Twine Shower Hose Connectors

Submitted: Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 11:07
ThreadID: 17630 Views:3058 Replies:5 FollowUps:7

I have fitted a Twine Shower unit to my LC and has given us great hot showers, but on our last trip the connectors have started to suck air on the suction side and leak on the delivery side esp when the shower head is turned off. Can better quality connectors be purchased. Any ideas?

JD

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 11:15

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 11:15

Those cruddy plastic connectors aren't worth it on the pump side, you really need good quality brass fittings. Funny you post your experience today, I was just testing where my glind was leaking air on the weekend. Went to bunnings and purchased 30 meters of anti-kink/fade/crack hose and 4 brass male and female connectors. I'm going to change them over this weekend.

good luck mate,

Chris.
AnswerID: 83478

Follow Up By: Treading Lightly - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 11:25

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 11:25
Chris,

Thanks for reply. Could you be more spcecific on the connebctors you purchased. Are they the normal garden hose fittings?

JD
FollowupID: 342466

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 11:29

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 11:29
Yes. They are used on garden fittings. I made sure I purchased brass fittings with a replaceable 'O' ring on the fitting. You also want to make sure that theend that female end screws down nice and tight onto the hose as it also sucks air at the back of the female fitting as well.

Bunnings had lots of different types. Many of my fellow campers use the black garden pipe so you'll need a slightly smaller fitting for that. But I find the black pipe hard to roll up and it takes up a lot of room. I'm trying to devise something to keep the hose I purchased rolled up and you just unroll it on a hose reel of sorts and wind up when finished.
FollowupID: 342467

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 12:34

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 12:34
A couple of guys I know are using Air line hose and connectors.

When I get around to it , I'm going to do likewise.
AnswerID: 83485

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 12:54

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 12:54
Hi Gang,

I have used air fittings on my shower setup for years and all is good. I also can now use the same hoses for air and water. I do blow them out before air use. It saves on doubling up on hoses.

Stuart.
AnswerID: 83488

Follow Up By: flappan - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 13:04

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 13:04
Oh yeah . . . Stuart was one of them ; )
FollowupID: 342471

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 13:13

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 13:13
Yep as above all my water joins are done by air connectors i have a Helton and had no problems at all.

AnswerID: 83490

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 15:25

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 15:25
G'day JD,

I have my Twine's hoses permanently mounted, using green garden hose and proper steel hose clamps at each join. The inlet and outlet are both mounted on the bullbar for easy access. and utilise black poly connectors from a garden suppliers shop. They have a push-on fitting at one end for the hose to be permanently attached to and the other end is a simply, normal snap on hose fitting with a replaceable rubber "O" ring. I have also taken the precaution of fitting small red covers to stop insects and other crap getting into the hose when driving.
I then carry a 4' length of inlet hose with a normal hose (female) ftting on one end and a fuel primer bulb on the other end; as well as the shower rose hose with another female hose connector on the other end. In the event that the pump will not draw water readily on it's own from the plastic box we use for the water supply, I simply give the primer bulb a couple of squeezes and away she goes. From my experience with the pump not seeming to want to pump, there are a couple of possible reasons.....
1) The hose connections are not tight enough
2) Air is entering via the in-line filter housing which may not be tight enough
3) The diaphram in the pump may have dried out a little from lack of use over a period of time....this is when the priming is of most benefit.
I like the idea of using the air hose and fittings....
Good luck.
AnswerID: 83511

Follow Up By: Treading Lightly - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:23

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:23
Roachie,

Thanks for reply. The black poly type connectors are they the originals that come with the Kit? How have you connected them to the Bull Bar?
Can you supply more info on the Primer Bulb?

With all the gear in and on you 4x4 where do you sit?

JD
FollowupID: 342484

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 17:17

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 17:17
JD,
The poly connectors were my own decision, not part of the kit. From memory, the kit was designed to have you screw the hoses on/off each time you wanted to use the shower. I found that didn't work well as although the threads are slightly tapered, i was unable to get them tight enough to seal properly.
I have bolted a simply right angle brackets to the main bullbar section, just below and inside the headlights (just on the outer side of the steel uprights). These brackets have a 1/2" hole drilled through them (I actually used a short piece od Dexian steel angle for each bracket). I passed the poly fitting through the hole in the bracket, added the retainer loop for the red protective cover and then push-fitted the hose up hard against the back of the bracket and screw-clamped it in place.
The primer bulb is a small rubber bulb that fits in the palm of your hand....they use them on outboard motors to pump a bit of fuel from the fuel tank to the motor etc. I place this in the water and give it a few squeezes if the pump doesn't seem to want to self-prime for any reason.
Where do I sit....that's why I've got a large roof rack and looooooong legs...hahaha
FollowupID: 342489

Follow Up By: Treading Lightly - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 07:30

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 07:30
Roachie,

Thanks for info, One more question where do you get 1/2 inch air connectors? Bunnings only seem to have 3/8 (10mm)!

JD
FollowupID: 342698

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 16:30

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 16:30
JD,

You may have to go to an engineering place to get a "step-up/down" bit (dunno whether that is the "official" name for it). What you'll require is a brass item with a 1/2" barb on one end to go into the hose and a thread on the other end. This thread will probably be too big for the 1/4" BSP thread likely to be on the brass snap fitting, but you should be able to get the other brass fitting (step up/down) which is simply a brass fitting with a 1/2" male thread on outside (with hex head at one end) and the inside threaded for 1/4" bsp. As I indicated, I haven't bothered doing this myself (yet) cos I haven't had any issues with the shower sucking air at the snap on hose fitting (garden hose type) that i am currently using. The only reason i would possibly change is so that I could use the air hose I carry as the shower pickup hose as well.....but I'm not all that fussed.

Cya
FollowupID: 342762