Noise Police - AT/MT Tyres

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 10:43
ThreadID: 17661 Views:2734 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
Has anyone compared bitumen noise levels of MTR and Cooper ST? Have heard both are ok in mud, but a little quieter than other muddies.

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:17

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:17
If you don't like tyre noise, don't get mudders, they are all eventually noisy.
AnswerID: 83648

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:10

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:10
Both tyres you suggest aren't muddies. I can't speak for the mtr but the cooper st are not overly noisey. I have bfg muddies on at the moment and they are a tad noisier.

Leroy
AnswerID: 83654

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:51

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:51
MTR's arent Muddies?

I agree, they are racing slicks....

Gawd....
FollowupID: 342567

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:46

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:46
I would place MTR bewtween a cooper ST and a mud tyre like a BFG or Cooper STT. The MTR is not a racing slick either. You can check them out on the Goodyear web site.

Leroy
FollowupID: 342582

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:06

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:06
I dont need to check them on goodyear site, I have 5 of them in the shed right now. Have photos on my site comparing them to the BFG Sideby side the day I got them to replace the BFG MTs.

They are way past a ST, Id compare a Coopers ST with a BFG AT which is the most aggressive AT on the market, and IMHO the MTR is ahead of the BFG MT in terms of using them offroad.

YMMV
FollowupID: 342634

Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:28

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:28
I have cooper ST's on a diesel disco and you can hear the tyre hum. I think like any open tread tyre, the older they get the more noise they will make.

John D
AnswerID: 83658

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:55

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 12:55
Try the archives...

Comparing Old style BFG MT's and MTR's I can do...

Both are about the same on and offroad with the MTR being slightly better on harder tracks. The Old BFG had a great reputation, and was a great tire.

33x12.5 MTRs I have now and would buy again tomorrow. They are my daily driver tire.. I run Simex's offroad. If you want noise, come listen to a JT2.

STs are more of an AT pattern than anything mud tire.

You would be better comparing the STT to the MTR as they are both Mud Terrains, where the ST is not a Mud tire...
AnswerID: 83664

Follow Up By: Clarrie - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:36

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:36
where the ST is not a Mud tire... Correct BUT it is the closest thing to a mud tyre that doesn't drum heaps. Mine only drum on smooth tarseal at a steady 40-50kmph. Much more agressive tread than any AT I could find and they clear pretty well (so far). drive well in the wet and on the windy stuff as well.
FollowupID: 342577

Reply By: Happy GU Owner - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:54

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:54
Bjorn,

I have had both on my current car, with the later being MTR's, so I feel that I am quite qualified to answer this question for you.

Firstly, you need to evaluate what sort of use you intend for your tyres. If you do a lot of bitchumen work, some sand work, some mud work, but no driving on rocks or heavily rocked/rocky tracks, then the Cooper ST's are for you. They are definately quieter than the MTR, but I guess that you can work that out for yourself just looking at the tread patterns.

I tried the Cooper ST's for my use, but found out from the Cooper REP, that the ST's aren't designed for OFF-ROAD use, and I ABUSED my tyres by using them for off-road use, and as such were not covered under warranty by them, when they fell to bits at 12,000 Klms. I was told that I bought the wrong type of tyre for that sort of use !!!!! Even though I eventually got part pro-rata warranty, and I thought they were great for the first 11,500 Klms, I would not use them again, until someone can prove to me that they won't fall to bits again.

Now,we come to the MTR's. They are noisier, but not that noisy, that you can't hear yourself think in the car. The difference between the ST's and the MTR's is probably one or two notches louder on your in-car entertainment system, to overcome the increased noise. I have found that in 20,000 Klms, in all terrain, the MTR's to be a great all round tyre. They are suprisingly good on the bitchumen, wear well, and have lots of grip off-road, and can handle rocks as well !!!!

Mic
AnswerID: 83681

Follow Up By: Happy GU Owner - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:45

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:45
Forgot to add that the MTR's don't like higher speeds as much as the ST's. The MTR's tend to set up a bit of vibration in the car over 130 Kph.

That was the one thing that initially attracted me the the ST's, they balance up beautifully. The largest weight I had on any of my rims was 80g with two being just 40g - Now if they could just get the tread to hang on to the carcass just a little longer !! , I may be persuaded to go back to them
FollowupID: 342602

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:48

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:48
Mic,

I bought my ST's because they are advertised as 40% dirt/mud use. How is the term 'off road' defined then? One of the blokes in our club got 4 replacement tyres as they chipped and tore blocks off and he used them off road. So did the rep say they were a bitumen tyre only?

Leroy
FollowupID: 342603

Follow Up By: Happy GU Owner - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:38

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:38
Leroy,

The damage done to my tyres was from one trip through Burgoynes Gap in Victoria, around six hours of driving through extremely Rocky terrain. My tyres were deflated to 24-25 PSI, I take things pretty easy, so I wasn't bouncing off the rev limiter or anything like that. Two tyre dealers that I took my car to, said that they had never seen anything like that before, and that the tyre carcasses that were left definately should be warranty items, but then the Cooper rep got involved. As it turns out, I finally got warranty through Coopers but it was a fight all the way. Maybe the problems I had were compounded, due to the fact that my brother in law was on the same trip, and also suffered the same tyre degredation as myself, and also wanted warranty at the same time.

Maybe, the rep thought we were both having a lend of him, but between us, we have over 25 years of off-road driving experience, and have never suffered anything like that before or since. I initially thought that we might have had a bad batch but my tyres were 265 and my b-i-l's were 285, so that makes it unlikely that they were the same batch being different sizes.

The Cooper rep told us that we ABUSED our tyres, and had the wrong tyres for the application, and that we should have been sold STT's, as the ST's weren't made for the driving we were doing. I could have pointed out the advertising material in front of me that states 40% off-road, but after the arguments, lack of interest, unreturned phone calls, and general fobbing off, I just wanted to see the back of him.

Maybe he was being swamped by these issues, as i don't think we were the only ones having these problems at the time, and it was his way of protecting the company interests and his job. I sincerely hope that none of you suffer from the same problems, and that you have a good run with the ST's, it's just that I didn't.

I must admit to being quite happy with the tyres before this, but it has left a sour taste in my mouth, and would need a lot of convincing, even to try them again.
FollowupID: 342615

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:54

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:54
G'day Happy GU Owner,
We just got back from a 4 week trip (8,500 klicks) to Cape York. My S/Ts came back looking VERY 2nd hand. I had rotated them just before we left and the one which stayed as a spare the whole trip looked great compared with the others, especially the 2 that were on the back the whole way.
The tyres have now done about 26,000k's. I took them back to where i bought them. The bloke (a mate of mine...small town, you know) who sold em to me measured the tread depth and sure enough they still had about 11mm of tread depth.....but there are lots of chips and chunks missing; not only off the edges of the blocks, but out of the middle of a lot of blocks too.
Most of the trip was on gravel roads (from Lyndhurst in SA right up the top and back as far as Marree, with some stretches of bitumen in between). I ran my tyres at 40psi when on bitumen, 30psi on decent gravel and 22psi on the infamous CY corrogations and OTT.
I will now rotate the spare with the 2 back tyres only and just swap the 2 front ones between themselves until they're ready to be replaced or even up.
MT/Rs are likely to be my next choice, but longevity is the concern with them.
Cya
FollowupID: 342671

Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:51

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:51
Mic, you got a bum dealer because all that is rubbish.

Bjorn, the Cooper ST is an off-road tyre with an 8 or 10 ply (your choice) LT contruction. The tread pattern and "aggresiveness" lies somewhere between the "normal" AT and an MT. They are not quite as aggresive as an MTR.

The Cooper ST is described by Cooper as a "mud tyre" and it does perform very well in mud. However, the side blocks and siping (that makes them a better road tyre than most ATs) also makes them vulnerable to chipping from rocks. Having said that, I have had no damage whatsoever to mine despite off-roading mainly on rocky firetrails and outback roads. The main reason for this, I believe, is that I run slightly lower pressures off-road than most other ST owners seem to.

The STs are slightly noisier than I expected them to be - more like an MT than most ATs I've owned and yes, they do get noisier with age.

AnswerID: 83694

Reply By: Mr Z - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:30

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:30
i have mtr's, a mate has st's both on gu coil cabs
mtr's are a fair bit noisier on road than the st's but not unbearable, i guess it depends on what you want?
better on road?
or better off road?
AnswerID: 83719

Reply By: Joe - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 14:18

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 14:18
I have done 15,000 km on new STT and swapped them for MTR's this week. The STT are extremely noisy on bitumin. The MTR's are so quiet in comparision. The STT were fine in the mud,ordinary handling on bituim.
The MTR"S are better on the bitumin handling wise, next weekend I'm off to Otways ...will give me some fedback if I have made a good decision in relation to slippery mud.

I sold the STT simply to maintain a fresh tyre,selling them well before loss of performance.
Joe
AnswerID: 84221