Overheating 4.2 Turbo Diesel DX Nissan 1999

Submitted: Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 19:12
ThreadID: 17645 Views:4635 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Hi Gang,

A mate of mine has recently acquired a 2nd hand 1999 4.2 Turbo Diesel DX Nissan Cab Chassis and has problems with the motor overheating. Are there common problems he should look for? Should he suspect one part of the cooling system over another part? Where should he start?

I come here with these questions as I would like the exploroz brains trust to give him a path to follow when fixing this problem....thanks all.

Stuart .

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 19:31

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 19:31
Stuart,
Heaps of things to check. Could be a simple fix or a combination of many.
check the following things...
Clutch fan ( make sure its cutting in when its should )
Radiator for blockage internally
Radiator for blockage externally (mud built up and dried through cooling fins)
Water pump
Thermostat opening at correct temp
Belts for proper adjustment
radiator cap (holding its pressure)
Hoses not sucking closed at high revs
Check hoses for kinks.

Mate i could go on but its a start, dont panic though. The chances are its not a major problem ok. Although its hard to say when you dont know the history of the vehicle and what the previous owner did to it.

Hope you sort it out soon.
Cheers Angelo
AnswerID: 83542

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 20:08

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 20:08
Stuart, I'm not sure which state of this grand country you are in but.........there have been a fair number of problems with overheating 4.2 turbo diesels in WA. was originally put down to the fuel but that was discounted. They do tend to run on the upper level of the guage especcially when towing or working hard. Talk to Nissan they are aware of the problem. If they refuse to help then try talking to some of the 4wd places in WA. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 83545

Reply By: Mark- Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 21:39

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 21:39
I'd be considering the clutch fan as a prime suspect.........
When they cut in, you can really hear the extra fan noise. If you cant hear this and its hot I'd be looking at a new viscous fan hub.
AnswerID: 83567

Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:28

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:28
You will find that an aftermarket fan clutch (Davis Craig?) meant for a 3.0L VL Commodore (aka 3.0L Nissan) fits the 4.2 and is 1/3 the price of a Nissan spare. The info on the box confirms this.
Gerry
FollowupID: 342543

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 21:58

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 21:58
G'day Stuart and others,

Okay, I've had my share of "over-warming issues" (as I prefer to call them as the truck has never really overheated as such).

Mine is a 2000 4.2T/D and it used to go above half way on the temp gauge, even on a coolish day, if I was pushing it hard into a head wind, or up a bit of a hill &/or towing the camper and trying to sit on about 110klicks.

These are the things I tried:
Had radiator flushed etc.
Added an extra electric fan in front of air conditioner condenser, beside the factory one, which I can switch on myself (no change)
Took off the plastic air dam under/behind the radiator (no change and have re-fitted)
Moved the spotties to top of bullbar (no real change)
Cut a hole in bonnet above turbo and fitted scoop off a 3L Patrol (no change)
Bought a new genuine Nissan fan clutch assembly (about $320-)- (no change)
Bought a new aluminium radiator from PWR (Qld) for $1100-....(success)
The new radiator is twice the thickness of the plastic nissan one.

Note that it could still be a problem with the fan clutch as I have NEVER heard my fan cut in on this vehicle, which I owned from new. This is in stark contrast to my last Nissan GQ Diesel (with Safari Turbo), which used to roar out very loud as I went up a steep hill and didn't spare the right Blunnie. So maybe both my original fan and the new Nissan one were both no good.

The temp gauge never went into the small zone on the right marked "H", but once it went above half way, the blasted air conditioning would switch itself off and tempers inside would become frayed.

If your mate is interested, PWR have a web site: www.pwr.com.au

AnswerID: 83576

Reply By: AndrewX - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 23:14

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 23:14
Tell him he's not Robinson Crusoe with overheating problems with a Nissan!
AnswerID: 83589

Follow Up By: crayman - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 23:55

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 23:55
Someone correct me if im wrong ,I think you will find the TDI 4.2 has a bigger radiator than the TD 4.2 my 2003 TDI 4.2 s radiator extends lower down in the engine bay than my mates 2000 TD 4.2(so far no Overheating probs 40ks)
Maurie
FollowupID: 342533

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:42

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:42
Your right crayman, it's the 4.8 radiator from memory, good idea in theory, but more susceptable to damage. Saw a guy at Millmeran with a kangaroo head through the bottom of his radiator, had skipped under the bar, over the cross (or under, can't remember) and headbutted the radiator. In the process of trying to get TJM's front basher plate yet to be released, but real cheap for $70 or so. Checked with nissan, no probs with warranty (even though the won't warrant much on mine anyway!)

Never have any probs with heat, even if EGT's at 600 degrees, runs at a quarter all day.

Chris.
FollowupID: 342545

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 23:51

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 23:51
G'day, I have a 2000 DX GU ute and have never had the over heating problem, but I have heard all about it. To prevent it happening I have fitted a MTQ modded turbo and an EGT gauge. I now have 120kw at the rear wheels and run a lot lot cooler EGT than standard GU. If you haven't got an EGT gauge, then you can have no idea what your EGT is. It is very easy to over fuel the 4.2TD and raise the EGT to dangerous levels and over stress the cooling sysytem. I would suggest that he looks at the other things mentioned, but also try an EGT gauge, he may find that it is high EGT that is causing his problems. Just my two cents worth.

AnswerID: 83598

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:05

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:05
G'day John,
Could you please tell us a bit more about your choice of EGT gauge and where you fitted the pick up unit (ie: in the exhaust manifold or below the turbo on the exhaust pipe etc?)
I want to fit one of those Thermoguard gauges made by Ian at Alice Springs, but I just can't bring myself to drill and tap a hole in the exhaust minifold.
FollowupID: 342559

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:09

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:09
Pay someone else to do it Roachie,...or is all that money of yours tied up in the bank?
FollowupID: 342592

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:26

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:26
No mate "all" that money of mine (hahaha) is tied up in the troll and tailer!!! LOLOL
FollowupID: 342597

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:40

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:40
Brains Trust,

Keep all those good thoughts and ideas coming.....I am passing onto to my mate to try. He is travelling to Longreach as we speak.....any thoughts on who he should go too while there to help solve this problem.

Stuart
AnswerID: 83679

Reply By: Flash - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:28

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:28
Lot's of good answers here.
I would look 1st at the clutch fan. These are possibly the biggest single cause of overheating.
Then go down the list from there but do check it is not being overfueled.....
My ancient GQ with aftermarket Turbo puts down 122kw at the rear wheels but runs cooool EGT ie: it is not being overfueled. It runs 12" boost. The guy who installed and modified my turbo says setup is very important and a common cause of problems.

Radiator is ORIGINAL ie 13odd years old and is quite corroded externally on the bottom fins.
Yet I recently towed my 2.5 tonne van up the Toowoomba range, on a very warm day with the aircon flat out- and didn't go much above half-way on the gauge!
BUT I must add the clutch fan is working very well and can be heard roaring when the going gets hot. I added new silicone to it a while ago AND did a mod on the bi-metallic spring to get it to cut in earlier.
AnswerID: 83850