Cookin'...The air in the GU

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:58
ThreadID: 17658 Views:2615 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
Morning one and all,

Anyone had the normal outside air without aircon a little on the warm side when the setting is on the coldest in there preferred vehicle.

At present, I'm putting it down to the higher performance of the motor/turbo and it's a little warmer than usual...but in the GQ I had the same setup without a problem.

Does anyone know if the heater might 'stick' on a warmer setting? Just wondered if some of that hot water is still sneaking through warming the air. Apart from needing to shut off the vents, any experience?

Chris.

Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:21

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:21
No doubt someone can provide a detailed answer but , I believe , on the GU, the air intake is actually in or near the engine bay , so that it picks up the hot air from the engine.

I seem to recall that someone has blocked on side off with foam , so the air is coming from a cooler part. Blocking it off though brings its own problems (especially with foam).

My GU is the same as yours , "normal" air is warm.

(I'll try and find a more detailed answer , but appeared on the Patrol forum from memory).
AnswerID: 83640

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:25

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:25
Thanks flappan! It's not really that big a deal, but I thought if there was a cure, I'd do it. I'm not really one for using air con, but when it's raining cats and dogs, you really need some form of air coming in, and at the moment, it's the aircon because it's too hot to have the normal air!

Just onto Nissan, got my 10,000 service this Friday, mentioned it to them along with the loose back bumpers, paint peeling off centre console, warm air, and no hazard lights.

I know the answer to all the probs except the hot air, but I thought, well, if Nissan are servicing the car, might as well be lazy and get them to do everything! ;-)
FollowupID: 342553

Follow Up By: Happy GU Owner - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:00

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:00
Flappan,

It was on the Patrol forum and it was Robin with his 4.8 GU that filled the hole with foam, and from memory it made between 2-3 degrees difference inside the cab.

Probably not enough to really worry about.

Mic
FollowupID: 342587

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:06

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:06
Gday mic,

doesn't sound worth it. I'm not too worried, easy fix will be to buy weather protector for window and keep window down!

What gu you running around in?

Chris.
FollowupID: 342591

Follow Up By: Happy GU Owner - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:37

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:37
Chris,

I used to have the 4.2 with Safari turbo, but now I am running around in Truckster's favorite vehicle.

In fact this is my second one, for some reason I let the same voices in my head let me trade the last one in on another one - mental note to self - must see go and see Truckster for therapy!!

The 3.L really suits my needs at the moment, as I use my vehicle for work and enjoy the extended service interval over the 4.2. I am very happy with my choice of vehicle, and have no hesitation in recommending this vehicle to anyone.

After driving my car, 2 ex-Toyota drivers have been converted to the Nissan fold, so it can't be too bad.

Mic

FollowupID: 342600

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:10

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:10
Cheers , I remember him talking about it , just dont recall all the details.

Oh well . . . thats what climate control is for ; )
FollowupID: 342607

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:19

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:19
Sounds good mate! I'm sure you'll get many more years of reliable service.
FollowupID: 342611

Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:25

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:25
Hi Chris,

My 98 model GU with the 4.5L petrol is the same. Gets quite hot in the cab when you get it into the slow going stuff without the aircon on.
I think it is just heat transfer from the engine bay onto the air ducting.

AnswerID: 83641

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:27

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:27
Gday Mark,

I agree. With the turbo operating at higher temps, I'm sure that's the answer...be interesting to see what nissans story will be! I might just get one of those window plastic weather skirts so I can keep the window down.

Chris.
FollowupID: 342554

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:19

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:19
Hi Mark, my 4.2td does exactly the same and I rekon it's the heat transfer from the engine to the cabin air intake.
When travelling on hot days I lift the bonnet when I stop letting the heat out of the engine bay and this helps volumes. Like most of us my engine bay is crouded out with extra batts and all those other little goodies we like.
As I do not have an intercooler maybe I should put the intercooler bonnet on to get more air past the donk.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 342635

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:41

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:41
Chris M,

Yeah wack one of those window weather protector thingys on, I really Lik'em..........um...err......I'm sure that it will help.........<:-)

Browny
FollowupID: 342693

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:03

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:03
Dodger,

Thanks mate, looks like I'll just get used to it! I'm sure I'll get over it considering how much I enjoy driving it.

Browny,

I see where your coming from mate! Classic...

Chris.
FollowupID: 342701

Reply By: Rowler - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:30

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:30
Hot in mu gu too!

I have one of those window things & it is still too hot even with the window open sometimes.
Usually on longer harder drives.

Cheers Rowler (dave)
AnswerID: 83754

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:04

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:04
Gday Rowler,

Guess I'll just sacrifice the economy if it gets too hot and flick the air con on to cool things down...

Thanks mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 342702

Reply By: Member - Woodsy - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:24

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:24
Hi Chris,

I have discussed this hot air problem with FTG Nissan and there is no fix.

Basically it is another Nissan design fault. Bit like Microsoft. Built in errors.

GQ heating/AC was great so Nissan decided to downgrade the quality for the GU like they have with the cruise control and the AC system.

Hate to see what downgrades will come out with the GU replacement.
Happy 4 wheeling

Woodsy

AnswerID: 83817

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:53

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:53
Cheers mate. I'll let everyone know that Nissan tell me the same thing on Friday!

Chris.
FollowupID: 342707

Reply By: Austravel - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 13:39

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 13:39
Hi Chris,

Have you got one of those TJM bash plates fitted yet?
AnswerID: 84114

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 13:44

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 13:44
Nope...mentioned in one of my posts the other day that TJM have put off production as there trying to get the new OEM bar done for the series IIII Nissan Patrol.

I'm first on the list at Brendale to have it done. Just waiting...and waiting.

How's your beast going mate?
FollowupID: 342978

Reply By: Austravel - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 14:47

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 14:47
I tried at the local TJM and they hadn't heard of it, looks like this is the reason. The vehicles going great, still getting used to the limited cab space in a ute though.
AnswerID: 84119