Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:09
Member - Crazie (VIC)
Good Arvo All
I have a 2001 Jackaroo petrol, no apoligies needed, but thanks, I was looking to putting an air locker in and want to know if I am better to put it into the front or into the rear. The rear currently has LSD an is working fine, so I was leaning to putting it on the front. We do 50% of our 4wding in the sand and 50% in the mud and bush.
Also ARB had issues about using anything but their own compressor. I have two bushmaster pumps and was going to build a air
tank with a 80 -100psi pressure switch. They said they would be concerned about giving warranty on anything but their own pump. At $430 is it worth the risk??
Adam
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:13
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:13
ARB wouldn't give you a warranty, mate of
mine just went down the same track and ended up fitting arb compressor. Makes no difference but if push came to shove, I know that the expense of repairing busted airlocker/diff and/or associated parts, I'd prefer to have peace of mind.
I have run both, front will give you 100% on your 4wd's capability and 100% more into trouble if you don't have the experience...there is a story from my first install 10 or so year back and a subsequent 4 hour recovery. Feel that front will give better performance than rear.
If you can't decide, tell swmbo that you can't run one without the other ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:18
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:18
Cheerrs Chris
my girlfriend is always right there beside me, so she is always happy to spend the $$, but was just going to do one for a while, I think it is a ton of $$ to spend if I do both straight away.
thanks
Adam
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:13
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:13
Good on ya mate...let us know what you decide!
Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:27
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:27
The Isuzu LSD is excellent and helped me out in many a situation. I would keep it and put the locker in the front. I can't understand why they cant offer a warranty on everything appart from the compressor.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:37
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:37
I agree completely with the rear LSD. I have a Rodeo with standard LSD in the rear and an open front diff. The LSD has push me up some steep loose rocky hills that I thought I wouldn't stand a chance with. Vey good in sand and mud too.
I would go for the front as even without the rear LSD an IFS vehicle spends a lot of time with a front wheel in the air so I would imagine a front locker would help enormously.
I think I drive my Rodeo to it's limits at the moment and I reckon I run out of clearance before I lose traction 9 times out of 10.
Reply By: Hobes - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:35
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:35
Often warranty's arent' worth the paper their printed on IMO.
One thing I do know, is that if you are running bigger tyres than stock standard, then you are giving ARB an warranty escape clause. You have been warned!
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:39
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:39
My brothers ARB air locker warranty says warranty is void if you fit bigger tyres. I would think they might give some leeway if they are only a little larger however they don't have too.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:53
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:53
What about if it already has large tyres on when they fit the lockers. Currently running 265/75's?? comes standard with 245/70's
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:59
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:59
I would hope they would warn you of the tyre issue when you enquire about the locker. However My brother has 33x12.5x15 tyres and they never mentioned it to him. He read about it on the info sheet when he got home.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:02
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:02
Fantastic!!
Thanks mate, I will add that to the questions to ask.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:37
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:37
Adam,
So far I would have to disagree with the posts so far. The LSD is limited and will not give you 100% drive to the rear
wheels all the time. When engaged the locker will give you 100% drive to both back
wheels even if one wheel is off the ground with out the need to load up the diff, in other words you can go a lot slower. As you would know if the front locker is engaged the steering is very hard to impossibe,so trying to round a bend with the front locker under load will result in some form of damage. When climbing a rutted
hill all the weight is on the back
wheels and the front becomes very light with very little grip coming from thr front
wheels. With the locker in the back where most the drive is you will get the most out of the locker.
When it comes to going down a steep and rutted
hill the rear locker can be used to hold the vehicle back when one wheel leaves the ground and the vehicle tends to skip away.
Nissan, when they supplied factory lockers only had the rear
Toyota, only supply a rear locker to the 100 series and when they supplied both lockers the rear locker had to be engaged before the front
ARB have the lockers wired up so that if both lockers are fitted the rear one has to be engaged first.
Fitting a front locker only can be done but the amount of time that it would get used in the front only would not warrent the expense.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:07
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:07
I don't think anyone is denying that twin lockers is the way to go. However I was just pointing out that if he only can afford one at the moment then the front is the better option on an Isuzu. The LSD will work brilliantly until a rear wheel lifts off the ground.
The vehicles ability will be vastly improved with a front locker while not too much with the rear unless you commonly drive on 2
wheels. When my Rodeo at least gets into that situation, I am crying out for more clearance before twin lockers.
My advice is get a front locker and if you need to at a later date go the rear. However as Savvas pointed out the rear locker costs a lot more than the front.
Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:40
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:40
Adam,
Your choice is limited anyway. To put in a rear air locker on a 2001 will require replacement of the rear diff 3rd member to the 98-99 type, I'm guessing that will cost you an extra $500 at least.
So if the rear LSD is doing
well, then just get the front one done.
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:00
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:00
Thanks Everyone
Great food for the thinking..
Price tp fits was $1512 plus the compressor ($430). I will ask about the diff change, thanks Savvas.
Cheers All
Adam
Follow Up By: Savvas - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:10
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:10
No worries mate. Let us know how you go.
The comment about the 3rd member comes from ARB's own publication. Click here to view it (on page 6).
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:40
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:40
Spot on Mate
This is why I come to this site, usually people on this, know more about the products than the people selling the gear. Rear lockers are not available for 09/99 onwards. Unless I get the diff as you suggested from 98 - 99 and use the RD85 model. Looks like it might be the front getting the lockers... The publication i got off ARB just before does not even give the rear lockers as an option as listed in your link.
Thanks heaps
Adam
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:55
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:55
Same problem with 97-98 Rodeo front diff.
Follow Up By: Savvas - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:13
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:13
And 97-98 Jack front diff
Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:43
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:43
Crazie, I see you run 265/75s on your jack. Do you have a lift and are there any problems with rubbing when bouncing around on full lock? I wanted small clearance increase by going to 245/75 instead of 245/70 but Bridgestone dont make a 694 in that size and that's the tyre I wanted.
Also, petrol or diesel and any difference to power/torque/economy with the bigger tyres?
D-Jack
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:53
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:53
Hi D-Jack
No mate, no probs, no lift (poly bags in the rear coils), the 265/75 fit fantastically and give me about an extra 2in in clearance. No scrubbing, rubbing or touching at full lock. We have the widetrack, so the tyres really suit the 4wd, but are still well within the guards.
Haven't noticed any petrol differnce, monitoring it now, roughly 14l/100 around town. (restrictors out). Maybe the very slightest slower off the mark, but once it is rolling, not difference in power or torque, seems to go better if anything. Looks chunky now too hahaha. Friend just put the 694's on their 4wd, they are wrapped with them. I got the cooper ST's.
Adam
Reply By: Rhubarb - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:15
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:15
Have to say if your happy with how your LSD is working then put your locker in the front, and then if you want latter down the track you can put one in the back.
Reply By: Patroleum - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:16
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:16
Crazie,
A friend of mine (Markaroo) on this site has a 99 3.5V6 auto Jacks, he has arb locker in front and it is great. The traction his has is excellent indeed.
Go front - Greg
Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:34
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:34
Just a couple of thoughts.
I have front and rear lockers. ARB wont put front lockers only in an IFS LC100 due to the weakness in the front diff.
So I have never been able to test performance with front lockers only.
If I could only afford 1 locker and had a good LSD in the rear I'd definately go for the front locker.
I have been surprised how manoeuvrable the truck is with both lockers engaged. So don't be put off by comments suggesting steering is seriously hampered. True if you are going at speed and want to turn quickly to avoid something then you'll probably hit it. At a more controlled pace you will be able to steer just as tight a circle as you would with no lockers. However the harder the surface the greater effect on steering.
I have never been in a situation where lockers are needed and I have been going at such a speed that there was any risk. If you know your truck and its limitations then you'll be fine. - Oh and be prepared for unavoidable temptation to "try them out" which can be code for taking the truck in
places you'ld never go otherwise and getting stuck anyway *grin*
gaz
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:53
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:53
That surprises me as I've hardly got any steering at all with the front locker engaged.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 14:07
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 14:07
Thanks Gaz
I won't imagine that I will ever use the lockers at high speed. I think i will go with the front as the rear are too much hassle and the LSD is good. Thanks for the
feedback
Ads
Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 14:15
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 14:15
Mad Dog.
I don't know why that might be the case. Perhaps the LC100's weight is enough to get the front tyres to bite more. *shrug*
I found in the sand whilst crossing the Simpson (I was using the lockers to stop one of the front wheels spinning up when you hit some of the holes created by others bouncing up the dunes) that if I was going a bit faster I'd get a wider turn than without them - But for the most part I've been surprised at how well they perform.
Gaz
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 19:52
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 19:52
Mate i know your pain, i was having a good chat with the guys at arb northern the other day while picking up my bullbar, and i sussed out the option of a front locker for mine - not available for my 98 model :-((( I'm not going to muck about changing diff setups etc. and might fit a rear locker if my lsd goes shiza one day. But judging by how it went in the sandy tracks at the 'holes' south of Sale yesterday the lsd works fine ' sideways sally ' out of every corner. Fitting 265/75 MTR's tomorrow , that should fix any traction probs for a while :-))) .
BTW - from sunbury to sale at 120 early morning, returned 12.1 L/100. i'll see what diference fitting the bigger rubber makes, and i have to fit a cruize control as well as my leg gets sore from holding it up on the pedal all the time !! sweet...
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 08:28
Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 08:28
Hey Brad
cheers mate, not sure what tryes your running now, but you will love the height on the 75's. Gave me about 2in more clearance. Thats pretty
spot on milage. Be interesting to do a simlar trip once the bigger
tyres on.
have a good one.
Ad
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 15:53
Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 15:53
Mate i'm running bridgestone 693's 245/70/16 now and the mtr's were supposed to go on this arvo but they didn't come in so i have to wait till monday :-((( (managed to get em to trade them in) BUT this morning had the full EFS
suspension kit fitted :-)))(shocks coils and torsion bars) which has given me a nice inch and a half all round, the MTR's will give another inch and a quarter on the radius, so i'll have at least 2 1/2 inches extra under the trans case :-))))) Yeah now i'm broke......
Should be doing the same trip next week with the new rubber so i'll see how she goes. BTW how far out is your speedo now ?? I'll have to find someone with one of those flash
GPS units that give you the speed reading as you drive - anyone, anyone ? grovel grovel.....
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 16:17
Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 16:17
Hi Mate
Bugger... Hate getting delayed when I am buying something. Speedo is about 6% out, you can get a kit for $275 fitted to get the speedo corrected. I have a Garmin gps handheld you are welcome to borrow. I am over at morrabbin, not sure how close you are. I will send you my mob on member msg.
Congrats on the lift kit, one day i will....
Reply By: PAULL - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 15:40
Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 15:40
I have an ARB rear diff locker, Jackaroo petrol 99. I reckon the rear LSD from Holden is pretty damn ordinary, you are deluded if you think its going to hold much.
I decided from my own experience that the rear LSD was poor, went for the ARB rear air locker. I would argue that in uphill situations the front is relatively unweighted. and /or maybe off the ground due to limitation of front wheel travel of the Jackaroo IFS. I decided to preserve steerability so left the front as is. Its a good combo now.
Follow Up By: damien - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 09:33
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 09:33
Interesting comments Paull - i reckon you are the first Jack owner i've come across who reckons the LSD is nothing short of excellent.
I know the LSD on my Jack is terrific & i would certainly be going for a front locker first