required and a peace of mind....

What more do you want....

AnswerID: 83594