Chescold RC1180

Submitted: Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 07:10
ThreadID: 17627 Views:14334 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
Hi there,

I am thinking about purchasing a Chescold RC1180, but have heard reports that in high ambient temperatures around the 40 degree temp and upwards this type of fridge/freezer struggles. Has any one had any experience with these types of portables, and if so, were you able to overcome this problem?

Any comments welcome.

Grant

Reply By: haysie222 (SA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 08:05

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 08:05
grant
dont know much about these, but is it the three way type?
from what ive heard i reckon its more so what kind of heat(climate)its to be used in.high humidity makes them sruggle as to a very dry heat. has something to do with the type of system it uses.not the same as a engle, weako,or other comppressor driven fridges.dont quote me though, hope this helps.
haysie222
AnswerID: 83453

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 08:57

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 08:57
Grant

I had a 3 way fridge/freezer for many years which died of natural causes.
It was an excellent unit on gas, even in very hot weather.

Some time ago I bought a fridge only Chescold and it struggles when the going gets hot .. to say the least.

Apart from their obvious drawbacks on 12 V, as long as it's a freezer unit it will work very well for you on gas, regardless of ambient temp.

AnswerID: 83456

Reply By: Flash - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 09:15

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 09:15
I have both a compressor fridge (Evakool) and a Chescold 1180.
Although I like compressor fridges, the Chescold still has it's place... and has to be one of the better 3-way units around. It normally copes with heat reasonably well, way better than many others particularly some of the fridge only units. If concerned, you can also put a small computer 12v fan in the back which I'm told helps a lot. They DO need very good ventilation and MUST be run perfectly level (Except when constantly moving.)
AnswerID: 83457

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 15:34

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 15:34
Ozbones, I have a 40lt Ches & will comment from my experiences & observations for you to draw your own conclusions. I have just returned from a (very hot) desert trip.

I've had the fridge for 8yrs, last year in the Kimberley the thermostat busted (some really tough roads & corregations probably the cause). I fixed this by removing the thermo & hard wiring the circuits and gas pipe (we were really remote at the time). Their method of opeation is really simple and this is good, as demonstrated by this repair job.
I have not bothered fitting a new thermo cause as we are at the fridge several times daily, if it gets too cold (check the cans) I just turn it off. The wall insulation is excellent.

I carry a 3.3kg gas bottle & this lasts about 7 days constant use. Gas is readily available around the country and only to be used outside the vehicle. On gas, the fridge must be level & I carry a small spirit level with me to check this. The one hassel here for this fridge on gas, is to left it in and out. But I am 65 + and can cope OK and think that this inconvenience is no worse than fiddling with solar panels, flat batteries or generators needed for electric fridges.

Last year I fitted a small computer fan (Jaycar or Dick Smiths) inside the back of the fridge to blow the heat from the condensors. I also upgraded the wiring to an Anderson plug in the rear of the wagon to help with current flow. The upgrade performance in this 12v department has been amazing as the fridge is now almost a freezer whereas it was almost useless before. This means I'm using car power all the time whilst travelling, very effeciently.
When stationary I will not leave the fridge running on 12v aux battery for more than 2hrs. Wiring to elect compressor fridges should also needs to be first rate.

240v works great when your near it, same as 12v but without the fan operating.

My mate with me had an Engle and carried (and used when we were stopped for more than a day) a solar panel and compresor. His fridge goes with him when he leaves camp. My Chescold stayed behind. These are +'s & -'s.

I personally think the versatility of the Chescold gives it much greater advantages, particularly if your stationary at camp for a while. Plus the insulation is excellent, but like all fridges they should be protected from the sun. We were out in 40 deg temps but had a cold beer at the end of every day.

FollowupID: 342482

Follow Up By: Flash - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:37

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:37
Just for clarification,
Except when moving, they MUST BE LEVEL. 12v, 240 volt or gas.
If you run them off level for long, the ammonia fluid overheats, crystalizes and eventually this will destroy the fridge. The effect is cumulative- and is one very important reson to be very carefull buying second-hand.
Sometimes a temporary fix can be found by turning the fridge upside-down etc, but it is just that- temporary.
The damage is absolutely irreversible and possibly the reason why some say theirs is no good while others say theirs is great.
FollowupID: 342731

Reply By: gonebush - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 10:13

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 10:13
I've had an RC 1180 for about 15 years. They are very good if you plan to be stationary a lot or where the fridge can remain stationary, because are they are very efficient and effective on gas or 240 even in high temperatures. As said they must be level and well ventilated. They are less efficient on 12v and draw lots of current and will only hold or maintain temperature, particularly in higher temperatures.

I have used the unit in 40 degrees on gas on a number of occasions and it was was fine.......as long as it's level, in the shade and well ventilated. As with all fridges, minimise opening frequency and time during the day and restock just b4 bed in the cool of the evening.

AnswerID: 83468

Reply By: Rod - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 10:47

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 10:47
Grant

Had an RC1180 myself and had no-end of troubles with it in temps above 30 degrees here in Qld. Would use a spirit level to ensure it was level, had the gas jet cleaned twice, uprated the wiring and connectors to minimise voltage drop, tried cooling fans on the heat fins. Problems were consistent from 240V, gas and 12V.

Was advised by two repair agents in different states to have the absorbtion unit replaced costing hundreds of dollars. Had it fail on the cape, Katherine and Broome.

I may have had a dud, and good luck to those of you who have no troubles.

Mine started to go bad after warranty. Was good when new.

Now have an EvaKool and haven't looked back.

Buy with caution.
AnswerID: 83473

Reply By: Rod E B - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 14:51

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 14:51
I have had mine for about 19 years ,
use it every year , sometimes 2 or 3 times
use it every Xmas
never had a problem
Works well on gas and 240
Hold temperature when travelling
replaced plug for 12 volt as it melted , replaced wire from battery with 6 mm , no further problems
I must have got a good one
AnswerID: 83502

Reply By: Glenno - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 18:53

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 18:53
I loved my RC1180 when we used to stay in the one spot for the whole holiday. I used to get 3 full weeks on a 9kg gas bottle with the dial turned on "full noise". The best trick in the hot summer is when you want to put warm softdrink/beer in to cool down, drop it in the freezer frist, then move it into the fridge when its cool. This seems to not sap the heat out of the fridge section.

I did have the 12volt heater die after about 4 years, it was a simple $110 repair job at the local electrolux repair centre. They see them all the time. In their opinion it was the repair they performed 99.9% of the time.

When we started to do more touring I sold it for much less than I paid for it new and moved to an Engel. The engel rocks for touring, and having the beer ice cold in the back of the ute sure is nice!

So in summary, the RC1180 rocks for those holidays where you dont drive around much. If you are mobile, go a Engel etc.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 83534